Tomb sweeping fest 2018 #2



Tomb Sweeping Day

'The celebrants will have an opportunity to remember and honour their ancestors at the grave sites. On this day, they sweep the tombs, pray for the ancestors and offer them food and libations.' - Friday English Facebook Page

This one is going to be another Chinese belief so viewer discretion required.

As I mentioned before on a Could we change our luck? post , a part of me is Chinese.My family believe and still keep the Chinese culture quite a bit and 'Tomb sweeping day' is one of them.

I found it might be interesting to share with you all here so here you go..

'Tomb sweeping days' or 'Cheng Meng Days' are a few days in every year according to Chinese calendar, we have a family reunion. We remind ourselves of our ancestors, go to the graveyard to clean and decorate the tomb. Then we share a big meal, like, really big! among all. Totally not a sad day to recall all those memories of people who passed away but more like family come have some fun together and update their lives.

What we usually do:

  • Offer ancestors food and libations.
  • Burn papers (which imagined to be many different stuffs like, car, clothes, money) in order to send them to the ancestors.

  • Go to a temple and make merit.

  • Go to the tomb, clean and decorate it with flowers and colourful sprinkles.

This year we somehow, randomly made the logo 'Supreme' with our grandpa's name. It's kinda fun playing and decorate it with these colourful flowers. The worst thing here is, it's super freakin' hot!

If you look at it, there're 2 names on the tomb. One is my grandpa's (Passed) and the other which is all read still is my grandma's (Alive). The tomb's been built for both of them so in order my grandma pass, they can be together once again ❤ ❤

Which I hope it's not gonna be so soon. I need at least another 20 years with her. 。◕‿◕。

  • Light firecrackers.
  • Go home and eat some more!

❤ ❤ ❤ PREVIOUS VLOGS ❤ ❤ ❤

BIKE/BOAT/RIVER/MUSEUM - Bangkok random vlog
https://d.tube/v/waybeyondpadthai/qqim2ywy

DTubers hangout ! X MYNDNOW
https://d.tube/v/waybeyondpadthai/xi8180il

Phrapathommachedi street food tour #1
https://d.tube/v/waybeyondpadthai/2a2pmhic


I casually travel, eat, b-vlog and repeat. Join me on the foodie journey!

㋡ FOLLOW @WAYBEYONDPADTHAI

ONE LOVE DTUBE DISCORD

WANDERLUSTERS-THAILAND DISCORD

Stay healthy. Eat good food. xoxo.
STEEMIT SMALL.pngsmall - onelovedtube .pngSMALL.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

You continuously show great skill in both your video production and the write up of your posts, your dedication is to be admired.

This is a great way of honouring your ancestors and showing tribute with such an incredible production.

Thank you for saying that. It made my day ❤ ❤ :)

wow that is a crazy nice graveyard,

"celebration of life " I think covers it!

Hahahaa that could be it.

Great post! Most people are talking about Songran at this time of year, it's nice to learn about other traditions!

Hi from Sukhumvit! @suitcasemama and I just got back home and are enjoying the cool day :)

Hey, thanks for commenting. I'm glad you learned new stuff from this. Good to know you guys are in Thailand. There's Wanderlusters Thailand Group if you'd like to check it out ;) @starthere

Cool, thanks @waybeyondpadthai! I've never been on discord, but I'll check it out now! :)

Really learned something from this video!

Thanks! I'm glad :-):-)

Wow, it was really interesting to see how you honor your family's ancestors. We also have this thing in Latvia, and, yes, it's a trouble with those terms, because it's literally called 'cemetery ceremony', and following Christian tradition mostly. My family is not religious, but almost every year we go visit our relatives to clear up the graves of our grandparents and leave some flowers. Although there's a fair share of sad moments there in the shadowy cemeteries, we hold a feast and celebration afterwards at our relatives and merrily spend time with each other, which is nice.
Your tradition looks so much happier. :) Thanks for the insight!

Wow, I didn't know Latvia also has this kinda thing. Yeah, I love the part of getting to see my family and have fun/ update life the most. Other parts of the beliefs, I'm not so sure. hahaa. Thanks for watching this ❤ ❤

Loading...

Seems like a beautiful intention for your ancestors. I appreciate very deeply how much Asian cultures take the time for those that have passed on to the great beyond. I was raised catholic and honestly there is nothing like this in the churches tradition in order to really celebrate those of our past.

I am quite curious of your opinion on something though. The sprinkles you and your family are spreading look like little bits of colorful plastic. Is there any sort of conversation around this particular material being used for this celebration? I feel like it would cause loads of liter over time as the wind takes it away from the grave sites. I understand the idea is to make the graves look more beautiful which I find to be an amazing intention but is there not some organic material, like the flowers you are also using in the video, to sprinkle around the graves? Just something I noticed and I think it's an interesting topic to discuss :) Not trying to cause any drama honestly just very curious about this. Cheers!

Hahaha! yeah, I kinda think about that too to be honest. I love the earth just like you do but sometimes you can't just tell people to not do what they've been doing for years. Once it's my generation turn to manage this type of event, I would tell all my cousins to use all flowers. Deal? :D :D Thanks for checking it out and yeah, no no no drama here. Totally understood! :) Cheers!

Sounds like a lovely deal to me :D Thanks for understanding my concern and glad this remained drama free haha ✌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55117.74
ETH 2310.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31