Sort:  

Congratulations @artemislives! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

that's a very good interesting story! :)
good to know that you live in North Thailand.

yes, jackfruit is a great source of nutrients. it is hard to add something else to what you have already said. may be just a couple of things. like for example that it was called or considered as kind of "bread tree". :)
(although actually it is from the family of trees as mulberry - so perhaps its fruits are more like a berries! :))
also as we know, seeds not only can be boiled or backed, but also kind of grinded and then use that paste (or powder if dried) to make some sort of pastry or something. (may be even kind of a "bread")
certainly seeds are rich in protein and therefore often can see them sold in the fresh markets along with veggies.

glad to find some fellow vegans who also enjoy Thai fruits and foods! :)

Wasn't trying to be the definitive jackfruit post - just a simple how and why. :) Sorry to disappoint but I'm def NOT a vegan & never will be. I eat a LOT of plant based foods but am far too sensitive to plant consciousness and concerned about excellent natural nutrition to ever be a vegan. Thailand DOEShave some amazing plants and foods that we all should enjoy. :) Thanks for stopping by. :)

I am a vegetarian swaying into veganism, I have read all the hype about jackfruit, but just by looking at it is sort of looks like something i definitively would not like! Ha, because of the texture of it i can't bring my self to try it. It's sort of refreshingly funny to see someone talk about not liking it. Although based on the rest of your article i think it's worth me at least confirming my hypothesis to warrant excluding it.

Haha I'm refreshingly funny that way about a lot of trends.... and very Dutch about saying what I think. :) Glad it resonated. :) Do try it - the flavours of the curry are wonderfully absorbed by the jackfruit and it's a great and nutritious food that is so misunderstood. Haha... took me 16 years and a gerzillion wasted jackfruits to get this far! :)

Aww, I love ripe jackfruit so much, but totally get that some fruits are just not your thing - no judgment there. 😉

I actually didn't know that you have to harvest it in such an early (unripe) state for jackfruit meat, so interesting. And thank you for the list of health benefits, it is always nice to hear more reasons for diving into your favorite fruit. 💚

Anytime you wander over this way (Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand) I PROMISE I will have a HUGE ripe jackfruit waiting for you..... :) Thanks for coming over to say "Hi". :)

Aww, I really like Chiang Mai - that might be actually happening some day. 😉 You are awesome!

oh my god, they are SO popular here - jackfruit tacos, jackfruit curries, jackfruit pulled 'pork'. I've never actually tried them - I only ever tried jackfruit in a tin in the Thai restaurant I worked in years ago, but should give it a go. This looks delish!

I can't imagine tinned jackfruit haha.... it's soooooo prolific here that people would look at you like you were insane. If you look carefully at my pic of the jackfruit, you'll see there are another 4-5 immature ones chugging along behind the one I cut. I may make another jackfruit curry tomorrow - cos it's incredibly nutritious and pretty yum when you do it properly. :)

Nice info on JackFruit, I tried it once and did not like it either, however I hear if prepared correctly, it can be delicious. Blessings.

I'm trying the jack fruit curry again for guests on Wednesday night and planning to make it AMAZING. :) Refreshing to hear others admit that the fruit is not really their 'thing'. We are soooo blessed with abundance and amazing natural food choices here in Northern Thailand! Thanks for stopping by. :)

Thanks so much for sharing 💖

You're very welcome @ianperic Glad you enjoyed. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81