Stop the fighting please

in #economy7 years ago

This week it was announced that Bitcoin would be splitting in two, and the backlash was swift. It seemed that all the anti cryptos were out in full force, crowing at being right. And it seemed in Bitcoin's setback, people were rushing in to fill the gap with their particular snakeoil brand of choice. Buy this! Invest in that!

I find it the non stop bickering among professionals as to what the best commodity is disheartening. The endless wrangling looks akin to something that would happen in Washington...and we have enough of that already.

To which I ask, why not consider them all?

Now, I fully admit, I am not smart enough to figure out where cryptos are going. Or stocks, Or mining. Or precious metals. I wish I could trade or short the market but I don't know enough to do so. So I don't play the market, I buy hard assets. I didn't realize bitcoin was a thing till after it was a BIG thing. So I joined this platform instead. I know that the market will probably crash before I can pay off my student loans. So I am paying down my college debt as quickly as I can, and I don't accumulate large amounts of debt outside of it. See what I mean? My point is a simple one. Instead of wasting time bashing a side, why not do what you can to ensure you and your family are ready? Time is running out. Of that I am certain. Something is going to derail the current status qo, war, economic destruction, natural disaster. Or all 3. And who else knows? With so many potential dangers, we should be trying to cover ourselves as best we can in whatever way we can. Not bickering over it. To the man with no money, his best bet may be buying some new tires for his car and a few extra cans of beans. For those with a little cash, hard assets may be their best bet. And for those who can trade the market, maybe that is a quick way for them to earn a buck or two. I try not to put my eggs in one basket in most things in life. I try to listen to everything economic related, even if I cant participate in it, so that I understand it better. I read articles I don't agree with so I can at least hear an opposing side. You know, like an adult who can think for themselves would. I may or may not change my mind based on the evidence presented. And I try and go from there.

But we aren't taught this skill in society anymore, and when we come across an opposing opinion, our tendency is to become hostile. Remember, those who are asleep will scream as loud as they can at an opposing viewpoint simply to avoid it. They don't want to wake up. They want to be taken care of. We need to be leading by example to those around us. And nobody should be betting everything they have on one thing to save them. For many of us common folk waking up was shocking enough. Its not easy when you start this journey and now question everything you hear. Much less learn that everything you have been taught about money and debt was a big fat lie. Hence why I think there is such a defensiveness around one's particular asset of choice. It is the desperate death grip that comes from hoping against hope that this thing you have invested time in wont betray you. And all I can say to that is do the best you can, and try to help others. Cause at the end of the day, nobody knows for certain which asset will be left standing.

Sort:  

That's good.

I always invest in coins that I believe will create good programs and that I plan to use in the future as there's no real point in holding random coins for a chance at profit. That's not how people got rich off BTC and ETH, that's how people lost all their money to scam coins and

Congratulations @littlerose! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @littlerose! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43