Homestead Life: New Arbour, Stubbornness & Love For Sticks & Twigs

in #earthtribe5 years ago (edited)


When I get an idea in my head, I just want to make it happen - immediately. I don't like to wait for or rely on help from others.


I don't know my limitations until I leap in and discover how hard a project really is. Then there's a moment of wishing I had paused first, but at that point I am invested so I carry on to the end.

Building a new arbour was a perfect example. It might not seem like much of anything, but it was a big lesson for me.

The original arbour was beautiful, and delightfully constructed with wood foraged from the forest, twine, good knotting and a few screws. I loved it.

Sometimes In my eagerness to make something I overlook realities like the massive weight of snow crashing down or putting pressure on things. Engineers and builders would cringe. Creative people might think it's cool … until it collapses. Which it usually does. And it did.

A New Arbour, Stubbornness & A Love For Sticks & Twigs

So beautiful right? No one knew how shoddy the workmanship was at all! It was beautiful while it lasted! :)

After a hard winter the old "sticks and twigs" arbour collapsed, cracked and disintegrated. I knew I had to build it sturdier this time but didn't want to spend money on the project. I was THRILLED when my husband said I could use the stack of warped 4x4 posts he had tucked away. With a picture in my head, I thought to myself, wow! This is going to be impressive.

What it was = heavy, sweaty, muscle straining work. It soon became more serious when I realized I could not use screws.

I had to find a long drill bit, and use a ratchet to put in long lag bolts (old rusty ones that we'd saved after dismantling something). I suffered. I struggled. My arms burned.

Then I found out I was using the wrong sized bit, got the right one and it was way easier to tighten those bolts. Regardless of the folly, I got those suckers in.

A New Arbour, Stubbornness & A Love For Sticks & Twigs

Wobbly wood is really horrid to work with when you are trying to make things level and accurate. I was constantly confused about measurements because one end would be wider than the other no matter what I did.

This project was not without frustrations and I should have spent some time on-line reading about how to do it before I leaped in. Mistakes were made, and then corrected.

Then there was the standing each side up, getting them the right distance, and affixing the top in place. I had to do it this way because it was too tall, too heavy and the vines needed to be carefully worked around. Not easy to do on your own but I got it done.

The worst is when you get it all in position (thankfully I am tall) and realize you can't quite reach the drill or the screws and have to line it all up again. there were a few times when things got sketchy and I thought I might not pull this off. With no one to holler to for help, I just had to toughen up.

What seemed like a project that would take a few hours, took a lot of hours (a few days) and my body hurt. I'll never under appreciate or underestimate the effort that it takes to make "big" things solo again. It is so much easier when I am the assistant in projects like this. I slept for 20 hours. :)

A New Arbour, Stubbornness & A Love For Sticks & Twigs

IMG_4966.jpg

Ta-da! Tall enough for even my tall father to walk though without ducking. A little dull looking now but Imagine it with all sorts of green leaves and birds fluttering around it.

Wooho! There is is, standing tall and solid. No wobble. No string and twine. I am not sure I've learned my lesson about construction though. There's a certain feeling of accomplishment having completed a durable yet challenging project but still… sticks and twigs are so much easier and prettier to work with and I'll keep building things with them forever more! :)

Proud member of @naturalmedicine, @homesteaderscoop, @tribesteemup, @ecotrain, @freedomtribe & @earthtribe

You can also find walkerland around the web

Homesteaders Co-op Shop | walkerland.ca | Facebook | Pinterest

Botany & Wildcrafting Course by Herbal Academy naturalmedicine.jpg



Posted with love from my blog walkerland.ca with SteemPress : https://www.walkerland.ca/new-arbour/
Sort:  

This will be so beautiful @walkerland! Bravo to you, you constantly amaze me! Please plan to show photo updates when everything starts to bloom :)

lol you can count on that. I can't help myself when it comes to the garden and surroundings. Love studying and capturing it. Thanks for visiting it was nice to see your name pop up.

Ive been meaning to make one of these for ages it'll look great once its grown on. Sounds like we build things in the same way 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

I highly doubt that! I've seen your greenhouse - so inspiring! I am very excited to see this place green and colourful again.

Oh no, a ratchet?!

Girl, you need you an impact gun! No more achey arms, and it saves TONS of time.

Posted using Partiko Android

lol ...I'm to frugal to go and buy something when we've got something that will do the trick ... plus MUSCLES! I'll have killer arms this year if I keep that up! :)

If it weren't for my impact gun, nothing would get done around here lol I'm lazy for a homesteader. But muscles, yes!

It looks great btw, I like it a lot.

Posted using Partiko Android

apparently we have an impact gun and all the bits. I wouldn't know what is was or how to use it even if it was right in front of me - which is was (lol). Pretty basic with how I use tools I'm afraid. I totally get the time saving aspect though and I love the impact drill that we have!!

A triumphant woman is a beautiful thing!! LOL... YAY YOU! And yes, drill bit and burning arms and schlepping.... I hear ya! Methinks you should treat yourself to some new prayer flags to celebrate. LOL. STUNNING achievement, woman!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

I like Triumphant, sounds much nicer than stubborn. Those flags are looking a bit sad aren't they? I have more and I've been procrastinating about putting them up, thanks for the nudge!

You've been visited by @sagescrub from Homesteaders Co-op.

Wow! I love this arbor. It is a beautiful entrance to your garden, even when the vines have not leaved out yet!


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Thanks @sagescrub! :) I am strangely enamoured with vines and things growing vertically.

Man, o man! By yourself! It certainly looks nice and straight. That will stand for decades! And once the vines find it and fill out, it will be just lovely. :))

I bet you slept and slept after that. :))

It does look straight from certain angles (haha). It is not perfect but good enough. Like you said, it will stand a long time and that is a nice feeling especially considering that the greenhouse, fence and everything else is falling down, it's nice to have one thing not aged and needing repair.

If it's any consolation, I'd probably have taken twice as long as you to do it! :D

Posted using Partiko Android

I doubt that but thank you for saying it! :)

Congratulations @walkerland! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 16000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I hear ya and struggling through determined to get it done. Nice job and will be even nicer once the greenery starts happening.
We're still waiting for the tree leaf buds to pop so we can get that lovely fresh burst of green but it's been so cold here, making the spring growing season rather late!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63755.07
ETH 3328.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91