SURFYOGI - First Vlog Entry - New Potato Diet and Quit Drinking 9-7-17 8.45 PM

in #dtube7 years ago


Changes are coming, and one of them is this video right here. I’ve not been making my own videos thus far, just blogging.

So the vlogging thing is new for me, and I’m getting used to it. I think I can make it work because I like hearing myself talk; so that works for me..

I need to make some changes and it seems like the right time.
I want to drop some weight, and to do that, I need to go on a diet.

I also need to stop drinking.

And all this rounds off 10 years since I got separated and finally divorced; so it’s been 10 years, and I really want to move on.
But that’s 10 years of a fairly steady drinking problem; I call it a problem in that I don’t think I went a day for that 10 years without drinking.

So where as I was mostly a social drinker before, for the last 10 years I’ve been a habitual drinker, and I want to stop that part.

So I’ll lay off drinking for a while; maybe a year?

And then I saw this video recently by Penn Jellete and he kicked off losing a lot of weight with a Potatoe diet.

That makes sense to me, being mostly Irish, so I’ll try that for the first month, and then go from there. I’ll modify it and say I can also eat greek yogurt, herbs, and greens of just about any kind.

I wanted to share this experience on Steemit, because I feel I have a support structure here I can count on and really value, and I hope someday someone will see this and maybe it will help them.

I spent some time looking around on Steemit looking for people talking about quitting drinking, and I found a few.

It was interesting to see their approach and how they shared about it…

I will go with my own style here, but I appreciate everyone that shared their experience and I’ll put this up to share in the grand tradition.

Make no mistake, I like to drink and I like to eat.

I intend to keep doing plenty of both. But it’s gotten out of hand, and I need to take a break for a year and work on my habits and find some new ways of doing things.

I’m really bad at moderation, and I decided after watching Penn’s video on his potato diet, I’d read the book he wrote about it “Presto!” and try his approach, since it worked for him.

I think it’s mostly the drinking that keeps the weight on me. No matter what I eat, if I don’t stop drinking, I’m just going to stay heavy..

So I’m thinking if I quit eating heavy foods, and if I stop alcohol for a while, it’s just going to come right off; and I’ll be a happier person.

Wish me luck!


► Watch on DTube
► Watch Source (IPFS)

Sort:  

😜👍

I recently quit drinking since I was becoming a serious alcoholic.

A few things happened which surprised me:

  • I suddenly have so much more energy as I am going to bed earlier and waking up earlier
  • My creativity has gone through the roof
  • My memory has become sharper
  • I feel so much happier AND healthier overall!

As far as losing weight... You will lose a bunch of weight just from cutting all of those alcohol calories. I was consuming anywhere from 500-1500 calories (or more) per night just from alcohol at one point!

The hardest part is having to find something to do with all of that free time ;)

GOOD LUCK MY FRIEND!

Thanks for this comment, it definitely helped me focus. I'm doing well with the changes, and it's been an eye opener. All of the above has been the result, so I am enjoying it now. Cheers, SY-

Booze is the bad guy for weight, but some changes in foods will help too.

Good luck!

Hey great to see you @surfoyogi! I think you not need to lose your weight you were already look like young boy!! Lolz

Big thumbs up

Excited for your journey man! I've had a similar past 10 years and have been embarking on a journey towards self healing! I quit drinking in December 2015 and really don't miss it at all. I've been working on ever increasing dietary changes as well and those have made me feel better in ways I never expected.

Good luck man!

Alright, coming from you, that's means a lot.

great to see you man ....i love your spirit and the steps that you have taken to maintain your good health...i thinks your such action will truly motivate others

... # UPVOTED

Wow!!!,,,,
Booze is the bad guy for weight, but some changes in foods will help too.

Is it me or the video is not loading? I have a 100 Mbps connection, still the video is not playing. It got stuck at 00.15 seconds.
Anyways glad to see you vlogging sir @surfyogi.
About your drinking habit,
You should go for fitness sessions like gym or some basic yoga. Actually, start with yoga, it can do a lot for your health as well as your mind. Quit drinking as soon as you can otherwise all your fitness hard work will be turned futile.
Wish you all the health :)

Burn some fat is also my problem. I will eat salads only. I wish success for you ))

Hy,
I am happy to see you on video and hear your voice! I am sure your vblog will be at least same success as your blog!

Keep it @surfyogi!
All the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69