Coping with Mortality: How do you do it?

in #ecotrain6 years ago
I'm very conscious that I am heading into the fading twilight of my parents final years. My mother would call this maudlin and laugh that they are not dead yet. Indeed, this is true as they are most vibrant in their vitality, even though my father is entering into the last moments of his cancer treatment, radiation to his brain to mop up any last vestiges of this dis-ease. Of course I don't tell her what I am really thinking - that without them my life will rearrange itself and I am not sure what that might look like yet.

Last weekend they came for lunch. Dad would do anything for food right now. The medication has made him irrationally hungry and he complains that he has put on weight. I tease him and call him pudgy. because it's a long standing family joke where once he said that to me. We all know one does not call a woman pudgy (I'm not, by the way - I'm deliciously curvaceous, according to the other half). My mother was mortified.

image.png

When he walked in the house he went straight to the Namitjira painting that he lent me money for years ago. We had been window shopping in Melbourne on the way out for a family lunch and we saw it in the window of a junk shop. Although he wanted it himself he lent me the hundred bucks, which I never paid back, and re framed it. Dad loves it and jokes since I never gave him that money it really belongs to him. For years I've been telling him to get stuffed, and that it's my painting. However, this time I said "Dad if you want the painting, you can have the painting - I don't mind"

To which mum said 'Oh for god's sake, don't be maudlin'. Stiff British upper lip, my mother.

I have been so lucky in my life. I am so close to my parents and I know that that isn't always a typical thing. But even in my 20s when I was wild and lost, it was my parents house to which I'd return, curl up on the couch and have one of Mum's famous raspberry and coconut muffins and a big mug of nettle tea. The energy in that house was always so peaceful. They had a beautiful garden (and still do) and it felt like a retreat from the world. Dad would often joke: 'are you still here?' and 'stop messing up the lounge room.' But they never minded really. They still make me feel really welcome. I still walk straight to the cupboard and take fix a handful of almonds without asking. I often leave with handfuls of books and bags of lemons. They are generous people.



Even when I'm feeling so anxious that I can barely breathe, I gain a few hours respite when I'm with them. They accept me utterly and completely - I never feel any judgement from them, no matter what I do. Even when I left Australian on a whim to go to a man that I'd known for a whole 3 days, they said they just wanted me to be happy and I sounded passionate, so why shouldn't I follow my passion? My husband adores them and the family never forgets the moment that J. accidentally called my father Dad.

Mortality is a funny thing. We know it's coming, but we pretend otherwise. The older we get, the more we shy away from mirrors that betray our age, showing as wrinkles the other marks of decay. Maybe if we celebrated age in this culture it would be less difficult to go head to head with. I feel unprepared because I've never lost anybody particularly close to me. Sure, I've lost friends and my grandparents but they seem different somehow. I find myself without the resources to cope with this. Maybe it's something that you learn as you go on. I'm starting to suspect that this is the case.


image.png

J. is going to England for Christmas to see his mum and sister, but understandably after Dad's illness I just want to stay home and be with them. J. of course will face the same thing with his family and for him, I guess it's even sadder because he could probably count the amount of times he will see his mum now as we live in countries so far away from each other. I'm grateful that he can deal with it better than I can, and that he didn't mind choosing to live in Australia.

I wonder who I will be without this compass point to return me to a solid centre. Maybe I need to find my own centre I guess. I know I have one, and I've used it many times before, don't get me wrong. I'm not so dependent on my parents that I could not live without them, and I certainly have, and I know that I can and will. As I said to Dad when he told me he had a 60 percent chance of surviving his cancer, of course I'll be fine, and I'll carry him in my life always, out in the ocean, in the yoga room - he'll be with me. But the thought of them dying leaves me a little lost and it's not something I can say to them. Again I guess it's just something that you get used to. Spring moves to summer, autumn moves to winter after all. I know it's the way of the world.

Dad came to do yoga with me today at the studio for the first time in 6 months. It's a hard class that I go to, a vinyasa flow. Dad's been doing yoga religiously, for longer than I have. A year ago I was admiring his strength and wondering how on earth you could be so fit at 70. When he had his heart attack, which now we think may have been his body's way of responding to the cancer before we even knew anything was wrong, he got back in that yoga room and blew everyone away with what he could do. The teacher's were very cautious of him and worrying about him, conscious that he was an old man that it just had a heart attack. I could hear it in their dialogue, reminding the class that it was fine to come to balasana, child's pose. But he was fine. Yoga made him feel good even when he was feeling crap. For months, he persisted, despite the pains in his legs. The doctor told him it was a kind of and would get painted his legs which the doctor said was a kind of myalgia. He also had a lump in his groin which the doctor dismissed a number of times. Turns out the whole time he was practicing next to me with such strength and grace, the cancer was working away at his body. He was feeling really under the weather, old and tired. We would laugh and tease him because we would say of course you were tired Dad - today you have done yoga and surfing and gardening and and a walk. He would insist that he felt really old of a sudden, but he would still come to yoga with me and we would sweat out through the shapes and breathing and he would feel momentarily good. When we got the diagnosis everything made sense. It wasn't myalgia at all but the lump in his lymph glands pressing on nerves.


image.png

In the first days of his cancer treatment Dad would be attached to a drip and doing yoga in the hospital room. Then he got weaker, but discovered a lot of poses that he could do lying in his bed. He didn't want to lose his muscle mass or his flexibility, but as he got sicker and sicker this was inevitable really. He didn't really anticipate how sick he would get. I think Dad was shying away from his own mortality. It is hard for men to all of a sudden become weak, as their whole sense of self is challenged. What is a man, without strength? And my father's philosophy that you 'just keep moving' could no longer be put into action.

In class today he struggled. I could hear his breath, short and struggling to gain control. On the mat breath is everything and it keeps you steady and true, despite the struggle. I found myself breathing harder and clearer for him, encouraging him to breath steadily with my own breath. He moved more frequently to child's pose and chose alternative poses when it got too tough (one struggles with garudasana or warrior 3 at the best of times, let alone having been ill for so long) but he made it through. He left his beanie on the whole time, too vain to take it off and show his bald head, but I did say no one would even care or mind. It's funny what we feel about ourselves. But he did it - he bravely got through, and I'm hoping he will come back next week. It's the only non heated class of the week, so maybe I'll go over and practice with him in the lounge room just so he starts building strength again. And the next step too, is to go out on the ocean with him again, get paddle boarding on the river perhaps before we go back out in the waves together.

I'm not ready to let him stop moving yet.

How have you coped with aging parents? With your parents mortality?



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

My_Post_1.jpg

If you're a supporter of all things natural healing, you might like to read our introductory post here. We'd also love to welcome you on Discord here!!

1wEUFtd.jpg

left.gifriverflows.gif

image.png

riverflows2.png

image.png

All paintings by Albert Namitjira and found [here](https://www.artgallery.nsw.gov.au/collection/works/81.1997/

Sort:  

oh wow, what a story! your dad is lucky he has you to inspire him!
IN answer to your question.. for me its quite .. um. backwards! My Granny is 90 this year.. last time i spoke to her she told me she still does Salsa but stopped going to the gym. She drives, and is still very sharp.. My mum is 70 this year, she is a tennis fanatic and is seeded somewhere in the top 100 for her age group.. all she does is play tennis and stay healthy.

Me on the other hand!.. im doing worse then them really! ha hah ah aaha!

Wow that's good going full stop goes to show an active lifestyle keeps you healthy. It should have been that way with Dad too and I expect it will be again, but it was just a genetic thing or rude just something that happens that no one can really explain especially given how healthy he was. I mean I grew up with lentil burgers for god sake. Mum was cooking with tofu before anyone knew what it was. Those juices should keep you healthy surely hahaha. Maybe you need to take up tennis or maybe cricket since it's India haha

Ahh, sweet love. Blessings to you & your parents. I like to spend as much time with my Elders as I can. Make memories. It's all we can take with us when we go. Sadly, my dad passed suddenly in a car accident way too young (he's 54) i was 23, my baby sis was 12. It was 16 years ago. As i am progressing through healing from the major car accident last year i think of my dad so often. Way more than the previous 14 years. I noticed i've been eating a hellavalota ice cream this past year. It was dad's favourite. I used to always say no thanks to it! But, yesterday I realized how greatly I miss him. Time to think of how to keep him close minus the 🍧 haha. Perhaps a nice picture on the wall might help, i am not sure. Unfortunately, i don't think time makes missing a loved one any easier. And, time is what I'd say is all you can share while they are aging too. Spend as much time as possible together. Hugs 🌹

This made me feel so sad!!! Isn't it strange how you try to connect to your Dad by eating icecream! It made me cry. No wonder you felt him, as you went through that trauma - you must have missed him so much at that time and even now.

Especially soft serve with hot fudge & nuts!! Haha YUM 🤣🙅‍♀️ no more! My weight is getting outta hand 🙈 i didn't want to make you feel sad or low. But, the opposite! Enjoy & celebrate all your time together. Love hard! Do what you love lots ✌🌹🐝🙏❤

Much love to you beautiful, it is so hard to watch our loved ones suffer, i found it so difficult seeing my beautiful sister become so frail, to see this cancer and treatment eating away at her. She is half way through her chemo and I can only send her love and healing as I am away from Ireland, I do not wish to imagine her not here, it is too hard.
xxx

I get teary everytime I think about it, like now. It must be so hard for you to be so far away from her too. And you are only in spain - it doesnt bear thinking what will happen when and if J's family get ill with us all the way in Australia. Big hugs to you. xx

I adore your relationship with your dad, you quite obviously treasure it deeply. I never had that, my dad passed when I was 10 of a recurring brain tumor, mother was abusive. Lost my brother when he was 25 to cancer, we'd just finally become best friends for the first time. Then I lost one of my twin sons at only one day old. As for my other son, our relationship is very much like that of yours with your dad. We've always been absolute best friends, and I will always treat him as your dad treats you. We plan to get into yoga and are very spiritual.
Thank you so much for sharing what's going on with your dad, it reminds me to keep both of you in my thoughts. I never had that with my dad, so, in a way, I visit that type of relationship vicariously through your words, and I so very deeply root for him to pull through with all his strength and vigor.
This very much means something to me, mate.
Love and blessings,
-Logan

Thanks so much @aware007 - you've certainly been touched by grief. How lucky you are to have a close relationship with your son. I know that isn't always the case with families and it sounds like you had a tough one with both your parents. i am so aware of how lucky I am, I really am. This feeling of being blessed was discussed endlessly at Dad's bedside when we thought he might die.

Beautifully written by a beautiful soul @riverflows .. your words really resonate with me .. I nearly lost my Dad when I was a child and it has kind of shaped the direction of my life, my Dad is also now ill with heart problems so it's a thought that plagues my waking dreams.

As the river flows so does our life .. but one day we shall all meet in the sea of dreams and what dreams you shall have to share. Feel your Dad's spirit for it will always be with you. Much love x

As the river flows so does our life .. but one day we shall all meet in the sea of dreams and what dreams you shall have to share. Feel your Dad's spirit for it will always be with you.

I love this so much. On the day we got the diagnosis, I was practising yoga at my studio and I must have been thinking about Dad because this feeling of eternal conciousness flooded my meditation at the end, and the knowledge that Dad's spirit would always be with me. It was a very strong feeling, and a beautiful one beyond this mortal coil. I try to hold onto that. Appreciate your words - we are lucky to be close enough to our Dads that we are plagued by these thoughts - grief, they say, is the flip of love.

@riverflows, this is a post that is so warm and outpouring about your life. Sometimes the right personal post is a gift for readers.

It is difficult especially for a daughter to see her parents getting old and to see her father losing that wondrous strength that he used to have. It somehow punctures the bubble about life and brings reality crashing down with all its weight.

Cancer does not help the cause, does it?

Instead of offering platitudes, all i can say is that it is admirable you are handling it your way.

there is a certain beauty in aging people if we can put our own emotional connects aside for a second. they show us the dignity of life and how to accept its quirks. It is educative to be near them for you learn about yourself and wisdom of life flows from them to you.

In the assembly line of life, each event is an artifact worth treasuring

In the assembly line of life, each event is an artifact worth treasuring

I love this line, and it is so true. I appreciate your wise words - all of them are felt. xxx

I love how you write about your family, parents and father :>)

I remember you and I had a chat about our fathers ( in a comment on your post? ), months ago. I recently learnt that my father - who is 67 - has progressive lung fibrosis. If it isn't treated, he will die in 1 to 5 years. They are gonna try a new kind of medicine on him that might prolong his life with many more years.

My father is the opposite of a yoga or surfing type. He is my father though and I wish him to feel good. Nevertheless, he has been suffering from depression for about 3 decades and from 2009 onwards, a cardiac arrest, a psychosis ( triggered by the morphine given to him before his heart-surgery ) as well as all kinds of lung issues.

He is Holland and I am in Portugal. Yesterday, he went through a test ( flight simulator ( not really inside a flight simulator but simulating the air pressure and all ) to find out if he's healthy enough to fly ( to Portugal ) in the near future. My mom and him are planning to visit my twin sister as well as my new place, later this year.

Back in 2009, after my father's cardiac arrest and especially the following psychosis, I really started to think about the importance of family and the fragility of life. When I think about it, this already happened in the Summer of 2006, when my younger brother - who was 15 at the time - all of a sudden, almost died of an infection or virus that has never been discovered.

These days, I try to look at life and death in a different way but I have really learnt to be kind to people and to be loving towards friends and family. You never know when's the last time you see them or talk to them.

<3 and a hug from Portugal,

Vincent

Thanks so much for this. These conversations really help me realise I'm not the only one feeling this. I hope your Dad can fly, as it will do him wonders to visit you both. I didn't realise you and your sister were twins. I agree, you should always be kind and loving because you never know. I'm spending more time with my sister and the kids too because of this whole thing, and they me. It's brought us all closer together and at the same time made us realise how much we do really love one another.

You are very welcome. Kindness attracts kindness ;>)

Yes, I have a twin sister ( and another sister and brother who live in Holland ) and both of us moved to Portugal, recently. I have always felt like being around her ( and vice versa, I guess ), although there were times when I actually distanced myself literally as she was doing the same figuratively. Now we're as close as we've ever been, again.

Life is all about loving and being happy as much as we can. It's out natural state

xx

It was a blessing when my violent father died. Am I close to my passive mother who allowed it all those years and put her financial security ahead of hr children's safety? No. But I make an effort for my daughter, although we live half a world apart. It is natural and good for our parents to pass so we can find the "true north" of our own compasses. Savour the moments and consider how lucky you have been. And live for this moment only - The Eternal Now - everyday. Who knows? They may outlive you.

Really touching story @riverflows. Tbh I don't have words to tell you about how I feel right now. Everytime I think about my mum's getting older, I convince myself that it's a harsh truth and I have to accept it. But it breaks me down little by little inside. I am not ready yet. I will never be ready to accept it. Families are meant to be together and forever always imo. I try to spend much of my time with my loved ones because I know we have limited time with every person. But it's hurtful to realise it.

Bless you and your family especially your dad. And I wish you guys well. Cheers!

Thank you beautiful. Its so hard to accept isn't it, especially when we love them so. Thanks for your lovely comment x

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10