ecoTrain Question Of The Week Tie-Up Post: How Do You Get Out And Stay Out Of An Emotional Hole?

in #ecotrain5 years ago (edited)


Wow, what a response to this weeks question! I think its safe to say I am now armed with a long list of very good ideas, some new and some old ones that I had forgotten but you have reminded me! You know, we all have our own holes, some are bigger than others, and some of us are much more adept at getting out of them than others. SO thank you to everyone who shared their ideas, views, and tips for us all to learn from. I hope it was also a good opportunity for you to remind yourselves what to do when things starting turning sour!


This week I would like to lead with a post from @famigliacurione. Firstly, thanks for joining us on this question,we welcome you to the ecoTrain community, and I really found your post so interesting and with some special knowledge.

@famigliacurione
Gene Codes: Reflections on Human Nature - Page 13

I'm addressing this question on my 13th Page of my reflections on human nature because it seems appropriate to look at the emotional roller-coaster that we all have our ups and downs on as a question of understanding an innate journey that we are all on: The Hero's Journey!

There are 12 Phases to the Hero's Journey, as I have learned them. These are not chronological steps or stages, but rather markers along the path of growth. You can stay stuck on one Phase for years in certain areas of your life, just as you can experience all 12 in one day!

In considering the question above, I would like to suggest that the "staying out" of an emotional hole part is often not realistic. That's not to suggest that it is impossible, but our Journey in this dualistic reality consists of ups and downs.

Where are you along your Journey? This might help you understand why you're feeling the way you are feeling about certain areas of your life. And it may give you the strength you need to take steps towards getting through a certain Phase, knowing that it is needed to learn certain lessons, as well as needed to get to the next Phase.

Phase 1: The Ordinary World

The Hero's Journey begins in the mundane, normal world that he or she is used to living. Whether happy or sad, the Hero is living a life of routine and complacency. Things could be good or bad, but there is nothing unknown or unfamiliar. Are you bored? Do you feel like there's a larger purpose to your existence? Maybe this is your Phase!

@bewithbreath

I attend to BREATH to Get Out And Stay Out Of An Emotional Hole. Response to ecoTrain Question Of The Week: How Do You Get Out And Stay Out Of An Emotional Hole?

Hello Kind Mindful Steemians!

NOW, I attend to my best friend, BREATH, to Get Out And Stay Out Of An Emotional Hole. Yes, that is my answer to ecoTrain Question Of The Week: How Do You Get Out And Stay Out Of An Emotional Hole?. Breath - amazing thing, isn’t it? The first thing we do as we are born and the last thing we do at the end of our life. And amazingly, breath can tell us about the state of our body and mind; and working with breath can modulate both physiological functions and psychological affects.


@misslasvegas

Yes, I know...I know, I'm a bit late again posting this. I thought the deadline was Thursday, and then to my horror, I realized it was Wednesday. However, I really wanted to write about this subject, so I am just going to right now. We all have these times, where nothing seems to flow, or go, or go our way. But these things don't have to cause us to get into an emotional hole by all means. But since I recently experienced being in one, it's easy for me to recall how this was, and how I got out of it. Planning to stay out this time...

@daniscib

How To Get Out Of An Emotional Hole? The Importance Of The Positive Mind

All human beings go through good times and bad times, this is undeniable. For that same reason it is important to know how to manage them, especially the negative moments since they impact with more force and in a much more destructive way our emotions and therefore our lives. To answer an interesting question asked by @ecotrain here is my entry about "How to get out of an emotional hole?"

The vast majority of us can consider that we have gone through bad times that simply leave us "on the ground" emotionally speaking, whether product of a bad day, work problems, breakup of a relationship, excessive stress, mourning... Whatever comes to your mind. These are events that generate a negative impact on your being, it can be a great impact or a more moderate one depending on the person, but it is still something relevant enough to damage your day in one way or another, reducing your productivity, not allowing you to be happy or worrying too much.

@adyorka

My best fiend, at sea

When I was younger I used to go deep into black worms. the reason, almost always, was that question that we usually ask in a thousand ways, but in the long run it is always the same: what is the meaning of human existence? Said less ostentatiously, what the hell did I come to do to this world?
I suppose that, in those times, even if I had met the mother of the existential responses, I would have understood her answer a lot.

@vibesforlife

All of us have UPs and Downs in our lives, infact they are an integral part of our existence. The YIN-YANG symbol beautifully explains how Life is a balance of the good and the bad. But we, humans, always have a natural tendency to like the good parts more. Sincere Part of reality is that the gloomy sad parts are un-invited most of the times. But how much they impact our souls and mental health totally depends on how we deal with them.

Here is my strongly led foundation to deal with the emotional holes in my life that works for me 100/100 and help me stay Sane.

When we are deep down the emotional holes, sometimes we think Diverting our minds is good solution - Watch a movie, Go out with someone, listen to Music.

@nainaztengra

Imagine what would life be without emotions, we would all be Robots simply responding to commands with no personal touch or feelings. But that's not the case. We humans are full of emotions they are one integral part of we humans, they define our existence. We carry them day in and out all the time along with us. They are a part and parcel of our lives. But the most important thing is; Do we always keep flowing into our emotions. Well the answer should be No. So how do we do that. How can one Stay out of this Emotional Hole. Well the one simple answer is increase our "Emotional Agility"

What is Emotional Agility

@astrizak

How do I get out and stay out of an emotional hole? For me there is no definitive answer to this question. Holes come in different depths and at each level something helps, something not. Reflecting on this topic, I singled out for myself 3 main things that help me overcome emotional difficulties.

The first is music. Music for me is just a huge outlet. Anger, sadness and just a bad mood it all goes into the background when Death Metal rumbles in my ears and the worse the mood, the heavier the metal.

@riverflows

An Emotional Heart: How Does One Get Out of An Emotional Hole, And Stay Out?

Those that know me here, and off-Steem, know I have an emotional heart. The heart and gut, we know, is where emotions are felt. Excited? Butterflies in the tummy. Nervous? Heart flutters. Depressed? It feels like there is a weight on my chest. When I was a teenager, my girlfriend and I had two ways to describe two oft felt feelings - one, was 'like being in a matchbox' - that feeling of being trapped and wanted to smash the walls down and run free, and the other was 'joy bubbles' - that welling up from inside of you, some effusive happiness that wants to express itself in some way, and often does - squeals of joy, cartwheels on beaches, laughter. And then, the black holes - when no joy enters, and no sadness seems to want to leave.

@artemislives

Climbing Out Of The Hole - Creating My Own Ladder of Perspective & Gratitude

Sitting at the bottom of an emotional hole and waiting for someone to throw you a ladder? Sometimes you be waiting a looooog time while your life tick-tocks on by. I've come to appreciate that no matter the cause of the emotional hole, we ALWAYS have two key tools to help us begin to build our own ladder out:

  1. Perspective
  2. Gratitude

Of course when you are IN your hole, perspective and gratitude feel incredibly scarce and almost unachievable. Personally, I find access to those most two seemingly elusive things - readily and quickly, every time - through my never-fail strategy of service to others. Perspective and gratitude are the two long stable poles I start lashing my little rungs to, and from which I begin to build a ladder to get me out - no matter how deep the hole nor how miserable I feel.

@steelborne

Pulling Yourself Out of an Emotional Rut...

What do we do when we find ourselves in depressing thoughts or emotionally challenging times? It's often easy to sit there and sulk over the problems or reasons for why we are feeling down. We may be kicking ourselves for allowing actions to take place that have resulted in these challenging times. These moments happen - and sometimes without our doing. How do we overcome them and get on with leading a positive and rewarding life? I have some perspectives that I'd like to give to this weeks @ecotrain question of the week - "How do you get out and stay out of an emotional hole?"

There is likely no absolute "one size fits all" here that will work for everyone - but I do have some proven methods that have worked for me over the years that I'd like to share:

1. Take back control of the present moment -

@minismallholding

Climbing out of that emotional hole. Initial thoughts on depression.

At some point, we can all get depressed and anxious. Many of us have experienced that emotional hole which can be so hard to pull yourself out from. Yet, if you don't find your way out, it can lead to chronic depression and anxiety which can leave you feeling crippled and once at this point it's hard to see any way out.

It's okay to get emotional. We all have times when we need to withdraw and open ourselves to our emotions. Feel them, acknowledge them and acknowledge what has triggered them, if you can. When we can find the cause of the sadness, we can more easily find a way to work through it, so knowing the cause is helpful. Sometimes we don't know why were feeling low and that's okay, but it makes it harder to get ourselves back on an upward path.

@priyanarc

How do I Get Out Of An Emotional Hole? (A story of an emotional girl)

Hello everybody

We, all human beings are kind of fool because of our emotions. But without emotion we are not human infact we are nothing. Humans have feelings, emotions, power of express their emotions and they can control their mind and brain that's why humans are the best creation of entire world.

“Your emotions are the slaves to your thoughts, and you are the slave to your emotions.”
― Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat Pray Love: One Woman's Search for Everything

@stortebeker

Living in a Big Hole - The Pain of Mexico City

Four days already since this QOTW has been published by @ecotrain, and I just noticed now. Seems like I'm in a hole indeed...

No, of course I don't need such a simple reminder. It's an obvious fact that I am deep down in a hole, in fact have been for several months... maybe years? Normally I would have tried to even avoid discussing it, but this week's QOTW just made me spill the beans.

Super Nerve-wrecking Mexico City

Cities are no fun in general, but these modern types of hyper-cities, where people end up living literally in each other's armpits due to some horrible social inequalities in the surrounding country, unimaginable crime and poverty, and the hope of maybe improving one's miserable situation just a little bit (at the expense of others, obviously, as it is so neatly arranged in capitalism)... where was this sentence going? Ah, that's right.... the deep hole we're talking about.

@eco-alex

How TO get Out a HOle

Phewph, what timing on this QOTW! No sooner had i asked this question to you all then i fell into a very large and very familiar hole. I could feel it coming on, and maybe that’s why i asked this question! There are various things that can trigger me into falling into the abyss. which for me means that my whole world collapses around me.. i start to hate and resent everyone and everything around me.. i get stuck in a kind of psychosis where i just cant snap out of it.. It may continue for a few days, or longer.. depending on what I do with it.

Thank you To ALL who took part!

Whilst you're here...

Did you catch the latest ecoTrain Highlights?

The ecoTrain Highlights Of The Week! Catch some awesome posts and community posts here!

Check Out Previous Questions Of The Week

Do you believe in magic? @ecoTrain Pop-up QOTW

@ecoTrain QOTW Tie-up Post: Abundance Woes

Last week I asked the question: What have you had too much abundance of, and how did you deal with it? What would have been the likely outcome if you had not dealt with it both short and long term?"I would like to start by saying thank you and a Real WOW at so many of you showing up for this and writing SO many amazing and diverse answers. You guys are awesome, and it shines through in your posts!


https://steempeak.com/ecotrain/@eco-alex/ecotrain-qotw-tie-up-post-abundance-woes

AND FINALLY....
The Question Of the Week Almanac: July 2017 - October 2018

 


The 8 Pillars of @TribeSteemUp

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain

** Click Here To View Our Feed**

Sort:  

Thank you so much.. Will participate here more. .

We look forward to more from you too, @priyanarc Thanks so much for contributing and engaging.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Wow! This Community is really organised, generous and above all very positive! Looking forward to further participating, supporting and learning from you all! Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

And WE look forward to lots more of your constructive and interesting posts too!

The CooperFelix-Multiservices Team appreciates the content of this post by giving it a 15% upvote. We invite users to participate in the Project by offering a small donation on Fundition or following the project at the link: THE CF-M PROJECT.

Wellness Is Green


wellnessisgreenBuonaconFundition.jpg

The image is owned by the author and the use, reproduction or quotation without authorization is forbidden

Ahh I missed on it @eco-alex quite busy last week. every entry post is super awesome and one thing pretty clear, each one of us went through some kind of emotional hole. That is life which teaches us many things through numerous ups and downs. We just need to hold our nerve for brighter days.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi Just manage to finish it off and post it 😊.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow - so many creative people, SO MANY HOLES!! and so much wisdom and perspective. Much gratitude to you @eco-alex for a superb tie up post and for posing such an important question.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34