Climbing out of that emotional hole. Initial thoughts on depression.

in #ecotrain5 years ago (edited)

At some point, we can all get depressed and anxious. Many of us have experienced that emotional hole which can be so hard to pull yourself out from. Yet, if you don't find your way out, it can lead to chronic depression and anxiety which can leave you feeling crippled and once at this point it's hard to see any way out.

20190420_120817.jpg

It's okay to get emotional. We all have times when we need to withdraw and open ourselves to our emotions. Feel them, acknowledge them and acknowledge what has triggered them, if you can. When we can find the cause of the sadness, we can more easily find a way to work through it, so knowing the cause is helpful. Sometimes we don't know why were feeling low and that's okay, but it makes it harder to get ourselves back on an upward path.

While it's good to allow ourselves to express our emotions, there's a point when we need to bring ourselves back or risk those emotions to swallow us whole. The long we allow our sadness to keep a hold on us, the harder it is to get ourselves on an even keel again.

Our mind can be a traitor to us. When depression hits, it tells us to isolate ourselves, shut ourselves in our room and curl into a ball, yet while that alone time can be good initially for a short period, it won’t do us any good in the long run. One of the first things I do, when I know I'm falling into that emotional hole is to get outside and do something active. I realise that a lot of people with depression will immediately say, “It doesn't work! Will everyone stop telling me to get outside and get active!”

I know, I've been there, but that's what your traitorous mind is telling you and if you have chronic depression, it's not going to suddenly fix things. That takes time. Think of this, though; when you're in your home, in your room, with little ventilation, the CO2 levels are much higher than outside. At around 1000ppm (parts per million), it has been found to affect your cognitive abilities, your thought processes. 1000ppm is not uncommon in buildings which are designed to keep the extremes of the climate outside. So even if you can’t face the outside just yet, try cracking a window open. Another wonderful thing about getting outside is that sunlight helps the production of vitamins and the hormones which give us happier feelings and being active helps activate those hormones too.

IMG_20190520_223648.jpg

When my daughters were young and my eldest in primary school, walking them to school each day, whatever the weather, kept me sane, even though it was only a short walk. When the school holidays came and the weather wasn't appealing to be out in, it only took three days of being cooped up in the house for depression to creep up on me. Once I realised what was happening, I'd bundle us up, get the rain cover on the pushchair and walk into town with my girls.

It helped me to understand that emotions are caused by hormones and hormone changes. This is because it gave me a reason for my tension and depression when there seemed to be no reason. Also, hormones can be affected by your diet and environment, so it gives me something positive that I feel I can do about it.

Other things that help me, if I'm stressing about something that is out of my control, is to ask myself if there is something I can do about it. If the answer is no, then I have to acknowledge that and let it go.

Everybody is different and may need to find different ways to pull themselves out of that emotional hole, but the earlier you realise that's where you're heading, the easier it will be too halt the downward spiral. You know yourself best and are the best person to develop those methods that will best serve you in these times.

~○♤○~

I have been wanting to start a series of articles on coping with depression and helping others through it. This week's @ecotrain Question of the Week asks about getting out of an emotional hole, so it seemed a good place to start on it as my response to this question.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Exercise does work. It has always worked for me. Though I don't see the point in running or weight lifting, every time I pound a tire I feel so full of joy, good energy, pride of accomplishment, and the feeling that I want to embrace the whole world. You know, the type of full, deep, passionate belly laugh: Whar-har-har-har with a big smile.

Have you ever read The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

?

It's a beautiful book about a guy that walk six hundred miles from Kingsbridge to Berwick-upon-Tweed because, he believes, as long as he walks to personally deliver this letter, his friend won't die.

I can't recall who said it but there is this lovely quote from maybe a poet or an artist or an Adventurer who said there is no trouble in the world you can't use a long walk to sort out. Sorry, nothing like a quote that isn't actually a quote. But I'm sure you'll see what I mean xx

Posted using Partiko Android

When life really throws me under the train I go for a long walk, then another. I can't not.

It's incredibly therapeutic. About a year after we arrived in SA, I must have gotten a bit homesick. Everything just hit me, the girls were busy in school, Shaun busy at work, the house was spotless from me trying to keep busy and distracted. So I started going for walks.

Posted using Partiko Android

haha! I love the quote that isn't a quote! I wonder if that's why we have so many quotes that are actually misquotes. It gets the idea across effectively anyway.

I haven't even heard of that story. I'm curious as to whether his friend lived now. The right belief is an incredible motivator.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I appreciated your response @minismallholding, such a calm and level approach. It is such a fine balance sometimes but getting outside and getting active is my lifeline - it works for me as well. I didn't even think about the CO2 levels - makes so much sense.

I only recently came across that information about CO2 and it made so much sense. Sometimes we need a none emotional reason to pull us in the right direction out of any emotional situation. Something like that will sit in the back of your mind and keeping adequate ventilation in a house or car can only be a good thing.

I don't think we evolved to be spending most of our lives in buildings. It wouldn't surprise me if it's a contributor to the high levels of depression and anxiety we have today.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sunlight and oxygen for more balanced hormones - LOVED this simple beginning point for climbing out of a deep hole of depression. You are soooo right!! It MATTERS to open the window, get outside, feel the air and enjoy the sunshine.

A wonderful contribution to our #ecotrain QOTW. Thank you.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Thank you, Artemis. I think when you're in a deep hole, then the simplest steps might be the only ones you can manage. Sorting through dealing with and managing the things which brought you to that point is a much longer journey and unique to each individual. For this reason, I found this a hard question to approach.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @minismallholding! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5500 replies. Your next target is to reach 5750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

i totally agree.. and the harder the exercise the better you feel.. those endorphins are powerful if you can get them going.. in fact i just came back from a good walk because i was just feeling like crap after a nap.. now im 50% improved!

You’ve been visited by @vibesforlife on behalf of Natural Medicine!

Love the way you explained, how a walk can help and not just that how our diet and environment impacts, the role of hormones and our Mind.

We are also holding a raffle - if you'd like to win some beautiful art by @FrejaFricheck out this post. We are also behind a fundraising charity drive hosted by @freedomtribe to raise money for Venuezualan children. Please click here to enter!

50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP ♡♡♡

Discord

Excersize. My mother went through hell all her life, and when I was in crazy depression I asked her finally how she does it. She is abnormal like some invincible lady. She said to me for like the 50,000th nagging time in her snarky voice. VITAMIN B COMPLEX!!. I couldn't stand what I hearing. 20 years+ of this endless fkng nagging vitamin B complex. But I was down. And I thought, F if thats what makes her invincible lady I just have to try it man wow. So I began. I have no idea how I got out of that funk but it was just as if it dissappeared somewhere along that time and I didn't really realize even why or what happened. I would recommend anyone depressed give it a try. I will definitely be all over the B complex if I ever get down in the dumps again. She says it's a masterpiece for stress.

Praying regularly also helps.

thx 4 the upvote!

AlphaOmegaEnergy (aoecoin) the World's #1 Breakthrough CleanEnergy Startup is going on the Blockchain this year with 2,922 new techs, for our Seedround paying 3X fixed Return minimum to our investors. Pre-sales is open now. Make a Big Return helping us CHARGE IT ALL! And Change The World!!

Can visit our steemit and check us out!
https://steemit.com/@aoecoin

We changed The World.png

Thats the first I've heard of vitamin B complex for depression. Thanks for sharing. I'll try to remember so you don't need to nag me. 😆

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62852.17
ETH 2463.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64