Android vs Windows Phone - Do People Really Want Competition?

in #economy5 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

It's been two days without posting... so here I am with a little Monday rant.


When I traveled to Moscow last year, a lot of people told me it was a very dangerous city, where I would certainly be mugged and beaten up as soon as I would leave the hotel.

Well, that was a complete lie. I think people are watching too much TV.


Anyway, because I had so many people annoying me about safety before I traveled, I got a cheap Android Phone and I thought of leaving my main phone - the Windows Phone - at the hotel. That proved to be totally unnecessary...

The first issues with Android started as soon as I turned on both phones at the hotel.

sopqczlwo5.jpg

As you can see, there is a time difference of two hours between both phones, despite being in the same conditions. Both phones had:

  • A working Portuguese SIM Card;
  • A working WiFi Connection provided by the hotel;
  • GPS Location turned on and working;
  • Time Definitions set to Automatic.

Despite all of this, the stupid Android couldn't realise that the local time in Moscow was 2 hours ahead of Portugal. I waited for about 6 hours until the Android finally understood what Windows Phone had known all along: I had traveled to Moscow! Doh! 😅


I honestly don't know why Windows Phone had no success or love... as an Operating System it works a thousand times better than Android.

  • With Windows Phone, I don't have to keep clearing my cache or the RAM memory every two hours. The Operating System works flawlessly out of the box - no need to root, unlock, crack or do anything to it;

  • The Microsoft Store is perfectly integrated with the Operating System and it simply works. In Android, there are some apps I cannot buy from the playstore because "Unexpected Error";

  • Windows Phone saves all the photos, images and gifs to the same place, whereas Android saves the images in 20 or 30 different places and makes me dig for them, when I want to find some image I downloaded in the past;

  • Windows Phone comes with a Full GPS, with Offline Maps included. I don't need to have Internet to be able to use it. Without a working Internet connection, Google Maps is as useless as a brick.


In a world where everyone is always complaining about corporations having too much power and too much control over citizens, it's strange how 99% the crowd will end up buying the same thing and adopting the exact same consumer habits as their neighbours.

fxcb1pw0vu.gif
Source: Twitter


Tell me again, what do we need competition for, if everyone simply ignores it when it exists?


CameraPanasonic Lumix DC-TZ90
LocationMoscow - Russia
Edited with GIMP

2e4z02s5fy.gif

Sort:  

Как я тебя понимаю!!!!
Ты прав на все 100%.Я очень люблю свой Nokia Lumia 930 с операционной системой Windows.
Но есть проблема - поддержка программ. Смартфон перестал нужные мне программы.

I know what you mean!!!!
You're 100% right.I love my Nokia Lumia 930 with Windows operating system.
The smartphone has ceased to support mandatory programs.

monday rant
stupid phone could not realise

hehehe very funny style of writing

Trin, if you are aware there are any desktop apps that i could use to browse steem on my laptop and get rewards?
Steempeak or busy maybe?

Hi there, @vibesforlife!

Busy and SteemPeak work in every browser but eSteem is the only standalone Steem App available for PC. I hope this answers your question...

I'm glad you've appreciated it. Thanks for being the first human to reply! 😄

hehe like the last part of your comment :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

i think people just prefer the huge range of apps on android. here is a nice competition:

KaiOS smart phone (no touch screen but voice operated) works on cheap ass phones. in india you can get it for 22$ and is the reason why half a billion poor for the first time got connected to the internet. Blocc phone advertises for less distractions. ubuntu OS can run terminal or office when ever u need. dutch fairphone allows all broken parts to be replaced. want to build your own smart phone? why not build one from a raspberry pi. so many options. i use a regular phone that can survive 40C laundry if i forget in pocket.

Yeah, Android has a lot of apps but they all malfunction when the phone gets the memory full. Which happens every couple of hours.

Seriously, the bullshit people are willing to put up with, just to save a few pennies... is absurd.

I'm done with those 20th Century OS. They all look the same. What do I want 50 choices for, if they all look and feel the same...?

So little originality. Bah. We're all just a bunch of sheep. Most humans like to say they are different and original but in reality, 97% of humans act and look like their neighbours...

Thanks for your comment.

Food for thought. Great post. I've never given Windows phones a lot of thought. I guess I'm prejudiced against Microsoft.

I don't like Microsoft, too. But Windows Phone was light years ahead of the competition. Sadly, most humans don't like to evolve that fast. Change is scary... and so, Microsoft failed as the market preferred a couple of worse choices.

I am android user... Is it time for me to switch myself from android to IOS?? or windows may be...

Android sucks. iOS is just a little bit better.

Windows Phone was light years ahead of the competition but, judging for the market reaction, most humans prefer to stay in the 20th Century for a few more decades. Now it's all over and Microsoft have thrown down the towel.

Now, we're stuck with only 2 dumb options. We can either choose between a bad OS and a slightly less bad OS. And I'm not willing to spend more money buying those. I'll keep my Windows Phone as long as it lasts. 😛

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Looking for some fun games to play on Steemit? Try your luck with Magicdice or Drugwars

This post had received 13.16% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Vote for @steemitportugal to Witness. Your vote is very important to us!
Visit our WebSite www.steemitportugal.com (tutorials,news...)
Thank you very much.
Click here to vote
steemitportugal
Delegation for daily voting: 10SP-25SP-50SP-100SP-250SP-500SP-1000SP

Congratulations @trincowski! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 20000 replies. Your next target is to reach 20500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68421.21
ETH 2649.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71