You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Mindless Pillage & Plunder of The Gifts of Earth

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I can so relate! There was a 13 acre woods to our north 4 years ago. Not any more. And the remaining trees are dying. It had been our dream (pre-chronic illness) to buy the adjoining pieces to our property. But life intervened and now the woods are gone.

We've been living with the noise you described for most of the last 4 years. There's only a little woods at the back left now....

As the old song goes: You don't know what you have until it's gone....Pave paradise to build a parking lot...

Sort:  

oh, I am so sorry to hear this. It seems to be a resounding story. I have see that happen myself where beautiful green spaces turned into housing and concrete. It is never nice to see. I know the song well and it fits perfectly. :(

We were able to buy 60 acres adjoining us a few years ago. We got lucky and found out it was for sale hours before it was listed. It was a quick decision and we swooped in like ninjas before anyone else could react. I still remember how anxious we were because we knew that forest would end up cleared if they sold to someone else. I guess we can smile about that win. I know we pissed some people off.

I am glad you were able to save the 60 acres! I so wish we could have saved the pieces north and south of us. Oh well.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49