Strange Happening During Mating Season - My Wednesday Walk...

in #ecotrain5 years ago

With it being springtime (although you'd never know it around here for it keeps wanting to snow) it is the mating season for the birds and they're flirting around the trees giving their mating calls.
For the past couple of years we have had one strange woodpecker visit us, who is determined to get his call heard!

He is drumming on the metal waterspout!

Last year I caught a good video of him in action. He'll continues doing this until his mate responds. Last year it took awhile before his mate responded and came to meet him on the rain spout. When she finally did come they flew off happily together. We were happy too, to have that constant drumming stop!

Woodpecker Drumming Out His Mating Call 2018

When I watched this video and saw all the lush new green growth I was surprised at the difference from this year and last.

It's May 1st and I woke up to snow on the ground. It's been too cold for the tree leaves to burst open and all my gardening remains indoors, impatiently waiting for some warmer temperatures!

I feel for the woodpecker, for he sits on that pole all puffed up, trying to keep warm, not like he was in the video from last year. The cold hasn't deterred him from drumming out his call, but the snow keeps him away til the sun breaks through.

Just as I'm writing this post I looked out the window to see the fluffy, white flakes floating down once more - so I went out and snapped a picture so you could see the contrast between last year and this year!

Post With Metal Rain Spout Woodpecker Was Drumming On May 1st 2019

snow on greens garden and greenhouse May 1st.JPG

It did make for some pretty scenes with the sunlight glistening on the snow dusted trees but I'll sure be happy when I see that lovely flush of new green growth that's expected this time of year !

Sun Starting to Drop Behind the Snow Dusted Trees

sunlightin pines by fire pit with light snow April 30.JPG

All images and videos were taken with my Canon PowerShot A495

Thanks for stopping by!



Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain


MindfulLife.gif
Discord About

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

great captures. is it still snowing there? wow the winter is much longer than last year for sure. ;)

Yes we just got another 4 inches of snow yesterday with a bit more today! I usually love to see the white fluffy flakes of snow but I'm getting a little tired of it now and want to see some greenery!

Here's a scene from our deck taken May 2nd

May snow on the deck.JPG

Someone was telling me this week that the woodpecker was drumming on the gutters....

Knock wood, no snow here, just tons of rain. But in the past we have had a blizzard on May 19th...

They are funny creatures those woodpeckers but kinda smart for the sound carries quite a ways!
A blizzard May 19! Yikes!

Woodpecker sure has found the noisiest instrument to use as his attraction motivator. We have them on trees, this is fun to see, sure not fun to hear day in and day out before some damsel flies in to take his mind of that pipe!

Poor little woodpecker. He just wants the sun to come out so he can woo his lady. He's smart though! That metal pole is probably much louder than any normal tree.

#powerhousecreatives

Haha... a man on a mission who knows his worth!! And happy to proclaim it to the world. The woodpeckers here in Thailand are also amazing when they peck and tap on large, old bamboo - resonates beautifully and clearly they like to sound self-important. Lovely post. :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Cool! That must be lovely to hear the woodpeckers on the bamboo - Not like the drumming on the metal pipe!Thanks for sharing that little bit from Thailand!

Seduction in animal kingdom is so intriguing.

Where abouts do you live @porters? I’m in northeast Ohio and sometimes I think it stays colder longer here than most other places in the mid-west U.S. I love all the seasons and something I’ll say about this transition time in the north is we can find ourselves longing and wanting the seasons to change. However I’ll simply say it is so easy to find beauty in everyday, even if that is snowfall in early May. It will likely be long forgotten by mid-July ;-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I live in the Boreal forest of Saskatchewan! I usually love the fresh snow but it's carrying on a bit to long this spring and I'm itching to get out into the gardens!

I hear ya...been kinda cool down this way too. No snow though. Well, the weather will eventually turn and you’ll be in those gardens in no time. I bet it is absolutely beautiful up in the Boreal Forest. Just typing it makes me want to see it ;-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is very beautiful and I wish I could capture it better and more often in my posts. I'll have to take my camera out with me more often!

Wish you that spring comes soon. Here it is already, but for the weekend we get lower temperatures and maybe snow in the mountains.

Hey @porters

Beautiful image with the sun poking through the trees. Nice work.

Gaz

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71