Mary Just got Her First Ticket for the DUMBEST Reason

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Hi Steem Fam!

In this video Mary shares the story of how she got her first ticket this morning and Lea can't help but go on some serious rants about the police state and how corrupt police quotas are.

We also share some stories of different times we've been pulled over and how it went.

I hope you guys enjoy this video and hearing our stories!

sss divider 2.png

With Love,

The Steem Sisters

@coruscate and @maryjaney

SSS main logo.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

One of the big things that I've noticed that is different between Aussies and Americans is the intensity and passion around the freedom to choose.. like seat-belts and bicycle helmets. I realise a lot of it stems from a total mistrust of government, and I totally get that, the US government really is a different beast than other governments.

The thing is, I personally think people are generally too selfish to make decisions for the greater population, and there's where I disagree about giving people the right to choose the more dangerous path. If someone is flung through the windscreen or gets brain damage from falling off a bike, there is a huge cost for the rest of us in terms of medical expenses, insurances, taxes, etc etc. If I have a heart attack, but can't get a hospital bed or an ambulance because they're too busy tending to very-easily preventable injuries, then other people's decisions affect me. If medical expenses or insurance premiums go up because people are getting seriously hurt in fender benders, then I'm affected... and if I lose a loved one to an accident they didn't need to die in, then my whole life is wreaked. In short, we need laws because not everyone makes good decisions all the time.

Obvious revenue-raising by police is so frustrating. Melbourne has one of the highest numbers of speed and red-light cameras, and it is so stressful driving there. You get a ticket for 3-4kms over the limit, and everyone I know has paid hundreds in tickets.

In other news, the new model Teslas will have upgraded AI that is apparently 1000 times safer than a human driver, so maybe it'll be a non-issue soon anyway.

Red cheeks from red wine haha :)

I have never known anyone to wear their seat belt like that haha, but policing is a business (believe it or not) and it makes me furious, because innocent people get their lives ruined from cops that want to play god and narrate their own story, because end of the day its about convictions and tickets...........The state trooper should of let you off, because you still had your belt on! which means it would of still protected you some what and he's a douche. Side note: their are good cops out there and I wish they were more abundant.

End of rant haha, I think i need some wine now.

Sometimes I wonder if it's the inconsistency of the police that frustrate folks the most?

I wonder if countries where the police have zero leniency, and EVERYONE who has an infraction (there is no major or minor) gets a ticket, have fewer people complaining?

So .. having nice cops and "bad" cops is actually the cause of the problem. They should all be "bad" cops and ticket for 100% of infractions.

That would remove the possibility of a quota and favoritism/racism. The easiest way to do this is with AI controlled cameras. (Red Light Cams, Distracted Driver Cams, Seatbelt ... etc etc) Arguably, this would save a bunch of taxpayer money ... Perhaps these Cameras should be connected to the blockchain so that everyone can watch the infraction and comment about whether it was legit or not... hrmmmm - reality TV

I have some experience with cops in the US. In fact, I've been pulled over a couple of times while visiting for totally harmless things.

Based on these personal experiences with US law enforcement in this context, I noticed the authority they tried to convey to me. It felt sort of like: "I am the boss, and you have to listen to me". It felt really uncomfortable and, to some extent, disrespected.

You don't have to treat someone like a criminal for speeding 5 mph or a broken tail light. In the Netherlands, the police obviously also enforce the law. However, this whole authority powerplay aspect, I did never experience before. I much rather get pulled over in the Netherlands than the US.

And that is, as far as I see it, the reason for both your passionate rants :) If I would be treated like that by the majority of the police, I would be furious! However, since our cops are generally speaking nice and respectful, you are a lot less inclined to rant about them.

Oh well, what do I know :) Anyways, thanks for sharing, I think this video could start firey discussions here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60133.79
ETH 2686.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49