You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Please discuss how you found out about Steemit and why you signed up!

in #earthnation7 years ago (edited)

I had a friend of mine on Facebook who would share his Steemit info on there. That's what initially drew my attention into crypto. I saw an investment opportunity and immediately began to study and trade. A bit after I asked him about Steemit and was advised to join because I could make money with my music works. Initially I joined Steemit to utilize it for my music and related works. It wasn't until being properly introduced to the platform that I saw it as more than a way to capitalize on my creativity. Once I had discovered the sense of community I was more inclined to commit to using the platform. After a while, things became stagnant and I ended up stuck in the minnow mentality. What really drove my decision to use Steemit the way I am now was the sense of compassion and encouragement that I was shown by some fellow members. Their random acts of kindness and appreciation for my workmanship is what prompted me to use Steemit to not only it's full potential, but my own.

I'm not gonna lie. I initially came for the money. I inevitably stayed for the community.

Sort:  

I love the last line @terminallyill I had the exact same mindset when I started. The irony is when I started on here I was so worked up in building myself up, I was obsessed. Very little happened the first few weeks, so I thought "what would shock me in an act of kindness" in helping me grow on here. So I started doing that for others on here as much as I could, spent a ton of time understanding as much about this I could, and then I started growing. So basically I stopped caring about myself and started taking ownership in developing others as much as possible, and then growth began to happen. You on a heck of a good start, keep the momentum up with what you are doing and you will be surprised where you are in a relatively short amount of time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57852.72
ETH 2355.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44