What was one of the happiest times in your life and what made it special? Ecotrain QOTW

in #ecotrain6 years ago

IMG_3129.jpg

"What was one of the happiest times in your life and what made it special?"

I really enjoyed floating through happy memories as I contemplated the ecotrain question of the week.

As I sat and pondered how I would answer this question I started thinking about those times when I've reached that moment of fulfilling a desire, affixing a piece in the puzzle of my life and moving closer to my life's purpose.

My life right now is the happiest I have ever been but so many moments have woven together to make it so. Honestly the very first thing that came to mind was Mischa, my beloved friend, companion and canine.

Ours is a story about pure love, and two souls meeting to help one another where they need it most.

Unfulfilled Desires

I campaigned relentlessly for years hopeful that my parents would weaken their resolve or finally see sense about getting a family dog. They'd both had and loved dogs as children so why were they denying me? I walked other peoples dogs frequently and did all I could to demonstrate how responsible I would be. Still the answer was a firm and unwavering no.

I knew that having a dog was really special. I had experienced and witnessed the love and joy they bring to my friends and relatives and yet I was deprived and denied this experience for no good reason (or so I thought).

IMG_7231_03.jpg

One of the happiest times in my life was fulfilling my childhood dream of having a dog.

Years later and all grown up I still scanned the SPCA website wistfully looking at dogs needing homes. I would hint at it but life was so busy and it was never really a good time for such a big commitment. One day I asked my husband if we could go and see a litter of puppies that desperately needed homes and he said "yes"! This is the exact reply he sent me in an email:

As your first dog, you'll want a puppy. Bring one home. All you need is food, a bowl and a couple of toys. Get a small bag of food to make sure she likes it. Make it happen, fulfill a childhood dream.

So, on a cold winters day I met Mischa Moon Howler and my heart immediately burst with love and happiness.

This moment was special not only because I was fulfilling a childhood dream but because I was about to receive far more than I had ever imagined. I was about to be given the gift of helping another soul to heal, grow and blossom.

Meet Mischa 'Moon Howler'

IMG_1715.jpg

Mischa had been born in a little Northern community called What'i, into terrible conditions.

Her mother had birthed them alone, outside in the snow and ice. Someone had rescued the litter from imminent death and flown them to Yellowknife. Not all of the puppies survived. The first weeks of her life were simply terrifying and tumultuous.

386647_10150437888927152_30148754_n.jpg

We had a large void to fill to help her feel safe and loved.

She was terrified of everything. She would not walk on the snow. Small bangs and noises made her cower. We could not leave her for even a moment or she would start shaking and crying. She ate as though she'd known what it was like to be hungry. My heart swells just remembering how fragile she was.

389889_10150437894342152_283976613_n.jpg

If anyone loves this homestead more that I do, It's Mischa 'Queen of the forest'.

Today you'll find her confidently leaping and bounding through snow and leaping into lakes. She knows every detail of the forest spending hours every day exploring the wild. She hunts, her instincts are tuned in and she is alive. She is also gentle, kissing away our wounds and tears and snuggling up just for love. She watched over her family with pride, as I pack my suitcase tonight she is at my heels, unhappy because she knows something is up. I comfort her and tell her I'll be home soon and I know she'll be here waiting and happy to see me.

She knows I love her. We all do.

Having a canine companion is everything I've ever dreamed of and more (I managed to sneak a second dog into the deal a few years later too).

June 1st BBQ (7 of 1).jpg

p.s. My dad the "no dogs" guy ... has fallen in love with Molly and Mischa.

He brings them treats and toys and plays with them for hours! I am happy for him. To see him acting silly is quite a treat for us all because he is such a serious man.

dogs1.jpg


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

My_Post_1.jpg

Sort:  

Oh what a great answer I absolutely love dogs and yes you are right comma they make for happy times. We don't have a dog at the moment because we have had to let to go because of moving countries or traveling. Although we are more stable now we are out a lot, and I don't think that is fair in a dog. Jamie would like to get to dogs to solve that problem but I still feel quite upset about having to give the last two away. They did go to very good times and it was many years ago now but I still miss them. Dogs make us happy. I'm going to have to settle for some chickens instead.

oh my god look at his little face ;-))) anyone who is in love with dogs loves ALL dogs.. what amaaaaaazing animals.. there we have loyalty in buckets!!! I miss my boy who i had to put down a few months ago now.. he was my first dog.. SUCH a huge responsibility.. but worth ALL the sacrifices i made!!!!

OOOOH i am in love with your dog now!!! wow, what a powerful story. the reply of your husband @xwalkran broke my heart (in a good way) and made me remember again (and be thankful for) good partners who fulfill a need in us that we had since childhood... that help heal us in ways. his reply was beyond perfect and i'm so thankful that you had your dog-need fulfilled... so much of our homesteading lives is healing and fulfilling our dreams. beautiful post and i hope you're loving your travels! XO

2017-08-26 15.40.29.jpg


Wuff!

What a beautiful story about such a beautiful loving dog. You can see it in her eyes. In the puppy photos you can see the sadness and guardedness. I am glad you realized your childhood dream! And Mischa got a dream of a home.

This post has received a 58.68% upvote from thanks to: @eco-alex!!!
For more information, click here!!!!

If you use our Robot before your post has 1 day and get an Upvote greater than 1%, you will automatically receive Upvotes between 1% and 10% as a bonus from our other robots.

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Congratulations @walkerland! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29