Alternative Consumer Challenge

in #ecotrain5 years ago (edited)

sanluis.jpg
https://all-are-welcome.weebly.com/

I have tried to live off the grid on the grid as we continue to live in Denver, CO, until we can move out to my property in the San Luis Valley...

I make a tincture from cannabis ROOT to protect myself from emf's and general pollution of living here - chemtrails, as well as taking Nacient Iodine to get rid of heavy metals.

I have to admit, I am not shopping at the zero waste store because it is SOOO f**king expensive, but I have been saving all my plastic packaging which I intend to cut up and iron together and make art out of. I try to limit my purchase of items with plastic packaging although it does seem like EVERYONE has thrown that to the wind and doesn't care about it anymore.

I have vowed to not buy any NEW clothes - only buy clothes from thrift stores. Of course I don't wear make up or dye my hair anymore...and once I get my new-used car, I will return to recycling which I do religiously, although Denver is notorious for not recycling and for not caring about it either.

I also do not buy any product that is advertised to me. Anything advertised on TV or on the Internet I do not buy on purpose.

I go on eye-vacations instead of impulse buying and I think about something for 24 hours before buying it unless I am at a yard sale or a thrift store sale day.

I use almost 100% recycled materials for my artwork - wood that I find in alley's mostly... pen, ink, paper is new but I vow to figure out a way to use cardboard as a substrate - and that is a big goal of mine is to figure out how to do that in such a way as that it works...

If there is something I have to do that I cannot avoid - buy something with packaging or whatever- throw out something instead of recycling, eat GMO food, etc. it - I pray over it.
I use

I Love You. I Am Sorry. Please Forgive Me, Thank You, with this Sigil:

IMG_5477.final.jpg

Here's a Post I wrote about that
https://steemit.com/tribevibes/@in2itiveart/sigil-of-ho-oponopono-i-love-you-i-am-sorry-please-forgive-me-thank-you

Or sometimes I will do this 4-Point Coning - over situations that involve Nature - to Invite Nature Spirits to come in and help me with things that are beyond me - for example - with feral cats with kittens living under the house, or needing to "get rid of pests", or regarding chemtrails or 5G - things which I am totally powerless over as one single person...

Here is a post I wrote about this - with links to free e-books on how to do it
https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@in2itiveart/tomorrow-i-will-open-a-4-point-coning-with-the-sylphs-and-others-about-5g

I make Sigils, as well, about everything - from finding lost items to finding solutions to any problem I have...which makes me a more careful Alternative Consumer because I just don't "run out and buy something" to solve my "problem". I try to find a natural remedy or make something or attract something for free first, and I make Sigils for other people as well - which I think helps them to not buy solutions and look for alternative methods...

Here's a post I did about that - https://steemit.com/tarottuesday/@in2itiveart/how-i-saved-usd500-on-a-vet-bill-using-a-sigil when my dog had a fox tail embedded in her neck, I made this Sigil for her:

vetbilldog.jpeg
the foxtail in Cleo's neck comes out quickly and easily

And it did. I did not have to take her to the vet and spend $500 - all I had to do was make that sigil, then I got an intuitive thought about how to get it out with a tweezer, borrowed the tweezer from my boyfriend and pulled it out of her neck.

I also fed my dog raw chicken which I get in frozen 40 lb blocks from the meat distributer. This is an amazing way to take care of my dog... because it is so healthy for her and so cheap - $18 a box - lasts about 3 months - and she never needed the vet. I also give her CBD oil for her lumps...

My dog passed away in March of old-age, most likely. But if I have another dog, I will do the same thing. I don't buy in to Western Med and Doctors and all that bullshit....

I use the crystal rock deoderant, baking soda for toothpaste, a water-pik flosser instead of getting my teeth cleaned at the dentist... what else?

I wish I could find a sustainable solution for toilet paper that is not an arm and a leg expensive... maybe someone will share that, but I saw a video of people in India who use their hands and JUST WASH THERE HANDS after... which I find fascinating.

I think that's all for me tonight.

Sort:  

wow, you REALLY walk your talk.. it sounds like you really make so much effort.. and i know how good it feels to find better solutions the many ways we waste our resources! THanks for taking part and sharing so much!

Wow THANK YOU @eco-alex! That is a great boost coming from you - I do my best... and I suffer from an acute sense of "right and wrong" that I can never live up to, so it's nice to hear from someone else that sees so many posts - objectively. Whew... and you are right - it feels good EVERY time I find a solution that is alternative- and there always is one - there is ALWAYS a 3rd way - I like to say - there's man's solution which sucks and there's the my limited solution - and then there always is NATURE'S solution...

Yay you for stepping up for the challenge so quickly! Here is Thailand we have what's called a "bidet spray" or a "butt hose" instead of toilet paper. So clever and clean and makes you feel dirty when you THINK about how gross toilet paper actually is. Think a small, high pressure shower type hose attached beside the toilet - spray everything clean and walk away. No paper, no hands. If you MUST dry off (we mostly don't cos it's always hot) use a small towel or paper for weird foreigners who can't cope. LOL. You can buy them online and sooo cheap to use.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

I will try to include this in our bathroom on our property but while living in an apartment - ?

I like how you purposely don't buy things that have been advertised to you. Take that, consumerism! I don't care how good your product might be, I don't want it. Shouldn't have shoved it into my face! :-)

Living the way that you do is not always the easiest or most convenient way to live, but it is certainly more ecologically friendly than the current method of "modern" society.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13