Who Are Your Leaders Here?!

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Who are the best people to lead or guide our world ...Politicians, Parents, Academics, Philosophers, High Tech.. Or someone else?

So, this week for the @ecotrain question of the week, we are toning it down just a little! @ecoalex has promised no more Trump questions! This is good because it put me to the test on my theory that you are better off talking to your refrigerator than some people. I am learning, slowly perhaps, that my peace of mind is valuable and that my energy is better used on reasonable people!

That said, this isn't an easy question. I'm not exactly sure how I want to answer it. So, as I usually do, I will pick it apart piece by piece as I go. My first reaction was no one! I'm an anarchist, so I don't really believe in leaders, especially if they are given extra power.

I am reminded of the story of the Everett Massacre, which was a part of the IWW Free Speech Protests. They were protesting, and when the police came, they asked them, "who are the leaders here?" They responded in unison, "we are all leaders here!" As the name of the incident implies, it did not go well. I believe, though, this is how we will accomplish much, by coming together on equal footing.

I realize, though, that leaders will always emerge. In an anarchistic community, they will not have extra power, but some people just have that personality.

And yet …

Maybe we want to be a little more intentional about it. I think it is important to hear lots of different voices. Let's start with the list @ecoalex gave us.

  • I don't think politicians should even be a thing, so we can eliminate that one right off the bat.
  • The voices of parents are always wise to listen to. Parents are biologically driven to think about the future and ensuring a safe and healthy world. Then again, plenty of people without kids are also like that, and there also seem to be quite a few people who have children but don't care? It's bizarre to me. I am thinking of some politicians and big corporate CEOs here. I think they are just totally divorced from their souls.
  • Academics. Oh boy. Um. There's such a variety here. Intelligence and intellectual discourse are incredibly important. I don't want to minimize intelligence. Especially since we are already half way to Idiocracy. However, smarts aren't everything, and I know a lot of academics with exceedingly little common sense. I also know that academic elitism is an awful problem. I encountered it big time in university. In general, if it isn't accessible to all, it isn't revolutionary. I think that is important to remember.
  • Philosophers. Sweet Jesus, no. I love philosophers. I am one, really, but nothing would ever get done. The world needs us to push edges and keep everyone thinking and aware, so we should definitely be listened to, but too much of this would result in endless discourse and circular conversations and not much getting done.
  • High tech. Again, um, no. We are in desperate need of really focusing on people and basic human emotions right now. After all this time, we seem to know very little about peopling effectively. I think we better stick with the basics for now.
  • Someone else? I guess so. Like I said at the beginning, I think we desperately need to listen to a wide variety of voices and be led by a lot of different people, including people who don't consider themselves leaders. I'm really tempted to say children because children have such enormous hearts full of love and compassion. They are creative and not bound by dumb constraints of the dream of the adult world. They understand the importance of play and hugs. They most often aren't racist or sexist or any of the other ists or phobics. I guess in the end they are a big proportion because my final answer is …

The marginalized


We have to begin to put the most marginalized at the center. We need to lead from the middle. Trans black women, queer Muslims, disabled mothers, refugee children. We have to lead from there. I have actually been thinking about this a lot, and it's a centerpiece of a fiction book I'm writing. Only the marginalized know what they need. I promise you they've spent a lot of time thinking of creative solutions because their lives are depending on it. It's time for the privileged to sit our asses down, shut up, and listen to those being affected by layer upon layer of oppression. Because in the end I think that is what we really mean by leader. It is our leaders that we listen to. We lead from the smallest circle and go out from there.

Much love, y’all!

As always, all pics are mine or pixabay unless otherwise noted.

)](https://discord.gg/qfu4yRE)

Sort:  

Congratulations @solarsupermama! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

oooh Lovely.. its great to feel the harmony back with us this week.. i think us anarchists are much on the same page here!

Love that you mentioned the children! i think you are the first!!!
Xxxxxx

You know I love the babies!!! They are so much smarter than we give them credit for. Xoxoxo

Yeah, it's great to see we all seem to think alike. Anarchy!! But what a nice angle with children. I wish I would have come up with that lol. But it's true, children are still so pure and full of joy, love and empathy, they need to be listened to a bit more. Maybe an idea for an experiment in a small town or something...Everything the kids come up with has to be tried. How fun that would be! With some guidance of course, we wouldn't want a 'Lord of the flies' kinda scene...😜

They really are so pure, and I was always amazed when we had the Sudbury school how thoughtful they were. Of course we were there, but we tried to stay out of the way as much as possible. They took their responsibilities so seriously. The judicial committee was always fair but rather firm with rule violations. In fact they were often stricter than we would have been, even with friends, and with voting, they would listen to opposing ideas and arguments, and if they didn't understand or were uncertain, they simply didn't vote. Giving them power made them more responsible. It's fucking brilliant.

Absolutely! My youngest (4)yesterday (after I complained a little about how I am always picking up stuff after everyone), picked up a wrapper of some kind, dropped it in the trash, turns around, looks at me and says: "Yes guys, we ALL live in this house." It was a proud moment for this mommy :)

So awesome. I especially love it when they call me on my own shit. Stings for a minute, but that's when you know you're doing it right.

Yeah, especially my youngest knows when to call me out LOL. It seems like he knows me better than anyone. But then again, I see myself in him more than in the others...He's my little mini-me. :)

Oh, those mirrors. Sometimes awesome, sometimes infuriating. I swear they can read my mind. Just recently my younger boy has taken to saying what I'm thinking or answering questions I didn't ask out loud. Unsettling sometimes, but good to know we're connected, i guess?

Congratulations @solarsupermama! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great answer mama, you are right we need to listen more to the marginalized. but really we all need to take responsibility for our actions and like you I don't like leaders unless we are all leading xxx

Thank You! Yes, I agree! So many not taking responsibility for their actions. It's a crucial part of ending oppression. Lots of people don't even see how they play in. Like, I think most men are totally oblivious that a lot of life is made harder for women by the attitudes they don't even know they have!

its really interesting reading the way you analyzed how the different professions may not be suitable to lead the change we seek. I really liked this;

. Then again, plenty of people without kids are also like that, and there also seem to be quite a few people who have children but don't care? It's bizarre to me. I am thinking of some politicians and big corporate CEOs here. I think they are just totally divorced from their souls.

But what's most touching is the fact that you acknowledged that we need to put the most disadvantaged people at the forefront of leadership. Thanks for raising this up @solarsupermama and it means a lot to me.

You are so welcome, @mr-greens! So glad for all you do to lift people up. Trying to shift the focus to the marginalized and magnify those voices is the very least we can do. Those at the center of the storm know what needs to be done because they have no choice but to focus on how to stay alive and move forward. They have all the solutions we need.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58054.32
ETH 2357.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42