Could Mindfulness Be The Key To Changing The World?

in #ecotrain6 years ago

The @Ecotrain #QOTW "Name one small change you have made or could make to your life that would be of great benefit to the world if everyone did the same?".


I was 13 years old when Severn Cullis-Suzuki addressed the UN with her prolific speech.

The one that implored the leaders of the world to stop destroying the environment. That speech has haunted me for years. Here was this 12 year old girl, a member of my generation. Standing in front of people who could have made a difference. How I admired her for having the gumption to stand up there and call the grown ups out on their utter disrespect for the environment. Here it is for anyone who hasn't heard it or wants to see it again:

We live in a time where we are on the cusp of evolution.

I have friends who are activists for change. They stand up at rallies and fight for any cause in the highest good. I really admire those people. For a long time I wanted to join in and be part of the collective and would berate myself for not taking part. However my innate fear of being thrown in prison or getting in trouble prohibited me. My children were and are my first priority.

Humans on the whole are slowly seeing that things need to change. We see that we can no longer go on destroying the planet, destroying our co-inhabitants and destroying ourselves.
We tamper and mess with the natural balance of this world in order to establish some kind of dominance over it.
But that collective 'we' is slowly become a smaller and smaller group of individuals. The majority can see that this isn't the way forward. We know it's wrong. We know it shouldn't happen. But for many of us the system has us trapped in this proverbial prison with distractions. Consumerism, T.V, encourages narcissism and lack of love for one another. They keep us imprisoned within imaginary lines between the land, they call borders. For our protection and the good of the people. They encourage negativity and division among us.
But most of the people didn't chose to live under these rules and regulations. They were born into the system. We can see that the only benefit they have is for those that are in control of everything.

What was my catalyst for change?

I had just turned 30. At work one day the manager put on some background music. It was the soundtrack to Into The Wild. I recognized Eddie Vedder's voice and something ignited the dampened fire within me. I was suddenly transported back to that stage of my early teens. Remembering the school I attended in Tokyo. How we used recycled paper to write our essays, the aluminium can and milk carton recycling initiatives and how grass roots the school actually was on the topic of environmental and humanitarian causes. Can you name any school that did that back in the early 90's?

So what could I do? How do you change a system that is broken, whilst still maintaining a presence in that system?How to you fix all the damage that humans have done to the environment since the dawn of history? Do you shy away and live in a cave? Run to the woods and live with the animals, forget about humanity and only look out for number 1?

Image Credit

Well if we all did this then yes, the world may be a little more peaceful, but it wouldn't really solve anything. We are communal beings by nature. We enjoy having others around us. We enjoy being part of something that holds meaning and value to our lives, whatever that may be. We need to have each other because we are all connected.

So what does this have to do with changing anything?

There are a number of little things that we can do. Things that are all separate and each have their own equally great impact on making the world a better place. From reducing plastic, becoming vegan to growing organic food or even standing up for human and animal rights. I write many on many topics that can help make this world a better place. Things that I am already doing and things that some of my friends are doing.

Yet these things come from one fundamental underlying action:

Mindfulness

If there’s one small change you can make in your life, change your mind. Open your heart.

Mindfulness is a skill that has perhaps been lost by a number of people. We are taught to look out for number 1, it’s a dog eat dog world etc. Mindfulness is a technique that when we start to unlock it and understand it, is when the magic begins.

Image Credit

What being mindful means;

Being present, being aware of others and being aware of our surroundings. Simply understanding that we are all connected. If I love you, you love me. I I hurt you, you hurt me and so on and so forth. When we realize that everything we say and do has an effect on us a collective, why would we want to continue to inflict pain and suffering. We would want to put an end to war, to poverty,to the mass slaughter of innocent animals for food that ends up wasted, to realize we can live without borders. We could embrace other cultures, rather than fear them.
It doesn’t take much to think before we act or speak. In making this a priority, we are then taking the time to act with love and compassion.
When we face challenging situations, it is important to show empathy. Once we start to think about others, we become less ego driven and more peaceful.

By being mindful we can change the world.

If we can collectively evolve in this way it could greatly shift the way things are handled.
When we realize we are all connected, and that everything we do affects everything else, we can then achieve a global collective freedom on the highest level. By becoming mindful we can change the little things in our own lives that may affect others negatively. Pushing forward a more positive mindset.

In my view, being Mindful is what the term ‘Waking Up’ means. It really is a small change, from within us and one that I firmly believe can be done on a global scale. One that when executed correctly, has a significant potential to change the world.

Wherever you are in the world, no matter how awful things appear to be, there IS always a solution... You just need open your EYES and mind to the possibilities of the beauty and accept that the negativity exists in order for us to learn and grow into the conscious beings we were designed to be.

ONE LOVE

HolisticMoM.jpg

All images are my own unless otherwise stated under the photo
ecotrain1.png
I'm proud to be a member of the @ecotrain community. Come check out the amazing content from other #ecotrain passengers. A group of diverse human beings, sharing a collective vision to help make this world a better place.
ecotrain2.png


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

Well said and here's a picture that I took awhile back when people are rallying for the highest good of things. The Stadium was packed and it could not fit anymore, but these people were hungry for justice.

486750_10151625263551221_572733043_n.jpg

that's a great photo, and speaks more than a 1000 words.

It does... I can remember the streets were filled with people just trying to get to the stadium, waving flags, shouting chants.

You are so right! We can't keep living the way we've been living and only looking out for number 1. We have to look around us and be the change we want to see. I loved when you wrote how Eddie Vedder ignited your fire a bit, that's awesome. But I absolutely agree, if we all are a bit more mindful about the things we do, say etc. then it would be a HUGE change in the world. I had no idea you went to school in Tokyo? I lived in Tokyo for a few months, teaching English and a few other jobs. I have now started learning Japanese with my 8 year old, because I didn't learn enough when I was there but always loved the language. Very well written, thank you for this :)

Haha yes I'm a self confessed Eddie Vedder fan. Have been since I was 12yrs old lol!

Yes Tokyo was an amazing place to grow up and the school I went to was really forward thinking for the era. Where in Tokyo did you live? I lived in Minato-Ku and then Yoyogi-Uehara.
Arigato-gosaimas! <3

How great! I LOVE Eddie Vedder, his voice is something else. I lived in Kinshicho first and later was lucky enough to share a place with some others in Harajuku. It was the best place ever. We had this huge roof terrace where we would sit and enjoy the sun, even in January! And it was dirt cheap compared to other places. I dream of going back one day and show my children the city and see a bit more of the country. While I was there I had many plans, but only made it to Kyoto and Fuji (went snowboarding there!). One day we will....Can you read Hiragana, Katakana and Kanji? I've always been fascinated by the language and their writing. My son is now learning it and he is flying through it! I'm a bit slower lol.

Ah Harajuku I loved that one street with the flea markets and shops with the most bizarre stuff in! That was down the road from where I lived! Did you ever go to Yoyogi park on a Sunday and see the different bands? I'm not sure if they even do it now?
Unfortunately I didn't learn much Japanese other than spoken as my parents wanted me to continue learning French. I did start to pick up the characters from riding the Subway though I can still remember the symbols for Roppongi and Aoyama haha! I'll message you on Discord so we can have a lovely chat about Japan. So much to talk about. :-)

Takeshita street? I loved everything about Harajuku. I was so blessed to be there. It was like a completely different world compared to the rest of the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. I'm not sure if they still do this now at Yoyogi park, but they did when I was there (1996/97). Our apartment building was on the far end of Takeshita street and our roof overlooked the park! It was heaven (and we had some parties there lol). Ahhh, Roppongi, there's a funny story with that. We got hopelessly lost on the subway trying to get there for New Years eve. We missed the countdown and were on the train then. I was very disappointed when we eventually made it there...WOW the people. And I was shocked to see tanks there to keep the peace. But somehow Tokyo always felt very safe, even without the tanks...lol. Yes, please do message me, I love to talk about my travels... Japan is one of those places one can never forget!

Ah Harajuku I loved that one street with the flea markets and shops with the most bizarre stuff in! That was down the road from where I lived! Did you ever go to Yoyogi park on a Sunday and see the different bands? I'm not sure if they even do it now?
Unfortunately I didn't learn much Japanese other than spoken as my parents wanted me to continue learning French. I did start to pick up the characters from riding the Subway though I can still remember the symbols for Roppongi and Aoyama haha! I'll message you on Discord so we can have a lovely chat about Japan. So much to talk about. :-)

mmmm, beautiful answer! and probably the simplest thing we can do.. and wow if we were all actually mindful of what we were doing I think people would act very differently and make vastly different choices!

Thank you! Sometimes it's the simplest things that can have the biggest impact. :-)

this is a fantastic answer to the ecotrain question @holisticmom, we really would benefit so much from being more mindful and more aware of the fact that we are all connected, this is what we should all be striving towards xx

Thank you and yes yes yes! I know you feel the same way and I'm glad that more people are starting to also. <3

Lovely. Being mindful is being where you are, Connecting with your inner self and connecting to humanity. I believe this will make a great changes to the world if we all strive to be all in one.

Thank you. I'm glad that you also feel the same way. <3

I'd love to think small changes can make a difference...perhaps over hundreds of years...but...if one is truly "mindful" they will need to accept you can't put the genie back in the bottle...the forces have too much momentum...too much power...they are self feeding...

As I look ahead I see one of two things...either a world split into two realities...communities of "humanistic" principled individuals that attempt to practice what you preach...trying to live in their carved out sphere...vs those operating as human "roboids"....totally capsulized by the insane pace the world is setting...trying to do more and more to keep the machine moving forward....

Or I see a world beset by a tremendous calamity...one of those multi generational events that is triggered by whatever force rules the universe to force us back to our human soul....

Every system has a breaking point...

This is spot on, being mindful (or conscious) and everything else will follow

Great take on the question this week. Love how you go down to the basics. Being mindful is pretty much the first step. We must be mindful to understand the impact our actions have on others.

Thank you @thelaundrylady. It is a simple solution but definitely the first step in the right direction. :-)

Wow this is super good @holisticmom. I love how you tie everything will mindfulness. It is something quite lacking these days, to be aware of ourselves, others and our surroundings, that's a very easy way to read about mindfulness.

Thank you for your kind words, I'm glad you enjoyed the post. :-)

Well said. Sadly, many people lack mindfulness. Maybe that would be a concept that should be taught in schools. I will check out the ecotrain right now, it sounds like a great thing.

Yes but I think it's only because we aren't taught it. I agree wholeheartedly that if children learned the value of mindfulness at a young age both at home and if they went to school then the possibility for change within the next few generations is there.

They have just started teaching Mindfulness in some Victorian primary schools! I wish they had taught it back in my day 🙂 For now I will just keep trying to learn it with coffee and chocolate!
https://steemit.com/mindfulness/@jojijoji/monday-morning-mindfulness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49