Product Review: Bee's Wrap / 蜜蝋ラップを使ってみて

in #eco6 years ago

Last year I wrote a post that I was wondering how could I keep bread fresh preferably without plastic bags. One solution was to use a bee's warp.

How shall I keep my bread?

I bought one at a German bio store called Alnatura.

Using Bees Wrap

I used it for two three months and now I can write pros and cons about it. Excuse me for keeping you wait for long @apsu :D

Pros

  • No guilty feeling for throwing away plastic or paper wrapping, which is really really great!
  • Zero garbage at least for one year of its life time
  • Less harmful to the environment when it's disposed (as a bio garbage?)
  • Easy to wrap or cover food with its hard but still flexible texture with the wax coating
    004u7jv3xe.jpg

Cons

The list below is not actually cons but there are something we have to be careful to handle it.

  • Folding it too much may break the waxed layer. Small lines on my wrap may not have waxed layer:
    lkjxx7urir.jpg
    I noticed my wrap dropped small particles. It can be flour but can be from the coating. The ingredients of the coating is beeswax, organic cotton, jojoba oil and tree resin.
    j4rbj1ezik.jpg
    Sounds fine but I'm not sure it's 100% safe if I eat the coating.
  • Same as folding, crumpling it up too much during washing may break the waxed layer.
  • Washing it in a small kitchen sink can be a bit tricky. I wash it sometimes in a larger sink in the bathroom. We need kitchen like shown in the beeswrap website ;)

    (The photo above is from Q&A on beeswrap's website.)
  • It's tricky to dry it. Often it caught fiber from dish cloth that didn't drop many or not at all on dishes. Air dry might be ideal but I didn't have an ideal place to hang it in my kitchen.
  • It doesn't keep soft fluffy bread well as much as plastic bags does. It's fine for hard bread. But I definitely a larger one for wrapping bread :D

Recommended use cases

  • Wrapping hard bread in kitchen
  • Wrapping dry sandwich with hard bread such as baguette with hard cheese and ham. I'm not brave enough to wrap hummus sandwich with it and carry it in a same backpack I have my computer inside ;)
  • Covering a cut surface of food for short time such as cut surface of cucumber.
  • Covering bowls such as for salad or bread dough (this can be done with dishes and cutting board etc)

I didn't wrap leafy veggies such as lettuce with it. I must try once :)

For some cases I didn't always wash it after use such as wrapping bread or covering a bowl. I could avoid the tricky washing process and probrbly it's good for the environment ;)

Conclusion

I'm happy that I can reduce plastic garbage. But it doesn't work for all the cases.

I need 2-3 small ones for veggies and fruits and 1-2 large one for bread. So it's a good reason to my own :)

I also make some more research about ingredients so that it can be safer even it drops its coating.

I continue using it and see how it works in longer term.


昨年パンを保存するためにプラスチックの袋を使っているのを改善できないかなと思い、蜜蝋でコートされた布を買ってみました。使い始めて2、3ヶ月の感想を書きます。

よかったところ

  • 食べ物を包むのに使ったプラスチックや紙を捨てる罪悪感から解放されます(これは私にとってとても大きいです)。
  • 製品の寿命の1年間はごみゼロ
  • 捨てる時もビオごみに捨てられるので環境に多分やさしい
  • 布よりも少しかためででも柔軟なのでものを包みやすいです。
    004u7jv3xe.jpg

むずかしいところ

  • 折りすぎるとワックスの層を壊してしまうかもしれません。こんな感じで細かな線が入ってしまっているところは多分ワックスの層が壊れています。
    lkjxx7urir.jpg
    粉みたいなのを手で感じることがありました。材料は蜜蝋、オーガニックコットン、ホホバオイル、木由来のレジンで、口に入ってもいいのかな・・・この辺り謎です。
    j4rbj1ezik.jpg
  • 折るのと同様、洗うときに手でもみ洗いしすぎると、ワックスの層が壊れてしまうかもしれません。
  • くしゃくしゃもみ洗いしない方がよいこともあり、台所の小さいシンクでは洗うのにちょっと洗いにくくて、私は時々風呂場の大きいシンクで洗っています。
  • 乾燥させるのにも少しコツがいります。ふきんで拭いてもいいのですが、ちょっと繊維がつく気がします。お皿にはそんなに落ちないので、ふきんのせいではないと思います。自然乾燥がベストかな、でも台所になかなかぴったりの場所がなく難しいです。こういうキッチンがいいのかも ;)

    (beeswrap's のウェブサイトのQ&Aより)
  • ビニール袋ほど完璧にふわふわの柔らかいパンを保存できません。ハード系は適度に空気が通ってOK。

おすすめの使い方

  • ハード系のパンを包んで台所に置いておく
  • お弁当のドライなサンドイッチ(ハム+ハードチーズなど)を包む。私はフムスのサンドイッチをこれで包んでコンピューターと一緒にリュックに入れる勇気はありません w
  • 冷蔵庫のくだものや野菜の切り口の保護(短期間)。きゅうりや大根、りんごなどの切り口をラップで包んでいたのですが、ドイツには幅の細いラップがないこともあり毎回結構捨てるんですよね・・・。
  • サラダやパン生地のボウルのカバー

レタスなどの葉物では試していなくて、今後試してみたいです。

洗って乾かすのが難しい点については、パンを包んだりちょっとボウルをカバーしたりしただけの時は毎回洗わなくてもいいかなと思っています。環境にもよさそうだし・・・というのは言い訳です ;)

結論

何にでも使えるわけではありませんが、プラスチックのごみを減らせるのは私にとってストレス軽減になっています。お父ちゃんもお弁当をなるべくプラスチック・包装フリーで持っていきたいらしく、ハード系のサンドイッチにはどんどん使っていこうと思います。

一枚では足りなくて、野菜や果物の切り口のカバーに使う小さいものを2-3枚、パンを保存したりバゲットで作るような長いサンドイッチを包んだりする大きなものを1-2枚追加でほしいです。1枚7ユーロで1000円弱と高価で、かつ大きいものはうちの近所では手に入らず、作りたいなと思っています。ちょうどビオ木綿の端切れもあるので。

今使っているラップの材料のひとつ、tree resinはどうやらヤニのようなものらしいのですが、このあたりまだよくわかっていないので作るときに調べてみたいと思います。

また少し使って何か新しいことがわかったら投稿しようと思います。

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

ふむふむ。蜜蝋でコートされた布、私の想像していたよりも、紙に近かったです。
面白い布です。
色々な使い方がありますね。野菜の切り口を包んでおく、なんて思いつきませんでした。確かにプラスチックのラップよりずっと罪悪感が少ないです。
それから、そちらで幅の小さいサイズのラップが手に入りにくいのも知りませんでした。
私個人的にはこれにサンドイッチが包んであったらものすごく美味しそう!と思いました。デザインが優れていて可愛い。
丁寧に使えば長く使用出来るのも良さそうですね。
パンが包んである写真、イイ感じです(^^)

Posted using Partiko iOS

たしかに!あいさんのコメントを読むまでデザインについてはプラスチックよりも見た目がいいのがいいなくらいの認識でしたが、いろいろな柄の布で作ったら楽しそうですね 😊 厚手のパリッとした布や薄手の布でもまた用途や印象が変わるかも。

ドライ系のサンドイッチにはもってこいだと思います🥪

Posted using Partiko iOS

I’m seeing this same wrap in people’s houses. Thanks for the review!
A few years ago, I ran into a woman who was making her own with cotton, beeswax and turpentine. I think the addition of jojoba oil probably makes it more pliable, less flaky.
So the turpentine or tree resin is the stuff that prevents bacteria and mold from forming. It takes a lot of turpentine (a tablespoon!) to hurt someone. It looks like eating a few flakes wouldn’t do any harm. I have ingested a teaspoon of turpentine medicinally with no ill effects.

Thank you for your informative comment kimmac :) For the next step I will make some with various sizes by myself.

That's a good idea. I have also thought about making some simple muslin covers for foods where it is not important to retain moisture.

Congratulations @akipponn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I have a small set of these that I use to cover food jugs and bowls. For cleaning, I just wipe them with a clean damp cloth and hang up to dry. I haven't tried them yet where they come into contact with the food. I was thinking about getting the larger one for wrapping bread, so it is good to see this review. Do you keep the bread at room temperature, or do you refrigerate it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60736.77
ETH 2370.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63