What do you need to be happy? @ecotrain Question Of The Week!

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)


Oh Happiness! A wise man once said that "Happiness is a pleasure between two pains". Never a truer word said! Whilst you let that sink in let us think about what we need to be happy and what being happy really means. There are so many ways to answer this question! I could speak very philosophically about what happiness is and how it is a state of mind that we choose and are in control of. I could speak very practically about all the things we need to do or have to be happy, such a structure, balanced life, healthy diet, healthy relationships, exercise etc.. These points are all very true, in a way.. or are they? Does doing or owning anything really bring happiness, or are they just a bandage to pacify something deeper inside? Are some people just happy people, and it doesn’t really matter what they do or how they do it? It does seem that certain people are just generally happy, and others are generally just miserable.. so why is this, and why is it that many people just seem to be more or less one way or the other most of the time?!


After quite some thought, I have decided to really share what I need to make me happy.. at least in theory.. because in truth that answer lies way back from my earliest days in my mothers womb. You see, what I am saying is that for someone to be happy, they need to have had their core needs met as a child. If someone doesn’t get this gift of good parenting and a loving family, they will most likely spend their lives fighting an endless inner battle. Those people who are able to heal from this can of course become happy, but in my view it is our first 18 years that are crucial to determining whether we will be happy for the rest of our lives.

That is one side of the coin. There is another side that is very simply that we need good Genetics to be happy! It may sound a bit cold and harsh to say it, but it is fair to say that our emotional make-up is very much influenced by our DNA, and there is not a lot we can do about that! In a way we are born into a personality, predetermined by our genetic make-up, and maybe a bit of past life Karma. Maybe we just are what we are, and all we have to do is learn to live with it?

When we are brought up in a healthy and very strong and loving family we are happy at our core. This explains why some people are just happy people, whereas others always see the glass half empty. We know from meeting people that some people have nothing, or have braved great personal challenges, and are very happy people. We know that most of the rich and famous are not happy. This is because happiness is either seated in our core beingness, or else needs to be shown the way!



So to crystallise this then, what I am saying is that what I need to be happy is... probably a Time Machine! lol ;-) but as a second and more practical option I would have to say Therapy! I say this because to be happy at my core means I have to resolve and integrate childhood wounding that stems as far back as when I was in the womb. This core wounding has led to patterns of thought and behaviour that bring about unhappiness. This is the work of our lives, and having therapy really means getting support to help us find our happiness. Happiness is always there, and even though some people think you need a reason to feel Happy, I think that you don’t. It is a feeling that flows, and is our natural quality when not impeded. If we accept and remove the pain, happiness is always underneath!

And So It is!

Here is what the Dalai Lama Thinks About it!

 


The 8 Pillars of @TribeSteemUp

 

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

Discover amazing people in the ecoTrain magazine at @ecoTrain

 

 

Sort:  

I hear what you're saying about happiness starting from the womb, then really being framed into place (or not) through the first 18 years. That was me, not at all nurtured, not respected, not happy indeed. Later 25 years of no nurturing nor respect, again not happy. HOWEVER - In the midst of the 25 year imprisonment came my son, and I found a good measure of happiness from the unspeakable joy of being a father. So events can indeed play a role, BUT - the Kicker came over several years of finding the truths of what's made me suffer for so long, along with many of the deeper truths of our true beingness.
Now, in spite of all else (though there's no longer any spite at all), I am TRULY HAPPY. Because I'm happy with my wife, happy with my son, and (finally) I'm happy with Me. Happy with me in each moment. I'm worthy, I'm not so bad afterall. And I'm tolerant of everything. It is what it is, so I may as well allow it. I've replaced the programming with Love.
So yes Alex, I agree, those formative years are key, but it is absolutely never too late to turn it all around and find a permanent happiness, starting with acceptance of one's self.
Well written sir!!!

thank you! maybe i should have written.. that what we need to be happy is to have children! Im still working on that one so ill have to get back to you on it! ;-) im REALly happy you found it!

Not at all my friend, children alone won't make the difference imo, but in my case it was certainly a needed boost.

i really understand!!!

A good writeup @eco-alex on happiness but i think i will agree with @steemflow. I think happiness is a temporary state influenced by external factors. On the other hand, joy comes from within and you can choose to be always joyful especially when you know the true source of your joy. That is one of the fruits of the spirit.

yes i think you are right.. there is happiness and then there is bliss.. thanks for stopping by herman

What is coming through a lot of your posts is your childhood and what you need to work through to overcome some of the burdens you carry. I think what is so amazing is that you are already on that journey as you are willing to talk about it and recognise it and sseek therapy to overcome it. I definitely think nurture has a big role to play in our happiness, but then, i was raised in a super loving and stable family and I still haven't been entirely a happy person - mostly so, but not always, and not evenly. So definitely don't rely on that for a marker. I have a friend who is super positive and happy all the time and she had an awful childhood. I guess there are no real answers, but go the Dalai Llama, he's got it going on there... :)

Thanks for this riverflows.. i ws aware
When i wrote this that the answer is multi faceted! Very helpful comment to me xx

Bless. Oh like all the questions, they're definitely mulitfaceted - isn't it amazing that by writing and reading to these questions we gain so many insights from the breadth of experiences and knowledge we all have and can share! I love how we can be each others gurus :)

it really is! just about every question has had its eureka moments!

Being joyful is better than to be happy @eco-alex happiness is mostly depends on external elements, but once you look within yourself and find yourself motivated then that makes you joyful which is better than to be happy. Find yourselves and you will be joyful and happy.

It is very interesting to see how this question has made us all go into a very similar direction. We all have a deep knowledge of what brings happiness and it is really nice to see that, to know that people know. Much love 💚💚💚

Thought provoking question @eco-alex. I agree that so much begins in the womb or as a very tiny child. But I also find that happiness is intricately tied up with gratitude. Gratitude despite so much. We have to overcome our bitterness (over others decisions and influences) and regret (over our own decisions and actions). Happiness should be irrespective of another person or place or circumstance. Being grateful for our blessings helps us look past the sadness over what could or should be different

What a great response to the #qotw. I agree with you that from the womb and as you grow up, life is really happy and most especially where love prevails within your family and the community. Its really interesting that you related happiness with genetics. I am definitely going to have my say on this #qotw asap!

Meditation helps me a lot, I feel happier once I began to meditate. It helps people to forgive, first yourself, then others.
Forgive, love, compassion are the foundation to happiness. Nice post, it makes me think more about what make me happy.

I might participate in this one. If so, it will be my first one.

Upvoted & Resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89