You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Could Mindfulness Be The Key To Changing The World?

in #ecotrain6 years ago

How great! I LOVE Eddie Vedder, his voice is something else. I lived in Kinshicho first and later was lucky enough to share a place with some others in Harajuku. It was the best place ever. We had this huge roof terrace where we would sit and enjoy the sun, even in January! And it was dirt cheap compared to other places. I dream of going back one day and show my children the city and see a bit more of the country. While I was there I had many plans, but only made it to Kyoto and Fuji (went snowboarding there!). One day we will....Can you read Hiragana, Katakana and Kanji? I've always been fascinated by the language and their writing. My son is now learning it and he is flying through it! I'm a bit slower lol.

Sort:  

Ah Harajuku I loved that one street with the flea markets and shops with the most bizarre stuff in! That was down the road from where I lived! Did you ever go to Yoyogi park on a Sunday and see the different bands? I'm not sure if they even do it now?
Unfortunately I didn't learn much Japanese other than spoken as my parents wanted me to continue learning French. I did start to pick up the characters from riding the Subway though I can still remember the symbols for Roppongi and Aoyama haha! I'll message you on Discord so we can have a lovely chat about Japan. So much to talk about. :-)

Takeshita street? I loved everything about Harajuku. I was so blessed to be there. It was like a completely different world compared to the rest of the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. I'm not sure if they still do this now at Yoyogi park, but they did when I was there (1996/97). Our apartment building was on the far end of Takeshita street and our roof overlooked the park! It was heaven (and we had some parties there lol). Ahhh, Roppongi, there's a funny story with that. We got hopelessly lost on the subway trying to get there for New Years eve. We missed the countdown and were on the train then. I was very disappointed when we eventually made it there...WOW the people. And I was shocked to see tanks there to keep the peace. But somehow Tokyo always felt very safe, even without the tanks...lol. Yes, please do message me, I love to talk about my travels... Japan is one of those places one can never forget!

Ah Harajuku I loved that one street with the flea markets and shops with the most bizarre stuff in! That was down the road from where I lived! Did you ever go to Yoyogi park on a Sunday and see the different bands? I'm not sure if they even do it now?
Unfortunately I didn't learn much Japanese other than spoken as my parents wanted me to continue learning French. I did start to pick up the characters from riding the Subway though I can still remember the symbols for Roppongi and Aoyama haha! I'll message you on Discord so we can have a lovely chat about Japan. So much to talk about. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61170.16
ETH 2717.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41