3 Amazing Uses of Horsetail

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

horsetail-uses-1.jpg

Horsetail, or equisetum, as it is known by its Latin name, is a very ancient and powerful plant that can easily be found growing wild all throughout northern U.S. Horsetail is the only surviving genus of a prehistoric plant family dating back to 350 million years ago. They are the reason we have coal! Also intriguing is that they propagate by spores rather than seeds.

Here in southern Oregon, horsetail grow in abundance in wetland areas of the forest and along roadside ditches.

horsetail-uses-5.jpg

horsetail-uses-6.jpg

In just an hour, we collected a huge bunch...way more than I actually needed! So I made the most of our harvest and used them in three ways:

#1 Natural dye

horsetail-uses-3.jpg

My original intention when we collected the horsetail was to use them for dye, especially because it creates a rare color. As you can see, it yields a beautiful peach pink. In the natural dye world, yellow is the most common and abundant color, so anything not yellow is exciting and I'm really thrilled with this result. As it turns out, it's the minerals in horsetail that create this special hue.

#2 Hair tonic

horsetail-uses-4.jpg

The same mineral content that makes for a great natural dye color is also great for our health. Have you noticed that lots of fancy conditioners advertise "silica" in their ingredients for strengthening hair and prevent hair loss? Well, you can you get the same thing from horsetail.

According to Mountain Rose Herbs, "Horsetail is possibly the most abundant source of silica in the plant kingdom, so much in fact that the herb can be used for polishing metal. It got the name 'scouring rush' from this very application. It has had other uses during the ages including as an ingredient in shampoos, skincare products, and in dietary supplements. The German E commission describes its use for urinary tract problems and as a diuretic.”

After boiling down the horsetail for dye, I saved a portion of the liquid in a jar and put it in the refrigerator to keep fresh. Every time I take a bath or shower, I pour about 1 cup of the horsetail tonic onto my hair and then wrap my head in a towel until it naturally dries. It works extremely well. Conditioners often make my scalp greasy after a few days (I wash my hair only once a week), but horsetail keeps my hair shiny, strong, and smooth without being oily!

@sagescrub also regularly adds horsetail into his daily infusion routine specifically for its health benefits - strengthening bones and lubricating joints. For more on its medicinal uses, check out: http://www.susunweed.com/herbal_ezine/february04/menopausal.htm

*As we collected this horsetail in the summer when its silica content is the highest, it's better to use this externally. For internal use, herbalists recommend horsetail collected in the spring.

#3 Adding minerals to our soil + mulch

horsetail mulch.jpg

Silica is also sought after by cannabis growers and high-yield gardeners to strengthen their plants. This is often bought in expensive fertilizers rather than simply made from natural materials growing abundantly all around us. After I finished dyeing, I let the bath cool and then poured the remainder of the horsetail right into the garden.

Once again, mother nature proves, everything we need is already right here in front of us! Our ancestors certainly knew this and we can relearn and rewild ourselves again too!

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Interesting! I wasn't aware that horsetail had medicinal uses.

Yes, that is intriguing to me as well as I sought it out for dye at first. After more research, it seems both the early Romans as well as Native Americans have used them for medicinal purposes.

What a gorgeous color! And, cool fun facts about horsetail too! Thank-you. Rewild!! Yesssss let's ❤💜👍❤💜

Wow. Beautiful photos! I was just reading that it is one of the oldest medicinal herbs that even precedes dinosaurs on earth!! I remember collecting it in England, but it's a prohibited weed here in Australia!

Oh and..

Woo-hoo! Yay! We adore your work, and we've upvoted your post with some @naturalmedicine love! Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the round-up of our blog.

If you are reading this comment, and you're a supporter of all things natural healing, you might like to read our introductory post here. We'd also love to welcome you on Discord here!!

I'm impressed horsetail lived so long. I'm not surprised that a plant that resilient it can also be invasive.

Hooray! Thanks so much for upvoting our post :). So sweet of you!

it's not a lot, and we'd love love love to give more - here's hoping we grow!

Super interesting! I had no idea horsetail had so many uses. Can you share how you created the dye? I have recently been thinking about getting into natural dyes, but I am clueless as to where to start!

Sure! I'm happy to share a post on dye making in the near future. It's not difficult at all and has been a fun way for me to connect with plants and get to know our local ecology. I hope you'll get into it!

Great! I look forward to reading it. I am getting interested in these techniques, and hope to start experimenting soon.

Love when I see more plants that are multi purpose like these are! I don't think we have them in New England, I don't recognize the bamboo appearing plant.

Totally! Multi purpose plants are our favorites. I did a quick search on equisetum in New England it seems they are pretty abundant there: https://gobotany.newenglandwild.org/species/equisetum/arvense/.

This little tidbit from that website is cool: "Field horsetail has also been used for a variety of medicinal purposes by Native Americans. In addition, it is an important component of the spring and early summer diet of black bears."

If you go searching for them...watch for bears :).

Interesting thanks. I did a lot of hiking across Massachusetts and Vermont but I don’t remember seeing these. That’s not hard to understand though, I have a lot to learn about the native plants around us. Thanks for the info! I’ll keep this in mind when I go hiking and look for it.

This is really interesting @sagescrub, thank you for letting us know about the medical use of horsetail. Regard

Here in the Netherlands horsetail also grows in abundance too in the wild. Gonna start using it again. I am noticing my hair is getting thinner. Thanks for the reminder.

No problem! This is my first time trying it as a hair conditioner and so far it's great. I'd love to know what you think of it too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67