Dealing with Arrows: How Much Choice Do We Have Anyway?

in #ecotrain5 years ago

I'm such a one for vacillating, it's taken me all week to consider my respond to the TSU Question of the Week. On a good and positive day, I believe we do have a choice about how we live our lives, but most of the time, I believe we have very little power. We're too shaped by social conditioning, culture, where we are born, and happenstance to really have much of a choice, and we limit many of the choices we have ourselves to be the person we want to be, or believe we can be, based on any number of factors. Choice has always been illusory.

Buddha told the story of two arrows - the first arrow is the painful one, the one we have little choice over. We can't help the family member that dies of cancer, or the freak storm that sweeps our house away in a flood. However, the second arrow is our real choice - how do we respond to that? Do we attach to, or identify with, the pain? Does it become the narrative of our lives? Do we give up and die? Do we choose to be angry and distrustful of the world based on one event or series of events, making that our ultimate truth?

image.png
Image Source

I visited my Aunt today for the first time in eight years, although she lives locally. Our families have been a little estranged, but ultimately, we're family, and in the face of crisis, we can let a lot of stuff go in the understanding when you put all that aside, love prevails. She's been shot with a few arrows over the last few months - retirement, close friends dying, her granddaughters moving away (she'd been raising them) - her whole life is changing, her entire identity. She's finding it hard to cope, and Mum had said she was a mess of anxiety and depression. I visited because my heart went out to her because I knew what it was like to suffer like that. It was a tender and beautiful afternoon as we sat in the sun pouring through the kitchen window and I held her hand whilst she cried. She feels pretty powerless right now, and pretty scared and very desperate for any advice I might have to help her manage this. I wonder about choice, when I think of her. Is it far to say she should have made the choice to do a little self study before this moment so she was able to cope with what came at her? Was it fair to say it was her choice to respond in a particular way to the first arrow when her limbic, base brain is basically in fight or flight mode, flooding her with cortisol, and her rational brain can't talk it down, no matter how hard she tries? Perhaps it's been a series of little choices that led her to this moment, ones that seemed insignificant at the time. Perhaps she's just been hit with too many of the first arrow at once, and she needs time to respond. Either way, my heart goes out to her. I'm glad I made the choice to turn into their driveway instead of ignoring her and going home - it was a hard afternoon, but I am glad I helped her.

We started watching David Attenbourough's documentary on climate change this week. It sure as hell wasn't my choice to be living on a planet that's been totally fucked by capitalist economics. We've always felt we chose to live a particular way because it somehow mattered - live green, eat local, grow our own food, be ethical consumers. Has it made a difference? Did we ever really have a choice against the huge powers that have shaped the world into what it is today? How much of this has been our individual responsibility? How much more should we have done? Could we really have made other choices to have prevented what was coming at us? It's easy to feel depressed and powerless.

FB_IMG_1557224902239.jpg

There's a scene with bats falling dead out of the trees due to extreme heat. One heatwave killed 'a third' of a bat species in Australia in two days of record-breaking heat - almost one-third of spectacled flying foxes. It's harrowing. We are continuing to lose species due to the choices we have made as a collective whole. It's hard to count myself as part of that whole sometimes.

downloadfile.jpg

We're coming up to Australian Federal elections. Most of the people I speak to on Steemit are horrified that our voting is compulsory. It is difficult to be faced with a 'choice' between who to vote for or not when we can deeply reject the political system that is entirely self serving, corrupt and driven by self interest. Sometimes it feels we are choosing between two evils, and we've lost so much faith in the political system as it stands that to vote for it seems to go against what we're really hoping for - a new world order, as idealist or fuzzy as that may sound. BUT... it's not the worse system and everyone here at least has a say.

For the first time that I can remember, climate change is a huge part of this election. I am sceptical. More green promises that won't come true, I'm guessing. But I'll vote for the party who promises the most on that front.

I was chatting to Dad about it yesterday. I won't talk politics with them as it depresses me - and we are on the same side. Talking doesn't change the world. He agreed. Like me, he believes the main choice we have is to be the best we can be in our little lives, and be okay with that... because if we aren't, that arrow of suffering is gonna pierce pretty deep.

So our choice, in this moment to moment experience of life, is to choose to put aside as much of the influence of culture, history, politics, consumerism and media as possible. Be kind to others. Plant trees. Shop ethical, with discernment. Reuse, repurpose. Grow our own food. Love with all our hearts. Spread joy.

An essential choice to make, in the grand scheme of things. And one I can live with.



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine


Website | @homesteaderscoop | Discord Community

image.png


MindfulLife.gif
Discord 🧘About

image.png

Sort:  

The more I've been pondering this question myself, the more I realise that maybe "control" is something we need to relinquish and instead realise what "choices" we can make. As our climate changes, it may not have mattered what influence people had on it, it would likely have inevitably reached extremes which impact life. So the choices we personally make to try and alleviate that impact are more important than trying to control the actions those we can't. Can we find ways to start helping environments to replenish, to stop adding to pollution? Your little piece of land could be a haven for some of those animals struggling with the heatwaves.

Somedays I feel like I can do so little, but as I see more and more bees and native birds appearing in my garden, I'm wondering if even just a tiny something is better than nothing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Without a doubt! That's EXACTLY the choices I'm making. More power to change what I can, and less upset over what I can't control. Step 1.. ring the council and get them to plant out the council land next to us with trees.

Posted using Partiko Android

Do let us know how you go with the council. That will be great if you can get them to do that.

Posted using Partiko Android

such a wonderful answer. I am glad you visited your aunty, even if it was difficult, being present for others is really important, I imagine she really appreciated the time you shared with her,

Be kind to others. Plant trees. Shop ethical, with discernment. Reuse, repurpose. Grow our own food. Love with all our hearts. Spread joy.

So much Yes to all the above, if we all made those decisions what a world we would live in xxx

It's be SUCH a different place, wouldn't it? In fact, it would entirely change the world.

Weirdly, I saw my Aunt at the beach yesterday... my uncle dragged her down for fresh air. Weird as I never see them. Chatted to her and hugged her again. She is really in a bad state. Gosh I feel for people who are anxious and depressed..It's an awful state to be in.

Love your choice-

choice, in this moment to moment experience of life, is to choose to put aside as much of the influence of culture, history, politics, consumerism and media as possible. Be kind to others. Plant trees. Shop ethical, with discernment. Reuse, repurpose. Grow our own food. Love with all our hearts. Spread joy.

And the wonderful teaching of the Buddha with the two arrows!

It all boils down to how we respond to all that is happening in our life for really that is going to be our experience!

Another well written response to a wonderful question!
Thanks for sharing!

Acceptance, love and compassion are what we need to achieve according to Buddha. Not easy but worthwhile to work toward.

Touching post with a lot of great 'guidelines' at the end. I really believe part of our healing comes from consuming differently. For me learning to cook 'again' was life changing and I can eat more and more food than before, there's more tastes I love, and I'm getting less and less 'dependent' on meat which was something I could never imagine.

Ah, voting. Compulsory sounds awesome to me. But can you chose 'blank'? That's an option we have in the Netherlands, where you just go vote to tell 'them' there's no-one you feel represents you :-)

Yes, it's called a donkey vote. People draw penises and stupid things on it to null and void their vote. And no one gets shot for it.

Absolutely agree the way we CONSUME is a powerful choice.

Hi @riverflows!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.641 which ranks you at #534 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 29 places in the last three days (old rank 563).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 159 contributions, your post is ranked at #35.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Beautifully put. I'm amazed, every single day, by the amount of wisdom, love and ( overtly ) positive energy that I find on here, spread by you and so many others.

Um abraço

Loved reading every word here from begin to end. The story of Budha with the two arrows, never heard of that yet but Budha is so right in that concept of life. The thing with the aunt, glad you helped her. I hope she finds her way back soon and universe brings some love and light in her life.

and I am surprised voting in Australia is compulsory, that is strange. Even if its compulsory there should be a 'None of the above' option for the peopel to choose which we have here in India.

@vibesforlife, we have a thing called a 'donkey vote'. This is when a voter will do something like draw a big scribble or a silly picture so the vote is void.

I hope my Aunt is okay too - I saw her again today, and she's really not thinking clearly. She was asking me the same questions again. I'm going to write it all down for her I think. I feel so sad for her.

Thanks for your beautiful comment.

The words 'Donkey Vote' itself sounds so interesting.
Hope your aunt gets better, I feel devastated to think about her current mental state that she is asking same questions again and again, I think it happens when someone is immensely sad and depressed. May Lord shine his light on her this very right moment.

The arrow of truth hit pretty close to home with this one: "the main choice we have is to be the best we can be in our little lives, and be okay with that... because if we aren't, that arrow of suffering is gonna pierce pretty deep" Choosing to be the best is EVERYTHING, Life and world-changing, even when we can't see it.
the main choice we have is to be the best we can be in our little lives, and be okay with that... because if we aren't, that arrow of suffering is gonna pierce pretty deep

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85