TheTrue Cost Of Fashion!

in #ecotrain5 years ago


Image Source

The fashion industry produces 10% of all humanity's carbon emissions,
is the second-largest consumer of the world's water supply,
and pollutes the oceans with microplastics.

We all have our own style when it comes to the clothes we wear, some spend a lot of time and money creating a look that they feel comfortable in, whilst others wear what they can afford and what is available to me. There is a lot of pressure from social media on what is deemed as high fashion and lots of people love to follow those trends, even if it means that keeping in fashion becomes their main priority in life and other areas get neglected. Such is the power of advertising!

I am not going to deny that some clothes have the ability to make you feel good, that we all probably have something in our closets that help us look at our best and when we wear them we shine both inside and out. But this aspect is played on and most people want to look their best all the time. I mean what does it say about you if you are not turned out all the time.

In total, up to 85% of textiles go into landfills each year. That's enough to fill the Sydney harbor annually.

I remember being in Ireland, listening to the radio and hearing them talk about how some parents, just don't put in an effort when they drop off their kids at school and were just turning up in 'comfortable wear'. That made me laugh, cos I can only imagine what they would say about me if they were to see what I wear.

I like to wear comfortable clothes and I have not bought any new clothes in a long time. Instead getting them from clothes swaps, flea markets or for free at the wonderful community boat were I live. My priority in life certainly has nothing to do with fashion.

boat.JPG

Washing clothes, meanwhile, releases 500,000 tons of microfibers into the ocean each year — the equivalent of 50 billion plastic bottles.

I think most of us on here know about sweat shops, about the dismal amount of money that people make when they are slave labouring over high street brands and high fashion brands, They make pittance compared to the cost that those items are sold for and the working conditions are horrible, not to mention the fact that lots of children are working in those factories.

We all know that, yet the clothes keep on rolling out, high street brands continue to have huge turn overs in their fashion lines and people keep on buying them. I had a conversation with my younger sister recently and she told me that a lot of her friends would buy new underwear ever week instead of washing and re using them! I hope I am not the only one dumb founded by that?

A 2017 report from the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) estimated that 35% of all microplastics — very small pieces of plastic that never biodegrade — in the ocean came from the laundering of synthetic textiles like polyester.

Then a friend send me on this article, that I keep quoting from and well the statistics speak for themselves. So many of the clothes we wear contain lead and hazardous chemicals. Lead is used a lot in belts, purses and shoes and top that off with the many insecticides, formaldehyde and flame-retardants that are in clothes, we are literally slowly poisoning ourselves and the environment.


Image Source

Of course there are alternatives, but those alternatives are expensive, organic cotton, hemp, bamboo. But guess what they last a lot longer so in the end you definitely get your monies worth. I would love to see more people invest in sustainable clothing, I know I would like to.

It takes about 2,000 gallons of water to produce a pair of jeans. That's more than enough for one person to drink eight cups per day for 10 years.

I don't believe in pointing the finger at others, at placing blame, that really only creates more segregation between us all. Instead I like to inform others when I can, because nothing will change without first becoming aware.

All in all, the fashion industry is responsible for 20% of all industrial water pollution worldwide

All of these frightening statistics can be found here, in this article "The fashion industry emits more carbon than international flights and maritime shipping combined. Here are the biggest ways it impacts the planet." . Life is all about choices and we need to be aware of the effects that those choices make. Yeah it's nice to have new clothes, to treat yourself, but at what cost?.


8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp




DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

Great write up. Thank you for spreading awareness about this issue.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for reading and supporting me @holoz0r x

Fashipn schmashion. Ugh its just vulgar. Its frustrating that eco clothing is only affordable for those with more money. Ithink they call it 'fast fashion'. Makes sense. Slow fashion would require we bought ethical stuff to last, or recycled.

Posted using Partiko Android

Vulgar is the perfect word for it xxxx

This could be a post for the qotw on how centralization has failed us!! Theres some insane stats in this post... wow!

I know I think I could have included it, but I have so much to say on that question, this is just a part of it. Yeah those stats are insane indeed, Thanks Alex xxx

@tipu curate
@giphy curate 100


A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

#sbi-skip !trdo

Congratulations @amico, you successfuly trended the post shared by @trucklife-family!
@trucklife-family will receive 0.30289950 TRDO & @amico will get 0.20193300 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Upvoted 👌


Powered by witness untersatz!
Current VP: 69.32%

Very good information, @trucklife-family. I had no idea about that and it's alarming. Greetings my friend!

thank you @zeleiracordero, always good to have you drop by, I hope you are well xxx

Fast Fashion is such an environmental - and personal - disaster! The idea that people have such a fragile sense of self that they need to change it up every 10 mins in order to "feel better".

I am totally out of the loop on what might even be considered as fashion LOL.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

I could never keep up with the fast pace and I have no interest anyhow in following fashion, I understand completely xx

I would love to be able to afford all eco-friendly options because they are so much healthier for ME let alone the planet. They also feel a ton better. I can't stand synthetic fibers. Cotton absorbs! Polyester does not! I need breathable natural fiber clothes. Anyway, thanks for posting this! It sure is something to ponder and work towards change.

I know they are usually so expensive, I have a hemp hoodie that I bought 12 years again and it is still in such great condition, hopefully the price will come down xx

Good point that they last long. I just got a bunch of hand-me-downs from my Aunt so I don't need any clothes any time soon. She gave me so much and a lot of it looks hardly worn! She isn't eco minded and lives a posh life unfortunately but anyway I'll take her hand-me-downs any day. Haha. They would have otherwise gone either in the trash or to a donation place if she felt like waiting for them to come pick up. bleh. If and when I do need clothes again I'll get one piece at a time of organic natural fiber things. :) At least what she gave me is cotton and wool....a few with synthetic fibers but not many....and none are organic.

Loading...

Congratulations @trucklife-family, your post successfully recieved 0.3028995 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@amico earned : 0.201933 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I’ve found bamboo and hemp fibre to be excellent for clothes, especially shirts. I can’t wear synthetic fibres as tops. It’s not so much a problem for pants.

The dyes are a worry too.

There is a small designer in Byron Bay (Australia) called Kashi who make very good quality clothes with ethically-sourced materials and natural dyes, and they produce them in a small village in Asia (I think it may be Thailand), where all the profits return back to that specific village. I think the main designer also gets them to contribute to designs as well (but don’t quote me on that).

yeah bamboo and hemp are great, but so expensive at the moment, here's to them getting more popular and coming down in price xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80