Earth Deeds - Beeswax Food Wrappers (Replaces Plastic Wrap)

in #earthdeeds6 years ago (edited)

IMG_9937.jpg

Did you know you can earn rewards for sharing your Earth deeds with the steemit community? By sharing your tips and tricks you help to increase awareness and encourage others to take action and get involved! This is a wonderful initiative that makes my heart happy! To get involved start by reading this original post from @elamental

Here at the Walkerland homestead, we are trying to eliminate further use of plastics, especially disposable ones. One easy way to do this is by replacing that roll of plastic wrap in your cupboard with something truly earth friendly! We use beeswax cloth wrappers. They've got a lot going for them: They are, reusable, compostable, antibacterial, hand washable (cold water) and they are even breathable. We really think they are BETTER than plastic wrap.

IMG_9940.jpg

IMG_9941.jpg

These food wrappers cling really well to bowls or when wrapped up like a pouch. I love the fact that I can make one big enough to fit my huge bread proofing bowl (not the bowl pictured).

Made with beeswax & tree resin infused into a hemp and organic cotton cloth, they don't take long to make. If you don't fancy making your own, a lot of farmers markets and crafty type of events will have these for sale.

IMG_9944.jpg

Here's the directions on how to make your own!


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch
Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca |
Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

WalkerLand_3-e1458831620676.png

My_Post_1.jpg

Sort:  

Nice post.

I have never heard of these wrappers before but how cool!
I will be checking out the directions on how to make these! Thank you

I think it is right up your alley! :) They are super easy to make, and although a lot of directions say they last a year, ours are way older than that and still clinging well.

I love these, so clever and so easy to make, great entry @walkerland yeah xxx

They really are nice, and so much prettier than plastic! I need to make some more as I keep giving mine away when people get curious about them. xx

Do you make them yourself? It would be interesting to read the instructions.

I do make them myself and the link at the bottom of the post is to a website with instructions - load of tutorials out there!

Cool! It's great to know you can make your own. I have a block of bees wax that I think I'll give it a go. Thanks for sharing!

I hope you like using them as much as I do! :)

These are really cool! I've not heard of them before. They are pretty easy to make, it looks like. I have all the ingredients, except resin.

How did you color yours?

Do you use them for storing animal products, cooked or uncooked?

I don't use them for meat - but I am vegetarian so that rarely comes up at our house. I prefer glass jars for meat. You might want to search and see what people say about that - I am not entirely sure.

The resin isn't 100% critical but it does make them cling better. I've done it without and they were pretty good but they are better with resin.

I don't colour them, that was just the colours of the scrap fabrics I had handy.

Oh! So you just used cotton fabric, not muslin. I have a lot of muslin, but it might be worth looking for plain colored fabrics in remnant bins...

I use glass for food storage also, but using a plate to cover doesn't keep things from drying out...

I was also wondering about dairy....

I usually use organic hemp or cotton. I've never tried it with muslin but it might work, I haven't experimented that much with fabrics. I wrap cheese in them and it does a great job, and as a lid cover over a bowl, plate or jar it works great too.

Oh! Great idea! I could use the plate over meat, etc., then put the cover over that.

Ok, I will keep my eyes out for organic hemp and cotton material...

What a great way to save your food the Earth friendly way. Thank you for taking the time to participate in this week's #EarthDeeds competition. That is really cool that you provide a link with directions for self creation as well.

Thanks @elamental! Reading about so many great #EarthDeeds makes me so happy!

There is a lot of alternative great stuff in Europe and America as well as Asia than in Africa and sometimes fighting plastic pollution here is a major issue because people always ask for alternatives and the alternatives are very limited.
Thanks for sharing this useful information and we look forward to trying to make this great alternative.

I hope it works for you @thegreens, I completely understand this struggle.

STUNNING!! No way @walkerland! I am so excited now I don't think I can actually go to sleep. I've seen these beeswax wraps but can't find them anywhere. We use glass and wood as much as I am able (never use plastic wrap) And now you say I can make them. Yay! Your posts are fast becoming among my most favourite

oh thank you for such a lovely comment. It thrills me that you've stumbled upon a post of mine that is useful to you. I absolutely love these wraps - they are totally worth making.

I can see why! Do you know if there is an alternative to pine resin? I don't know if I can get any

I took a look and some recipes use just the bees wax. Here is one guide that really keeps things simple. I think I'll try this next time.

https://blog.trashbackwards.com/2013/01/15/diy-reusable-food-wrap/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57929.49
ETH 2354.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44