EcoTrain Question of the Week - “What one thing do you think individual people can do to make a positive impact on humanity?”

in #ecotrain7 years ago

There are many different answers to this question depending on who you ask, but many of them will probably include some form of empathy. “Put yourself in someone else’s shoes”, “treat others as you would like to be treated”, “love your neighbor as yourself”, etc. Even many religions follow this basic principle.

But I’m going to go against the norm and say “Focus first on yourself.” Before you judge, hear me out.

When I wrote my introduction post began this blog, I was very clear about my goals. I wanted to better the world without taking on the responsibility of humanity. Sometimes I forget we don’t have to be the next Ellen Degeneres or Oprah Winfrey to inspire others and make a difference. All we can do is be ourselves and try out best.

That’s why I follow the principle of focusing on what I can do. Because…

“While I can certainly make an impact, I cannot shoulder the weight of the world. I cannot and I will not take that responsibility. I can only change and improve myself… and my world.

So instead of judging my neighbors or getting discouraged by the negative direction of humanity in general (again, I’m a pessimistic individual), I am going to focus purely on myself. I am going to pinpoint my faults before finding the faults in others. I am going to cultivate better habits before looking down on the actions of others. I am going to eliminate my own negatives before complaining about the negatives caused by others. At least, I’m going to try my best.

Because I believe the best way to find empathy for another human being is to first understand that you’re not perfect either.

If everyone took this principle to heart, I truly believe the world would be a better place. Whether or not you do is up to you. Whether or not I do is up to me… and I choose to do so. For my sake and for yours.


Fundraiser Update
T-shirts sold: 0
5 days to go!


Photography from Pexels and used under the CC0 license.

Join the SteemitHomesteaders.Slack community today!

Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Follow @kiaraantonoviche

Sort:  

You are so right. The only thing in this world that we actually control is our own actions and, in fact, is the only thing we have a right to control. As long as we understand that we are merely a part of something much bigger than ourselves, we will evolve in a positive way and make the world a better place for every living being. Following you now.

Yes !!! right on ;-) all the answers do come from inside.. and indeed.. the best thing we can do for the world is change our perception of it! wow..

Than you for a great post!
I think that the first thing we should do as humans is to clear ourselves from all the Ideas, once we have all Ideology aside we could think logically how we can work together to solve problems. But... we both know that's impossible for most of the people to put ideology aside. What your opinion on that?
In my last post I speak about change levels.
@paps

This makes complete sense to me. There's that saying that charity begins at home; because how can you help others if you don't look after yourself first. I think the biggest influencers are those who lead by example. It doesn't always work, but it's still best to be the example you want to see I others.

It is so true that if everyone were to

“Focus first on yourself.”

then we would all feel happier and more at peace to give to others. It's when we feel stressed, not valued etc that we pass this on, often not meaning to, but taking a few moments out to connect to us and feeling peace does make a big difference.
Thanks for your post and thoughts on this question. :)

Very important question, and a great topic..
Thanks for sharing I enjoyed it a lot.
Keep up sharing things like that :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86