You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Oh Yes I Can Be Very Opinionated When It Comes To Taking Things From The Earth

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Not easy to answer, really, but I totally empathize with your perspective.

Personally, we follow the guidance of a number of tribal belief systems that center around "ask first and give your thanks and gratitude."

Whereas we do love rocks and crystals, we tend to borrow them, rather than just think we can own them. We pretty much own nothing. If I pick up a shiny rock on the beach, I am just borrowing it, and I will often return it to the beach when it has served its purpose.

I'm generally not in favor of mining on a large scale to extract things for profit, especially if there's an alternative. I'm in favor of teaching everyone around me to understand the meaning of the world "enough." YOU understand that. Your home in your truck is an expression of "enough." You don't NEED a six bedroom house "just because."

As for crystals, my question would be "What is your INTENT?" I begrudge noone the desire to keep a piece of Rose Quartz (for example) nearby to remind themselves to stay in a heart-centered place; as a healing tool. But it annoys to see someone form a huge "collection" of crystals simply because they want to show off.

Speaking of "opinionated," I find some solace in the understanding that we cannot look at the planet purely in the context of a human lifespan. Gaia's cycles are very LONG. I smile to myself in knowing that she will reclaim those crystals (which have already been around for 500 million years) all by herself in a few hundred/thousand years when humans have forgotten all about the temporary fad of "collecting crystals."

Bright Blessings!

Sort:  

Yes always ask first, it is amazing what comes your way. I do this when I wish to find bits of wood, I ask and usually it can be found at my feet, I do not like to cut branches. If only others could take this on board and show gratitude for what they receive, I also really like the idea of borrowing that especially rings true with when we ask for something, I do not like to see myself as owning anything only my own body , my vessel.

It is so true that there is a trend now for crystals, I just look forward to this move away from taking from the earth and the move towards giving back. Thank you for your feedback and reply. Blessings to you to xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62339.62
ETH 2444.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62