What I learned from a digital detox

in #ecotrain6 years ago

“No one ever said on their deathbed, Gee, I wish I had spent more time alone with my computer.” ~ Danielle Berry

Last week, I decided to have a technology detox (aka techno detox or digital detox) for 24hrs, which meant no computers, no internet, no smartphones and no gadgets during this time. I have noticed that many hours of my day is spent on my computer, either surfing the internet, writing or attempting to write and getting hooked on social media sites. I have noticed that it has become such an established habit that it burns up a lot of my spare time. I’ve also noticed that my body feels tight, stiff and my eyes strained at the end of most days.

unplug.jpg

I knew it was time to confront this habit and look at ways to break it down. So, a 24hr detox was a good place to start. Last Thursday was the day for me. It was a "day off" for me, so there was no need to use a computer so I knew it was possible. During and after the 24-hour period I reflected and noticed a number of benefits received from the experience.

This is not my first techno detox I might add, for I have done it a few times in the past usually when I’ve participated in yoga or meditation retreats. These are different though because they pull you out of your day-to-day life, which in many ways makes it easier. To do a techno detox in the middle of your usual day-to-day life is more challenging yet so beneficial. When I reflect upon these times and the day I had last week, every time I have done a technology detox I have never had any negative effects from it or felt like I’ve missed out on anything.

Here are the main benefits that I noticed:

1. I didn’t miss anything.


Nothing was urgent and couldn’t be acted upon a day or two later. Therefore, there was actually no real need to use the computer for that day at all.

2. I felt like I had a lot more time.


I had so much free time that day that I did more things that I enjoy, like yoga, stretching, reading books and cooking yummy food.

3. It felt like a holiday.


Often when we have a weekend or a holiday we are still glued to our computers and gadgets and it got me wondering, are we really having a break? When I didn’t use the computer for the whole day, I felt more calm and relaxed than I do after a weekend using the computer.

4. I felt more present and focused on what I was doing.


When you take away the option of checking your phone or email after every task, then it feels like you are much more engaged on what you are doing as there is no anticipation or reward after completing a task.

5. More time for contemplation.


It gave me an opportunity to contemplate the projects I’m currently working on and provided more clarity on what to focus on next.

6. I made better food choices.


Food became a more important part of my day and because I had a few more minutes than usual, I took more time to choose and prepare my food.

7. My energy levels were steadier throughout the day.


I didn’t seem to have waves of “brain fog” that I sometimes experience when I regularly use my computer throughout the day.

8. My eyes and neck felt more relaxed and less strained than usual.


Using computers and gadgets usually triggers my head to be drawn forward on the shoulders and at the end of the day it can leave my eyes and neck strained. This was not the case after the day of detox.

I got so much out of the 24hr techno detox that I’m going to do it at least one day every month from now on. I would like to invite you to try it for yourself.

--------------

If you have any questions or comments, please post them below! :)

If you enjoyed this post, I would greatly appreciate your UPVOTE, and would love for you to follow me here on Steemit @yinyangmichael

If you want to learn more, visit my website -> http://www.michaelhetherington.com.au

I appreciate all your support.

bio3.jpg
Michael Hetherington
BHlthSci, Chinese medicine & yoga
Author & Teacher


purple seperators (19).jpg

I am also a proud member of @tribesteemup, a community of people working together to help make the world a more peaceful, positive, free place. Among us are visionaries, healers, free-thinkers, teachers, and high-vibe people who are creating great content to help make the world more positive and better for us all. Please stop by the page to check out the group and support the work being created.

purple seperators (19).jpg
@ecotrain #ecotrain
etrain.png
Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

Sort:  

thanks for setting a great example for us to be inspired by! isnt it intersting how many different things can be improved by a bit more balance in life!

OH YES! And when you come back from the downtime, there are fewer messages, likes and notifications. :) I am trying to largely-only generate my own content and engage with others who do. Treating social media more like "work" really helps me too - keeping it OFF my phone and in structured time on my laptop.

Uhhhh A lot of people on this board should need to take a decent look in the mirror and als decide to do this as well (yes uber guilty on these habits!!), I do believe your body reacts to it in a nog so flashy way!

(greeting from a fellow SMGer)

🤖 Congratulations! You've been featured in the latest @SMG co-curators digest. Thank you for being one of our cherished members. See how much our mastermind appreciates you and your work here:

https://steemit.com/nature/@smg/smg-digest-or-super-moms-sacred-space-digital-detox-and-a-bowl-of-cherries

I agree... i just had a forced detox as hubby took me to a valley with NO RECEPTION OR WIFI ... it was utter bliss!!!!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

such a great topic that doesn't get as much exposure as it should. I believe I'll take your lead and make my next "day off" a full unplug detox day. thanks so much for this, and I'll be following your journey!

Blessings Michael! 🙏

Great post brother, what a simple and yet over looked practice. I've been water fasting one weekend a month and in doing so enjoy some digital detox. It's whole-some little inner-cation, though sometimes a nice movie with my son or a documentary is nice.

Lower exertion and engagement is key for me and I concur with all you've shared, it feels so refreshing once you come back into the matrix! 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44