Curation Trails Are Killing The Community 😳 | DTUBE QUICKIE

in #dtubedaily6 years ago (edited)


Hey SteemSquad and DTubeNation!

Put your hand up if you’re a victim and guilty or doing less engagement because your on a curation trail? I know I am. How will we stop this?

Please say hi! I'd love to meet everyone on here and talk about cryptos and life 👊

Have a lovely day and hope you join me on this epic journey #GoSteem

My Steemit Profile - https://steemit.com/@kevinli


Background Music by Epidemic Sound
https://player.epidemicsound.com

Join the DTube discord:
discord.gg/dtube


MORE QUICKIES

Patience And Persistence Is Key 🔑

Take Rest Days Every Week 🤗

Do More With Less ✌️

We've Come A Long Way, DTubeNation! 👊

Sort:  

You can haz done the English. Hahaha.

I agree! I joined the Onelovedtube curation trail and it bothers me that I can't upvote the videos I want to at 100%. I also can't give myself 10o% anymore. And I'm kind of a selfish bitch, so I may want to reanalyze that. Bahahah.

Solid talk bruh!

On Dtube you can still 100% vote things, just click the upvote button.

But yeah, on steemit, I have to remove my upvote then re-upvote with MORE POWER haha.

Have a good night, Beth

Yo @kevinli! I wasn't originally going to comment because there are already tons of comments, all essay length, on your comments section, but I didn't want to just only upvote, and in the process make you think that I was just part of a curation trail that didn't care about your content.

I agree, man. I'm also part of another curation trail and I have felt guilty for not reading or checking out their content just because I upvoted them. By the way, your videos are really great and I genuinely like watching them.

Good vid, bro. Keep up the great content. We need more creators like yourself.

Cheers Bran Lee. your comment is valuable, don't ever not comment because others have said similar things. We all have unique viewpoints.

Take care!

I'll have to think about curation trails a bit more. As you know I've been a bit obsessed with paid-upvoting lately, but this is probably part of the puzzle.

While you get a curation reward from voting on the trail, it's not quite the same as delegating to a bidbot - I think. (If someone wants to correct me I'm fine with that).

But it does mean that you don't watch everything you vote on. Yes, as you correctly point out, if everyone cast all of their votes via curation trails, and never manually voted, then we'd watch/read much less.

Some people might think this isn't a problem - after all, everyone still gets paid. But eventually, post payouts must start to reflect views and engagement if we ever want to really compete other social media.

The whole thing reminds me of the the role of advertising in the dot-com bubble - people invested heavily in advertising, thinking they could generate much higher returns than were actually possible. Reality setting in was a big part of that crash.

We don't want to see the same thing here, where people invest heavily in the mistaken hope that lots of people will view their content. Yes, they might still be a decent return on their time and money (though without spending up big on SP and bidbots, I doubt it), but an 'attention economy' where no one is paying attention? Sounds...problematic.

Creators who are as interested (or more) in being seen as being paid might sense the opportunity cost and take their money and ability to attract people to the network elsewhere - and we don't want that.

Alternatively, that was all just off the top of my head, and I could be completely wrong.

Bots have been the increasing problem on Steemit I've seen since I started in December. There's no way of telling if anything will stop it.

Thanks for your input, Samuel!

Curious. I have not grasped the idea of bots nor curation trails if at all. I personally think it's detrimental - automatizing the way people consume content and get feedback from content from "non-human" influence.. it is about as empty as making a mindless robot press its own keys to make itself exist.

You are right, it's all about the people, the community, and later on in time, the people who consume. Right now the platform is an echo chamber of participants, even trolls and few passive lurkers. We want more passive lurkers who upvote and curate - and also more curators that aren't bots. It has to be human. If the echo chamber through bots and organized support groups keeps going, it will grow overall "interactivity" and "exposure" and "support" for new channels - make others viral and strong, distribute value in a more equal way... but it will be an echo chamber and the noise will die out, and drive the steem value down and ultimately maybe drive the whole thing to a stop.

You are right, maybe it is a deeper concept - that some of the grassroots human interaction without aids is what it's about and that might be good for some and hard for others - and with that the curation should be a personal thing. I just hope the system of "personalized" curation trails DOES happen but on a personal way - less about a group. It is hard to like what a group likes to the full - and if it does.. then that is damaging and blind - it just needs to be more personal and the curation trails need to be based on personal likes, their search history for tags, personal tags and previous liked content - not other peoples opinions or what bots select and upvote automatically.

One mans trash is another's treasure, and the curation system needs to work around that. That is really the issue, and bots and curation trails are not fixing that issue - they cannot. Recommended content and auto promotion systems need to be personalized and on an individual viewers/curators tastes - or limited - to then give more incentive to the lurker based on their own personal tastes... the lurkers who enjoy their kind of content of other personal tastes for their favorite creators can do what a guild or bot cannot - become fans and promote the niche creators... that is what will keep the system ultimately alive - and an upvote bot and upvote communities may nooootbe the solution to that.

My exact quote on the push for quality issue...one mans junk is another mans treasure. To be a successful platform you have to be inclusive and varied.

There's much to ponder about. Thanks for the comment, bud!

#wentdeep The topic almost got me to dm you and talk about it like , #godeeper ! LOLOL but nah.. let's do it short and sweet here.

I kinda have the same idea about this but I'm kinda in between these 2.

YES Curation trails : I don't know if these really help with the visibilities of the post. Especially, for those who's new on these platforms still (Meeee! for example) to get my contents out there is pretty hard. People like to create and totally not a good balance of people who like to consume. I kinda suppose that once there're more people upvoting then it goes on trending or hot topics. That probably helps a bit with getting contents on other people's eyes and maybe if they do like, I get more followers or some real sincere upvotes.

NO Curation trails : It sucks and totally a big lie to ones' selves when having 73 upvotes but 6 views in total. Real example here from my last post LOL. I could do the same if I'm at that point where I am in the spot where people could see me like you're now. Almost every post you got Dtube upvotes and then the contents go on 'Hot' > people can see them more. That helps so damn much. At the moment, I'm not there so..

Was gonna keep it short but this is the shortest I could do LOL

ps your tag is a typo #teamaustralia

I see your content. You're going to do great on Dtube, keep pushing through, it's all about getting your face consistently recognised enough times.

Thanks for spotting the typo haha. All fixed

DTube is still an echo chamber of creators. Compared to YouTube where for every creator, there are hundreds of thousands, if not millions, of consumers that ONLY consume. Until the consumers arrive, we're effectively p*ssing in the wind. If/When the consumers do arrive, they won't be able to watch the videos we're making now anyway (they'd be unavailable like all my stuff that's older than a month).

If you ask me, you're better off appeasing the big DTube god, getting that cryptopaper, and forgetting about engagement until the crowd arrives. Controversial point of view probably :)

Ade, you are a mess of great thoughts. Cheers for your input. The video playback is the biggest flaw to Dtube at the moment

I‘ve been thinking like that as well as you probably know but now I‘ve started thinking this way:
Are voting trails really killing the community or are they finally showing the true face of the community? That most people out there are content creators and not consumers who are just too busy creating as you also said. Were they maybe always forcing themselves to do this interaction and the voting trail is now doing the job for them? “I’m on a voting trail, my duty is done.” Are people thinking about it this way? Hard to say because probably nobody will admit...

I know you have strong views on not joining curation trails, and I respect that!

Take it easy. Let's have a catch up soon

We should definitely do that again. I have been missing the voice chats :)

I have made the choice to not take part in the trails any longer. And since I am not voting with the trail I felt that I should not receive the votes as well. I think it has had a bit of a negative affect and I have been feeling better since opting out. I get the mission but it's just not for me. Felt too hollow.

Nice, Tim! If I had more time I'd probably unfollow it as well, seems better than nothing to give the dtubedaily fam some earnings if I can't watch their vids.

I see that side of it and can respect. But in my case spreading my up votes out that much just makes them worthless. I think that I can do more good give 100% up votes where and when I can. At least until next week when I hit whale status. :)

haha I'm glad I'm your friend then if your whaling next week

I watch all of your videos! Don't be a victim and guilty at the same time!

Something I thought about too.

Stay beautiful face.

you only watch because of my sexy boday

In my opinion the curation trail isn't the problem to you not wanting to keep up with all of the content. It's merely that keeping up is hard especially if you're doing it with content that you're not particularly interested in. If you had a bot that automatically watched your favorite TV shows from home so the TV ratings people seen that you watched but would you still want to watch? For sure because the content was something you was interested in.

I think when the burden of "having" to keep up with peoples content for the social aspect of Steem is taken away then it only leaves the content to stand for its value. When it becomes hard to keep up with its not because of the curation trail but because you probably don't have the interest in their content to be something you want to do without the incentivization of "having" to.

Cheers, Pat. You might be right. There's definitely been a decline in engagement since curation trails started for dtubedaily.

Thanks for the deep thoughts.

I know exactly what you are saying, call me too honest but I can't vote content that I am not interested in reading regardless of who puts it out. I may be a regular follower of someone but if they write about something I have no interest in then I can't stay focused on it and it would be dishonest to vote it. If the content is good then I can find something meaningful to comment on, joke around with or even engage in other meaningful comments made. Like this thread is rather surprising because there is more than usual good insightful feedback, comments here, that's rare.

No "plz upvote me" comments yet haha

lol. I know right. It was so depressing when I first came on here. I am a addicted blogger so yeah, plz upvote me wasn't hitting it if you know what I mean. Great group you have following you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.45
ETH 2345.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47