Ecotrain Question of the week: "How Do You Get Out And Stay Out Of An Emotional Hole?"

in #ecotrain5 years ago

Yes, I know...I know, I'm a bit late again posting this. I thought the deadline was Thursday, and then to my horror, I realized it was Wednesday. However, I really wanted to write about this subject, so I am just going to right now.
We all have these times, where nothing seems to flow, or go, or go our way. But these things don't have to cause us to get into an emotional hole by all means. But since I recently experienced being in one, it's easy for me to recall how this was, and how I got out of it. Planning to stay out this time...

image.png
source

How I get out and stay out of an emotional hole

A little back-story: We live very isolated. Our only friends have either moved far away or are far away already. This goes for the kids as much as me. The place where we live has some nice people, for sure, but it's also very hard to meet people who are on the same level as we are. We're homeschoolers, which isolates us even more because here, children go to school. Period.
Aside from a little small-talk on the side of the football pitch at my kids' training, or an occasional chat in my favourite shop in the nearest bigger town, there's really not that much that gets me excited. There are a few homeschoolers in the area, but they all have busy lives, so other than a meetup every other month or, if I'm lucky, once a month, there is nothing else.
That, and the long, gray winter months, got to me and before I knew it, I landed in this emotional hole in which nothing seemed right, with sometimes no emotions at all, and sometimes too much, and with no way to get out any time soon. That is: until I did.

Keeping busy

Instead of wallowing and feeling sorry for myself, I had to remember that it's not only an issue I am dealing with. It also affects the kids. A lot less, because they manage in their own way, and they have each other to play with. My eldest has her boyfriend and that relationship has been going strong for almost 2 years now. So she manages as well. But there is a difference between 'managing' and actually feeling good isn't it? So all this added to my feelings of 'blah'. Am I doing the right thing? Should the kids go to school (DUH, of course not!), should we move to another place within Ireland until we're ready to go? No, not really. It might solve the issue for a little while, or not at all. I even found myself relying on my nearly grown up daughter and her boyfriend whenever he is here (well, he practically lives here) a bit too much. Not to do anything, but merely for company other than the little ones. At the moment, they're the only ones I can have a reasonably adult conversation with, and when they're not here I feel that hole pulling more and more. But I can't rely on them too much, they are starting their lives away from the nest soon enough and I need to let go a bit more. I guess that feeling of the first one to leave the nest not long from now, adds to my misery as well. Although I know she'll be just fine finding her own way. Just not...yet.

image.png
source

So I decided to keep busy. I'm always busy, sure. I'm either on Steem, or doing some other (freelance) work, and recently I'm also jobhunting. But all these things are things I do year round, and it's not changing a bit about my feelings.
No, I decided to do things to keep us all busy. Instead of sitting around and waiting for a change, we're making the change.
We have a dog house that needs to be sold because we're not using it, and it could do with some paint.
So we went out to get paint, cleaned the thing and it's now ready to be painted by us all.
Then I got this crazy idea to paint this large wooden trunk I have in the shed.
It's from WWII and was used by the Germans to transport replacement parts for machinery. It still has the paper with all the different parts stuck on the inside of the lid. Somehow this trunk got into the hands of a Russian friend of a friend, and when he left it at her house and disappeared, she gave it to me when she had to move house. I always kept it in its original (ugly green) state, but then I decided to paint it and turn it into a toy chest for the kids. It is white now.
But this week, we're going to get coloured paint and we're going to paint it however we want. I'm looking forward to see how this will turn out!

Green fingers...or brown

There's stuff to plant. I don't want to plant too much, because last year we lost a lot due to the heat and our absence.
But still, there are some left-over seeds to sow, plants to re-pot and others to tame. It's the best therapy!

Meditation

It's funny to see, that while I bury myself deeper into my hole, I meditate less and less. In the end, it seemed like I forgot I even used to. So I have slowly started again. First under the shower (my favourite short meditation) and now I even find myself meditating in the kitchen while cooking dinner (yes, I talk to our food lol).

My message board

I forget things. It's incredible. I can think of all these important things to do today, and tomorrow? I remember nothing, or not even close to all. Then in the evening, I think 'crap! I forgot to get this, or do that.'
I'm not good with diaries. I lose them. Or forget to write in them. Or whatever crazy. Been like that since school and it will probably never change. I use my phone for notes when I'm out of the house. But in the house...nothing.
So I decided to get myself a message board to write things on that I shouldn't forget. It works like a charm and it keeps me busy, while at the same time it also keeps me from being upset because I forgot something.

The great outdoors

image.png
source

And the best of all: now that the weather has been better, there's nothing stopping us from going out and into nature.
It can be us painting a wooden trunk outside the house or planting our plants, walks around the area or the mountains, or the beach or lake. It doesn't matter, but after a few hours of outdoor activity, anyone feels better.

My promise

Yes, I've been in those emotional holes before the last one. And before that. It happens sometimes. And every time, I promise myself not to let myself get swept into one like the last time. And each one is different. So in that way, I keep my promise.
Sometimes I think that these emotional holes are actually useful to me. They make me confront myself with myself and reach deep to see what it is that I want and where I need to go or what I need to do to achieve this.
In fact, I don't think these holes are a bad thing at all. At least for me. Because in the end, I always come out of it better and stronger.

Thank you for reading!



steemitrevolutionmisslasvegas.gif

steemitrevolution.gif

Sort:  

if i could have written a post on this topic - it would have been very similar!!! i know there are people who CAN'T turn on that mindset. and my heart breaks for them. they are a small minority and something is just off in their brain chemisty - or biology..

but for the majority - people CAN do exactly what you said. refocus their vision!
change the perspective.
choose joy and CHOOSE to act in joy!

its not fun at first - but it does grow with time and it really does work

and i always love to serve others. takes the focus off of me and puts it on them :)

great post lady!

Yes, serving others is also a great help and so rewarding it makes people feel better about other things usually. Thank you! @dreemsteem

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You hit the jackpot with that last sentence .. They are probably useful to you.. I feel it's the same for me.. because it happens again every time, but every time I seem to be more aware (or in different ways) that it's happening again, and find new ways to get through it. Not always with success, because it simple isn't going to change my mood when I'm having extreme back pains for months in a row.. so those months will never get me back on my feet completely regarding my emotions. But it really helps for me to just take it one day at the time. Another day tomorrow.. and accept that it is what it is.. I know that part isn't going to change as long as I live in a country with cold winters..

I think going outside doing all kinds of things, like you mentioned, will help for sure. I really feel recharged when we go to the island, just enjoy some walks or play with the little one there when it's a sunny day. I actually hope we can do that too in the weekend, as the weather is bad.. constantly raining.. So I hope there is at least one day this weekend we can enjoy being outside..

And I can imagine that it must feel weird when the first one is leaving the nest.. <3

Hi, @misslasvegas!

You just got a 0.26% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

thank you for sharing! Lovely post... i can just see you all there painting this chest nicely... i love your tone and attitude, and the ending when you say:

"Sometimes I think that these emotional holes are actually useful to me. They make me confront myself with myself and reach deep to see what it is that I want and where I need to go or what I need to do to achieve this."

RIGHT on!!!

Much better late than never! adding it now to the tie up <3

Distraction is a great ((albeit very temporary) strategy to help us to feel "better". Your German trunk with the original paper? I would have sold it to a collector and used the money to fund my flight to SF4... LOL.... that war paraphernalia is worth a packet if it's original!! Mostly I liked that during your busy spurts there is a deep part of you that KNOWS the emotional hole will disappear, and the feelings that are deep in that hole with you will too. A lovely contribution to the challenge.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Well, the paint on it wasn't great, so I already stripped that years ago. So it hasn't been original for a while. On the other hand, maybe I could paint it in the original colour and call it 'restored'. The paper is still in it, since it's stuck and I didn't really want to remove it.

Thank you!!

Hi @misslasvegas!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.784 which ranks you at #1416 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1414).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 171 contributions, your post is ranked at #53.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44