Adventures in Starting a Raw Juice Bar featuring a Delicious Horchata Recipe!

in #ecotrain7 years ago (edited)

E457C4DB-EBD9-4D0C-98FC-D1E268B05D62.jpeg

B17DEC14-2E3F-4577-B3D6-8EC2707DD5F4.jpeg

In recent years, the rise in public health consciousness has created a demand for many businesses to serve the growing number of health seeking folks.

800DD955-8797-473C-9498-743623D6EEE9.jpeg

Cold pressed juice bars have become popular in many urban areas, offering the highest quality juices made fresh on site to customers seeking vibrant and nourishing fare. Back when we were living in Taos, New Mexico, I was asked by a former coworker if I’d be interested in helping start a raw juice bar.

0C0741EB-45CA-4F05-8E01-D0B0F3C2DDD0.jpeg

I was definitely game.

D1226585-60F9-4992-B687-E93DEF72B7C9.jpeg

From years of experience as a health conscious vegan, I had a solid grasp on creating and crafting foods from plants. I had also worked on a production wheatgrass operation and on farms where I experimented juicing copious quantities of extra produce. When I was asked to build the menu and set up wheatgrass production I was really excited!

9BD0408C-F20B-4812-9461-D5D509A9775C.jpeg

The deal was I had 2 weeks to build a menu from scratch. 2 weeks! This kicked up my creative juices in full force! It was a new start up business called Raw Taos and the owner and manager weren’t very educated about juices and living foods. I took this as a magnificent challenge and started blending mixes immediately to create a dozen unique cold pressed juices from organic fruits and vegetables. I prepped, juiced and blended for hours to hone the flavor profiles and create balanced blends.
In addition to juices, I created 4 mylk (non dairy milk) blends (one of which is the Horchata recipe below!), mate lattes and cold brew coffee.

D75FB79D-A106-4F8E-91CC-5065E43A4D2A.jpeg

It was definitely a whirlwind, but I had a lot of fun and drank a ton of juice. I happily got the wheatgrass operation set up, trained new employees and oversaw the initial phase of workflow as Raw Taos opened it’s doors for business. I certainly learned a lot about crafting and scaling up drink recipes, multitasking and working well on a timeline. It was stressful at times, but I am very happy I said yes to the experience.

As people started coming in, it began to feel real! People were interested in the experience of being at a Raw Juice Bar that juiced fresh every day and the vibrancy their bodies felt from our living products. Wren was the social media guru and marketed it successfully online and with local news. Soon enough, our doors were flooded with people!

80D80DE4-81B8-4683-808D-A330119C2C3A.jpeg

Ultimately, we left Taos and this awesome start-up to venture to the Ozarks to start our homestead (although we definitely loved much about Taos, the elevation, short summers, issues with water rights and lack of affordable accessible land sent us on to the greener pastures of the Midwest!).

84913672-6C76-491C-BBFC-06A5BEF2B74C.jpeg

We keep the memory of this experience treasured in our hearts and bellies as the menu keeps on giving (much of it is contained in my book on sprouting, which you can get here.)

Here’s one of the recipes that was a major hit:

0C93B4EE-EF39-44AA-8F3D-5ED1EF67B68E.jpeg

Horchata:

A traditional refreshing beverage from Mexico traditionally made with tiger nuts and honey, but currently made with cow’s milk, white sugar, white rice seasoned with cinnamon and vanilla. Served cold and garnished with cinnamon, horchata is light and satisfying.

Ingredients:

· 4 C / 1 L water
· ½ C / 125 ml raw almonds
· 2-4 Tbsp / 30-60 ml honey, agave or maple syrup (to taste)
· 1 tsp / 5 ml vanilla extract or ½ vanilla bean (use insides only)
· ½ tsp / 2.5 ml true cinnamon powder (aka saigon cinnamon)

Process:

Step 1: Soak

Soak almonds eight to twelve hours.

Step 2: Drain

Thoroughly wash soaked almond. Remove skins if desired.

Step 3: Blend

Add almonds and ½ C - 125 ml water and blend, slowly adding water.

Step 4: Strain

Place in bag or cheesecloth and squeeze as much of the liquid out as possible. Use pulp for cookies, crackers or breads.

Step 5: Season

Add remaining ingredients and sweeten to taste. Serve chilled with a sprinkling of cinnamon to garnish.

Thanks for reading! This post is a part of the ecotrain! Check it out for more consciousness raising posts!

Sort:  

This post is like a breath of fresh juice!

nice first ecotrain post

Wow very impressive little business . It is something that me and my partner have wanted to do in our truck, to be a nomadic juice bar. The dream is still there. But alas our truck needs work and we have a 8 month old baby girl. All is well but hopefully our time will come. Thanks for sharing.

Wow, nomadic juice bar. Good luck with the dream.

I love a good fresh juice! But have gravitated more towards the green smoothies. From what I have read, keeping the fiber in lessens your insulin spike - and we all know the other benefit of fiber in your diet ;) What are your thoughts on the increased insulin spike from juices?

I totally agree with the “eating” of juice approach and appreciate this feed back. The juice heavy diet is not one I’m currently into. We also made some blends with almond milk which might slow the sugar intake.

Great post! I had aspirations of starting a juice company. I was going to call it Juicy Tree. I noticed in your horchata recipe that the picture shows celyon cinnamon but your written recipe says saigon.

Saigon cinnamon, or cinnamomum loureirii (Veitnamese)

or

Cinnamon, or Cinnamomum ceylon (true)?

Which one do you recommend for your horchata recipe?

Good spot, you’re on it! This picture was taken slightly out of context. I always prefer true cinnamon, and would recommend for horchata.

I love horchatas! This looks so good, what a nice twist with pumpkin and spices! Thanks for the heads up on #ecotrain, looks like a quality channel :)

Mmm me too! Yeah #ecotrain is definitely a good one ;)

That looks like the best Horchata recipe I've ever seen!

:) awesome! It’s definitely a good one. If you try it, let me know if you like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60915.02
ETH 2636.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64