You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To What Extent Does the Media Contribute to Depression?

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I agree with so.much.. all.. of this. I unfollowed all the news sites as they were so divisive and cruel. That's gonna fuck up kids. I was bullied as a teen which contributed to my feelings of self worth or lack of and I can't even imagine coming home and not being able to switch off. And some asshole bullies grow up to be trolls.

Im sorry you have suffered depression. Its an awful thing. And yes.. damn our hormones and chemicals for getting involved in the complicated mix of life...

Big love

Sort:  

Yeah. I can't watch hardly any of it. Even the progressive media that I tend to agree more with upsets me because the outlook is awfully dismal right now. The only ones I can watch are the comedy ones. I got somewhat picked on at school, but I went to an inner city school, so people had bigger fish in the frying pan. There were gangs, and it was a huge school, so I got left pretty much alone even though I was definitely a nerd. I do feel for children who can't turn it off. My son dealt with that to a certain degree, but he was only at school because he wanted to be and was free to come home when he was tired of it. The first school was really nice, again an inner city situation. Then the second school was miserable, and he was done with school for good after just a couple months of that.

Depression really is awful. The worst is feeling stuck and feeling like I can't shift it, like my own head is lying to me. I am nearly certain that it was pregnancy hormones that started the worst bout, and now I'm going through menopause, and it's kind of a similar beast. Thanks for the love. Sending some right back to you!

Thanks! I'm a few years behind you I think, not too far though - everytime something goes skewiff i'm like - is this it??? Menopause can be really anxiety inducing I've heard - I'm getting right on top of it making sure I'm taking inositol, st johns wort etc etc - just dont want to go there - terrifies me!!!

Right. I'm 43, so I think it's hitting a bit early, but it was definitely hard to tell at first when it was starting. I just finally realized that I was definitely hotter than everyone else and that it was coming in crazy waves. Would be nice if you could take a little test like a pregnancy test. It's good to hear about the anxiety bit because I had never heard that before, but I've definitely been feeling that. My 6 yo is a daredevil, and it's all I can do to hold it together. I feel slightly psychotic regularly. I need to start on some herbs for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58148.81
ETH 2345.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35