I attend to BREATH to Get Out And Stay Out Of An Emotional Hole. Response to ecoTrain Question Of The Week: How Do You Get Out And Stay Out Of An Emotional Hole?

in #ecotrain5 years ago

Hello Kind Mindful Steemians!

NOW, I attend to my best friend, BREATH, to Get Out And Stay Out Of An Emotional Hole. Yes😊, that is my answer to ecoTrain Question Of The Week: How Do You Get Out And Stay Out Of An Emotional Hole?. Breath - amazing thing, isn’t it? The first thing we do as we are born and the last thing we do at the end of our life. And amazingly, breath can tell us about the state of our body and mind; and working with breath can modulate both physiological functions and psychological affects. But I must emphasize that I have come to know this friend (Breath) just few years ago despite it being constant companion sleep or awake. I had been overlooking this wonderful friend, breath, for many years but now breath is one of my best friend.
image.png

So, YES, I NOW attend to breath during ups and downs of the life. However, I stumbled upon or learnt (if we can call that) many different techniques or solutions (?) over the years.

Friends and movies during teenage years
Recalling my memories, I remember going out friends or talking to friends used to be quite effective way during my teenage years. Or going out for movies. While going out with friends or watching movies were always nice, they particularly played significant role when we were feeling down and also when we had great news. I have been very lucky to have so many great friends in my life who have shaped my life in some way or the other. So, I pay my gratitude to all my friends - "You have enriched my life in such a way that I have no words.....THANK YOU."

Drinking and smoking in 20s
Then during Uni years, although friends and movies were still a way out of the emotional black hole, **alcohol, cigarettes etc." played dominant role. May be social influence and social learning or may be I was just exploring stuff as you do in your twenties. Or may be I'm just trying to boost my dopamine level to feel good. Again, drinking and smoking (mostly with friends) was part of both emotional dimension - we drank and smoke when we had smiley face and also when we had sad moments. Or may be drinking was just norm but it seem to take me out of emotional black hole or at least so I thought.

Trialling in 30s
So, I'm a bit grown up man now ain't I? Have to bit of soul searching, reflection and all that. So, I had been reading lots of Osho's book. And his technique of thought watching was quite helpful particularly at the times of sadness, anger, jealousy, hurt and all those nasty things. To broaden my horizon I also read Tony Robin's ‘Awaken the giant within’, Stephen Covey's ‘7 Habits of highly effective people’ and so on. Many of their guidance was significantly helpful. Particularly Tony Robins [Hour of Power](

) (involves breathworks and some NLP) was significantly helpful.

And “NOW”
Having practiced meditation (mainly Vipasanna but also some others) for a decade I NOW attend to breath when unpleasant emotion arises reminding myself that 'everything that arises within mind and body will pass away' ~ Buddha. As many of us know and science tell us too that our breath has direct connection to our emotions, be that anger, hatred, hurt, fear or excitement and so on. And there are many scientific evidence (but as Eckhart Tolle says ‘Don't quote the evidence Be the evidence’) linking breath with emotion as well as many physical and mental health.

And I have come to know that when you watch your breath SO attentively being aware of it's arising and passing away (or inhalation and exhalation) you come into the NOW. And in the NOW there is no space for what has happened and what is to come - YOU ARE HERE IN THE NOW. Space and energy for negative emotions suddenly disappears when you are ONE with breath. But yes, sometimes the emotion can be so overwhelming that it can be very hard to notice breath. If the storm is strong then I tend to do alternate nostrils breathing for 10-15 minutes and then focus on natural breath and observe it as it goes in and as it comes out. And if it's hurricane then I practice "AUM" chanting first then move to alternate breathing and then move to focus on natural breathing.....and wallah...you are suddenly in the amazing joyful place! No wonder then, I have my #steemit ID as @bewtihbreath.

And, Yes, Loneliness can be a Myth when “Breath” is your best friend! - as I mentioned in my previous post. And to make breath our best friend please join us at our SGM (Steemit Group Meditation) in Meditation Hall at Wednesdays 8:30pm and Saturdays 6pm (both London Time). Look forward to meditating together and befriend the breath.

FDB0FA941A40402CA5733C6D760DD9A4.jpegB11DCCF1093F44D7B12EC8AD439B5882.jpeg13458A1C5087420789DF92DB9968485F.gif

With Peace Love & Joy 🕉❤️😊
Let’s grow together in wisdom through #meditation 🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♀️

Sort:  

Yes! This is soooooo important. And thankfully, it is starting to be recognised as such amongst mainstream medical practitioners, getting patients to look seriously at breathing patterns and so on before prescribing drugs.

😊🙏🏽☯️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Could not agree more - slowly but steadily I think the science is coming back to ancient wisdom.

Posted using Partiko iOS

So what did you do in the first 10 years of your life? ;>)

Every single time I read about breathing, I return to the breath and feel better instantly.
I'm grateful to have found you on my path. It has totally been worth the detour ;>)

Hahh😃😃😃 - first 10-15 years are secret 😂.
Thank you my friend - we were meant to meet. You are very kind - I may be in Portugal in Nov 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

You are very kind

And so are you.

Nothing wrong with secrets ;>)

In case I'm in Portugal too, that month ( and not traveling ), it would be awesome to meetup :>)

Hahha..secrets that I can’t remember. Love to meet up when Universal synchronicity for us to meet happens 😃

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's amazing how much the emotions are tied to the breath and how we can learn to regulate them through breath! I love how you relate to breath as friend and it seems like it and your practises have been a good friend. And served you well!
Thanks for sharing this way out of an emotional hole, even when they are at hurricane force!

I know, right? often ignored or overlooked by many, breath, is a delightful company. Thank you for your support and look forward to meditation together 😊🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♀️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks so much for constantly reminding us! I love it when you pop in the Discord to ask us if we are breathing in or breathing out!

Thank you 🙏🏼 for bringing Mindful Life community to life under @naturalmedicine Discord server 😊🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♀️

Posted using Partiko iOS

BREATH is my pivot point!! When all feels tight and constrained, it is a slow, long exhale and an aware inhale into the newly vacant space that SHIFTS and changes everything. Blessed and grateful to be reminded of this yet again. Sitting a little straighter, uncrossing my legs and BREATHING into new possibilities.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Thank you - isn’t is amazing that simple breath can be so powerful and profound?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Thank You 🙏🏼. You are doing a great job with manual curation 👍🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

Upvoted 👍🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am really glad to hear you say that, @bewithbreath!

Congratulations @bewithbreath! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you 🙏🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're welcome @bewithbreath
Feel free to support us back, vote for our witness.
You will get one more badge and more powerful upvotes from us on your posts with our next notifications.

You’ve been visited by @vibesforlife on behalf of Natural Medicine!

Amazing powerful response, it all lies in Breath. Everyone should put their time and energies in learning How to master breath and become its friend.

We are also holding a raffle - if you'd like to win some beautiful art by @FrejaFricheck out this post. We are also behind a fundraising charity drive hosted by @freedomtribe to raise money for Venuezualan children. Please click here to enter!

50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP ♡♡♡

Discord

Thank you - absolutely, we need to befriend the breath as deeply as we can 🧘🏼‍♂️

Posted using Partiko iOS

May we interest you in steemit group meditation? 😃

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you 🙏🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

yay! thank you.. this post really helped me this morning.. such simple wisdom... so much .. SO much happens from the breath.. <3..
i once studied Sudarshan Kriya meditation with Ravi Shankar.. he was so special.. as was that meditation.. we went SO deep wow.. i cant even remeber much more than SO hum now!

Thank you 🙏🏼. Exactly, simple and right with us all the time - breath 🤗.
Wow....that must have been wonderful experience with Ravi Shankar

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59013.49
ETH 2516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48