My Repurposing Project for The Real Life Repurposing Abundance/Waste Challenge

in #ecotrain5 years ago

I saw this amazing challenge posted by @ecotrain that I can't miss. To chek it out please visit this post The Real Life Repurposing Abundance/Waste Challenge ; 🌾 50 STEEM in Prizes 🌾 - ecoTrain Question of the Week Part 2/4.

I'm repurposing quite a lot of things but today I'd like to show you what I've been repurposing for gardening.

I'm a huge fan and supporter or recycling and to my consternation, selective waste collecting is non existent in my city, it stopped sometime last year. This is unacceptable in the 21ths century. The European Union has set a target regarding recycling and reusing waste which my country will most likely fail to meet by the end of 2050. So basically all plastic, paper and glass goes into the household waste, ends up in the same place and will stay there for hundreds of years because we know plastic and glass does not decompose.

This year instead of buying flower pots, which are made from recycled plastic, I decided to use empty water bottles and plastic trays to grow flowers.

IMG_20190430_112856a.jpg

This is a plastic tray or box, salads and sliced meat is sold in these. I used it to plant flower seeds. After one and a half month, the flowers are ready to get a bigger container as this is too small already, there's not enough space nor soil fro them to grow. Today I repotted them using a 6L water bottle.

IMG_20190430_113107a.jpg

This is the water bottle, the upper part is cut so it can be filled.

IMG_20190430_113531a.jpg

The flowers are forming one block as the roots are so grown together, separating them is impossible.

IMG_20190430_113751a.jpg

Here it is, in it's new container. It might look strange but once the flowers grow, it's going to cover the plastic water bottle.

IMG_20190430_114435a.jpg

So far I have four containers filled with flowers on my balcony table. From left to right, Nigella, balcony flower mix, which will be a surprise, lobelia and pansy.

IMG_20190422_111109a.jpg

These are all used plastic cups that should have been throw away. I'm not keeping everything, don't worry, I'm not a hoarder but some things are worth to be kept. I knew I would need some plastic cups for seedlings so I have kept a few. Those served me well during this seedling growing period.

IMG_20180617_151110a.jpg

My dad has an old, used tire in the front yard, that is filled with soil and we plant flowers in it each year.

IMG_20180619_110038a.jpg

This is a very good solution as the excess water won't stay in a container, it can be absorbed by the ground beneath the tire and when the ground is wet, the flowers can absorb water from the ground.

IMG_20180619_110049a.jpg

I'm planning to get more tires to plant flowers. Tires are more resistant then plastic flower pots.

IMG_20180421_090603a.jpg

Another example from my dad's garden. This is a nursery or greenhouse (as you like) for seeds till they grow a little bit. This is built on top of animal fertilizer covered with a thick layer of soil. The animal fertilizer makes it warm, the glass gives the plants plenty of light and retains the warm temperature. What you see there are old windows. These windows would have been thrown away and this greenhouse needed glass to be covered with. It's a win-win situation, the perfect repurposing.

As you can see, you can do a lot with recycled, reused material just have to be willing to accept that these won't look as those that you buy from the supermarket. I love beautiful things but my heart is aching when I see the waste that is going on right now, so this is what I can do to reduce it.

This is my entry to the The Real Life Repurposing Abundance/Waste Challenge ; 🌾 50 STEEM in Prizes 🌾 - ecoTrain Question of the Week Part 2/4 hosted by @ecotrain.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you for your support.

Wow great usage of old plastic containers for growing your plants. Great recycling tips. Will have a look at the original post. !Tip

Many thanks, I'm glad you like it. Please check it out and join if you can :)

🎁 Hi @erikah! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tijntje!

@tijntje wrote lately about: Monmad Challenge - Peeking Feel free to follow @tijntje if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Many thanks.

@erikah, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

My pleasure and congratulations on the good work, keep it up! And of course, thank you for the badges 😊

NIce one @erikah! i was hoping to see some tyres and gardening idea.. your plants look very happy!!! <3 thanks so much for taking part!

Thank you so much for being so generous! I really appreciate the nice words and the upvote as well :) I believe I'm going to be a regular from now on. We have a garden but there's not much to show yet as it's still a bit early. However, I have enough for a post, so I'll be joining again very soon.
Thanks again for supporting this kind of activity, I really appreciate it!

Aw - A LOVELY response to @ecotrain's practical challenge!! LOVE IT that flowers GET IT and bloom wherever they are planted. Yes, tires are more durable and hopefully you will run out of waste plastic containers soon, as we all REDUCE out dependence on plastic packaged product. A SUPER contribution - thank you!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

I really appreciate the nice words, thank you for stopping by. I'm trying to reduce and reuse what I can :)

You got a 14.79% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Thank you!

This is really inspiring @erikah. If everyone around the globe could do just this, the world will be a cleaner, healthier and more sustainable place.

I absolutely agree with you. A bit of attention and willingness would change a lot.

I'm sorry to hear about the rcycling situation in your country. Are you in the EU? You may be familiar with the "'green dot" scheme in Germany. It replaced what was evolving into a great recyclng sytem, with a corporate minded "we'll take care of it" mentality. I don't know the current situation there, but hearing how China stopped importing raw trash, I can imagine that these types of systems are suffering a setback, now that their main exploitative base refuses to continue serving this role.

Great idea, using PET bottles as planter boxes. I only wonder, if the transparent walls won't let the roots get exposed to the light?

Posted using Partiko Android

I live in Romania, which means EU and the county is EU member, so it has to obey EU rules. I'm not familiar with the German situation. I've been there and I know they have a very good collecting system but that's all.
There's another option, which is worse, I heard some poor countries are importing all kind of garbage in exchange of payment, which is a terrible thing as the waste is not used to anything, it's most likely dumped somewhere on a land.
I don't know what's going to happen to the roots, that remains to be seen but the good news is these are mostly running plants, the plastic bottles are next or in front of each other, which means they are protecting each other to a certain extent. I guess we'll see. Next year I'm going to know more :)
Thank you for stopping by and for the nice comment as well, have a nice evening :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23