You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To What Extent Does the Media Contribute to Depression?

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I found this question really brought up so much, because we are talking about something that affects so many people and all of those people are so different it is so hard to really know what causes it, but I am with you I do not think it is from the media, it can exasperate it for sure but for me depression has deep roots that works in such an intense and deep way. I am sorry to hear that it is something that you experience, and have to live with. I hope that by your writing you get to work through some of it, in one way it is a part of you and you would not be the person you are today without it, I'm not sure if that means much, but you are so passionate and you really feel and give a damn and I feel that, that makes you more sensitive to what is going on around you. Which gives you your fire. I hope I am not speaking out of turn here. I am just trying to share what I feel and get from your writing. Holding Much love and respect for you mama xxx

Sort:  

It really has been interesting timing. I came out of a really long depression almost a year and a half ago. It took a long time because it was really the first serious depression I had ever been in, so I didn't recognize it. I kept thinking all my tools of metaphysics and spirituality and positive thinking and meditation would pull me out, but they never did, and I felt so hopeless. It started with my last pregnancy, and minus a short break, it lasted for several years. Just recently I've been feeling like it has been returning. In fact maybe it's been returning for a few months. It's definitely been an informative experience, and I have definitely gained enormous compassion for others who have dealt with it far longer. Now that I know where it goes, I can look back and see that I probably had it before, but it just never got as bad as it did at that point. A year ago christmas, I was in a pretty bad way. My writing does really help a lot. In fact talking openly about where I'm at helps more than anything. Whatever brought it on, I am definitely grateful for my fire. There's no doubt that our challenges always come with gifts. And you're not at all speaking out of turn. I know some people can't or don't want to talk about their depression, and whatever people need to do to take care of themselves is what they need to do. However, those of us who can talk about it really need to do so, and it's certainly good to hear of the gifts coming out of it. And lots of love to you too.

Thank u so much for opening up and sharing so honestly.. shame is a something that can go hand in hand with depression.. and sharing your story really helps others including myself to accept how we feel without the toxic self judgement and even self hate.. u are supported <3

Thank you so much, beautiful one. I am so glad it could be a blessing to you. I'm a heart on my sleeve kinda girl for sure, but depression is still tough to talk about, and shame definitely makes it worse. That mess has to stop. Thanks for helping me feel supported. I really needed that. You are supported too. xo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58148.81
ETH 2345.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35