To What Extent Does the Media Contribute to Depression?

in #ecotrain6 years ago

This is the @ecoTrain question of the week. For those who may be new to me and my posts, depression is a topic near and dear to my heart. I have my own battle with it, as do several members of my family. What causes depression is surely something we’d all love to know. Yet it’s a topic tangled up in taboo, shame, unrealistic expectations, and mystery.

I would guess a majority of people still don’t understand the difference between sadness and depression. Even for those of us dealing with depression, it can be hard to tell. One can slip to the other quickly. Depression can also come straight out of the middle of nowhere. Life can be moving along swimmingly while the depressed person drifts in a fog of shadows and heavy weights. Sometimes depression doesn’t have anything to do with anything external. Some chemical change drifts in, for me I believe pregnancy was the trigger, and suddenly the whole world is shrouded in shit.

So, in that case, I don’t think the media is playing any role. Sometimes, though, depression is exacerbated by situations. It starts as sadness. And it slips at some point into depression. In these cases, the external world can have an influence. Of course in a clear state of mind, we can choose how to see any situation. In a clear mind we can see solutions, and, indeed, that is how we progress through the issues our societies face. In depression it is simply overwhelming. It can drift in from personal relationship issues or the chaos of awfulness in the world or the way we feel about ourselves.

In two of those three cases, I see some form of the media playing a role. I think it’s useful to distinguish the different types of media for this conversation. We have news, pop culture (including tv, movies, music, and advertising), and social media. At this point social media has nearly taken over all three. It is now news, pop culture, and social interaction. I am not one that blames technology for every problem we have. I don’t think social media is making teenagers into horrible people. I cringe when people talk, often on social media, about what a tragedy it is for children to be exposed to screens.

Social media is not really the problem. People saying hateful things on social media is the problem. I suppose there is something to be said for how emboldened people are by anonymity, but an asshole is an asshole. Perhaps they are nastier hidden by the screen, but generally either you think it’s ok to be hateful or you don’t. And that point actually brings me to the news media. For the moment let’s ignore that the news media is a big corporate whore mouthpiece and that they only report news that serves the interests of large corporations and the ultra elite. The thing that disturbs me nearly as much as their total inability to do their job is how hateful they are. I remember the first time I heard Rush. I was absolutely shocked. Then FOX came on, and I was totally floored. They were rude, disrespectful, and downright spiteful. I actually refused to watch for a long time, but when the documentary came out, I decided to watch. One of the clips they show is O’Reilly yelling at the son of a 9/11 victim because he opposed war as a response to the attack. The guy was in his late teens or early 20’s, and O’Reilly yelled at him until he cried. I was horrified. This normalization of hatred and meanness is, I think, very problematic, particularly for many people facing depression because we tend to be very sensitive. The average person on social media has simply come to see this behavior as normal, and that’s definitely a problem. Marginalized populations are particularly threatened in this environment.

On top of this, the news is full of the darkness in the world. That’s really all that is reported, and the media seems quite hellbent on beating the drums of war by convincing everyone that everyone else is out to get them. They feed the fires of suspicion and anger because they seem to live for conflict and dirty laundry. That’s certainly depressing, especially when you start to realize it’s so carefully constructed. Still, as I said above, it’s not enough to send someone into a depression unless they’re already predisposed to depression.

Popular culture is pretty intimately tied to social media. Music, tv, and movies are spread through social media, and there’s a lot of advertising in there as well. All these things are part of creating and reinforcing unhealthy body images and the shaming and lack of representation of poor people and other marginalized communities. Absence can be as damaging as unhelpful messages. Again I don’t think this leads straight to depression. I was always pretty immune to these types of things, and my children are the same. Our depression has come in through different avenues. Certainly I understand it has a stronger impact on some people that deal with depression.

Like a lot of the @ecotrain questions, there’s not a clear cut answer. In the end, there’s certainly a lot of things in the world that make people feel sad. There’s a lot of meanness and suffering. That can be very difficult to deal with when depressed. I have experienced that enhancing the desire to crawl into a hole and die. It can make it harder to come out of the depression. Feeling bad about yourself as the result of teasing and shaming and not feeling like enough can be even harder. In the end, though, I really don’t think any of that can cause depression. I think it can trigger it for those who are susceptible. I think it can make it worse. I certainly know it can make it harder to get out of the depression. I don’t think it can cause it. A chemical shift is what distinguishes sadness from depression, and that’s one thing the media can’t manipulate.

As always, all pics are mine or pixabay unless otherwise noted.

I’m a passenger on the @ecotrain, as well as a member of @teamgirlpowa and @steemmamas. All three are worth taking a look at, and all three are on discord.

Sort:  

I found this question really brought up so much, because we are talking about something that affects so many people and all of those people are so different it is so hard to really know what causes it, but I am with you I do not think it is from the media, it can exasperate it for sure but for me depression has deep roots that works in such an intense and deep way. I am sorry to hear that it is something that you experience, and have to live with. I hope that by your writing you get to work through some of it, in one way it is a part of you and you would not be the person you are today without it, I'm not sure if that means much, but you are so passionate and you really feel and give a damn and I feel that, that makes you more sensitive to what is going on around you. Which gives you your fire. I hope I am not speaking out of turn here. I am just trying to share what I feel and get from your writing. Holding Much love and respect for you mama xxx

It really has been interesting timing. I came out of a really long depression almost a year and a half ago. It took a long time because it was really the first serious depression I had ever been in, so I didn't recognize it. I kept thinking all my tools of metaphysics and spirituality and positive thinking and meditation would pull me out, but they never did, and I felt so hopeless. It started with my last pregnancy, and minus a short break, it lasted for several years. Just recently I've been feeling like it has been returning. In fact maybe it's been returning for a few months. It's definitely been an informative experience, and I have definitely gained enormous compassion for others who have dealt with it far longer. Now that I know where it goes, I can look back and see that I probably had it before, but it just never got as bad as it did at that point. A year ago christmas, I was in a pretty bad way. My writing does really help a lot. In fact talking openly about where I'm at helps more than anything. Whatever brought it on, I am definitely grateful for my fire. There's no doubt that our challenges always come with gifts. And you're not at all speaking out of turn. I know some people can't or don't want to talk about their depression, and whatever people need to do to take care of themselves is what they need to do. However, those of us who can talk about it really need to do so, and it's certainly good to hear of the gifts coming out of it. And lots of love to you too.

Thank u so much for opening up and sharing so honestly.. shame is a something that can go hand in hand with depression.. and sharing your story really helps others including myself to accept how we feel without the toxic self judgement and even self hate.. u are supported <3

Thank you so much, beautiful one. I am so glad it could be a blessing to you. I'm a heart on my sleeve kinda girl for sure, but depression is still tough to talk about, and shame definitely makes it worse. That mess has to stop. Thanks for helping me feel supported. I really needed that. You are supported too. xo

I agree with so.much.. all.. of this. I unfollowed all the news sites as they were so divisive and cruel. That's gonna fuck up kids. I was bullied as a teen which contributed to my feelings of self worth or lack of and I can't even imagine coming home and not being able to switch off. And some asshole bullies grow up to be trolls.

Im sorry you have suffered depression. Its an awful thing. And yes.. damn our hormones and chemicals for getting involved in the complicated mix of life...

Big love

Yeah. I can't watch hardly any of it. Even the progressive media that I tend to agree more with upsets me because the outlook is awfully dismal right now. The only ones I can watch are the comedy ones. I got somewhat picked on at school, but I went to an inner city school, so people had bigger fish in the frying pan. There were gangs, and it was a huge school, so I got left pretty much alone even though I was definitely a nerd. I do feel for children who can't turn it off. My son dealt with that to a certain degree, but he was only at school because he wanted to be and was free to come home when he was tired of it. The first school was really nice, again an inner city situation. Then the second school was miserable, and he was done with school for good after just a couple months of that.

Depression really is awful. The worst is feeling stuck and feeling like I can't shift it, like my own head is lying to me. I am nearly certain that it was pregnancy hormones that started the worst bout, and now I'm going through menopause, and it's kind of a similar beast. Thanks for the love. Sending some right back to you!

Thanks! I'm a few years behind you I think, not too far though - everytime something goes skewiff i'm like - is this it??? Menopause can be really anxiety inducing I've heard - I'm getting right on top of it making sure I'm taking inositol, st johns wort etc etc - just dont want to go there - terrifies me!!!

Right. I'm 43, so I think it's hitting a bit early, but it was definitely hard to tell at first when it was starting. I just finally realized that I was definitely hotter than everyone else and that it was coming in crazy waves. Would be nice if you could take a little test like a pregnancy test. It's good to hear about the anxiety bit because I had never heard that before, but I've definitely been feeling that. My 6 yo is a daredevil, and it's all I can do to hold it together. I feel slightly psychotic regularly. I need to start on some herbs for sure.

Loved your insight! You are right about people not understanding the difference between sadness and depression and labeling everything as the latter and often what they forget is that the media doesn't ask us to watch or use it.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it. The difference between the two is so important because when people in the midst of sadness shift to a different mood, they think someone experiencing depression can do the same. That leads to some unpleasant conversations and terrible misunderstandings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58085.08
ETH 2337.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37