Understanding the Nature of Change

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

I have been in Ireland now for just over a week. I initially stayed with my parents for a few days in the midlands. This is the same house that I grew up in. It is a house that holds many memories, memories that have been heavy to carry around, ones that I needed to let go of.

The original plan was that I would come to Ireland to my parents where my 2 sisters would meet me and we would sit down as a family and talk about the many painful things that we have been holding onto for far too long. It was to be a time of truth, of releasing, of healing and acceptance.


But as it is with life sometimes, that was not how it was to go. My return has seen me coming to be with my sister. My sister who has been so strong and clear on her path of healing, who has been inspiring all who have come in contact with her. The path that she chose has become blocked and now she must find another way to help her in her healing. It is not the way she wanted to go, but at this point she has no other choice. She has had to surrender and accept that sometimes we have no control over what happens, that what beliefs we have will be challenged and challenged again and that we must accept that change. Be open to the need of Constant change.

Change is something that I have written a lot about, how we must keep moving forward in our lives, keep ourselves open to new ideas, new feelings. To remain adaptable, some people forget that we are indeed very adaptable. They feel stuck in their lives, feel like they are just constantly doing the same thing over and over, yet are afraid to break free and change!

But this change my sister faces is of a different type. It is a change of how you look at and interact with your life. It is a change that goes against what we strive to become. We all want freedom, freedom to live our lives the way we see fit. The freedom to listen to ourselves and trust ourselves. But what happens when you have achieved that freedom and then realize that that is not enough. That your right to choose your healing and your treatment is not working. That the very thing you wanted to avoid, is at present your only option.

How do you accept that change?



Image Source:https://upliftconnect.com/hold-space/

How do you support some one who has to accept that change?

Who questions the decisions that she has made up until now. Who feels guilty because she followed her instinct and refused to listen to others. Yet these are the qualities I admire so much in her, this is the strength that she held onto, that carried her forward and now that strength is being challenged.

I know I will always tell her that I will support her no matter what, but this challenge she faces is huge, it has shaken her to the core. Where do you go from this point on.

How do you accept a change that is so unstable, so uncertain. Where how you feel changes so often and so sudden. Where you are not even given enough time to get use to one change before another one happens.

I am writing this for some clarity, for some understanding. I can see in her face the struggle she has, the disappointment, I hear her when she says,

I do not know if I can keep fighting like this.

I cannot imagine how she must feel inside, what this fight must be like.

I find it difficult to know what to say at times, I want to be strong for her, but I also want her to be able to grief, to cry to go through all the motions that enable us to keep moving forward. But most importantly I want her to always have hope, at the end of each day to be able to take a deep breath and go 'tomorrow is a new day'!

I am part of the ecotrain, if you wish to read great content and be inspired please check it out. It is one train that is full of very diverse and creative passengers. And we all know that diversity is the spice of life.

Sort:  

My love, I think we can all feel your pain along this lines. I know it is hard but just be yourself - supporting, caring up to the limit you can afford. Sometimes what we can do is to distance ourself although it is very hard. There are paths we can't walk for ourthers and with others becsuse it is simply their way, not ours. What we can do though is sending love, radiating love to them, praying for their wellbeing and them finding their way. I think this is the greatest support one can give and sometimes it is more powerful than any world! I am sending you and your sister a lot of LOVE. Be blessed and take care of yourself and your family!
Screen Shot 2018-04-06 at 12.59.41 PM.png
Image Source

thank you @sashagenji for your love and support xx

Indeed, nothing is constant in this world but change. But change help us to grow into a stronger individual. Change is inevitable but growth is optional. It depends on how we take and react to the change. That is what will define us.

What a beautiful post. It’s one of the hardest things when the people we see as our “foundation” are shaken up themselves. Your sister is lucky to have someone as thoughtful as you as one of her cornerstones. :)

My heart is breaking reading this. I can't imagine what she must be going through but I have experienced this awful disease with a close family member and it is hard to know what to say and do for the best at times. The fact that you are there with her is amazing and I am sure uplifting her and giving her more strength to fight. I am sorry that the initially mentioned issues haven't been addressed as yet, but there will be a time and a place that is right to do this. Don't let it weigh heavy on you as the past is gone, the time to focus on right now is the present. Obviously the past needs to be addressed to allow healing going forward, but your sister needs your strength right now and if you start to focus on the past, you may be spreading your energy levels too thin and may crash. Thinking of you and your sister and sending you love and positivity xx

thank you @beautifulbullies, I know I have to be at peace with the past right now. we are just taking each day as it comes xxx

Oh love, I can feel your pain... Sending you and your sister and family a lot of love and prayers.

images (1).jpg

thank you Niina, I really appreciate that xx

You are very welcome my dear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31