You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Earth Deeds - Beeswax Food Wrappers (Replaces Plastic Wrap)

in #earthdeeds6 years ago

These are really cool! I've not heard of them before. They are pretty easy to make, it looks like. I have all the ingredients, except resin.

How did you color yours?

Do you use them for storing animal products, cooked or uncooked?

Sort:  

I don't use them for meat - but I am vegetarian so that rarely comes up at our house. I prefer glass jars for meat. You might want to search and see what people say about that - I am not entirely sure.

The resin isn't 100% critical but it does make them cling better. I've done it without and they were pretty good but they are better with resin.

I don't colour them, that was just the colours of the scrap fabrics I had handy.

Oh! So you just used cotton fabric, not muslin. I have a lot of muslin, but it might be worth looking for plain colored fabrics in remnant bins...

I use glass for food storage also, but using a plate to cover doesn't keep things from drying out...

I was also wondering about dairy....

I usually use organic hemp or cotton. I've never tried it with muslin but it might work, I haven't experimented that much with fabrics. I wrap cheese in them and it does a great job, and as a lid cover over a bowl, plate or jar it works great too.

Oh! Great idea! I could use the plate over meat, etc., then put the cover over that.

Ok, I will keep my eyes out for organic hemp and cotton material...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67350.62
ETH 2656.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69