You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mary Just got Her First Ticket for the DUMBEST Reason

in #dtube5 years ago

I have some experience with cops in the US. In fact, I've been pulled over a couple of times while visiting for totally harmless things.

Based on these personal experiences with US law enforcement in this context, I noticed the authority they tried to convey to me. It felt sort of like: "I am the boss, and you have to listen to me". It felt really uncomfortable and, to some extent, disrespected.

You don't have to treat someone like a criminal for speeding 5 mph or a broken tail light. In the Netherlands, the police obviously also enforce the law. However, this whole authority powerplay aspect, I did never experience before. I much rather get pulled over in the Netherlands than the US.

And that is, as far as I see it, the reason for both your passionate rants :) If I would be treated like that by the majority of the police, I would be furious! However, since our cops are generally speaking nice and respectful, you are a lot less inclined to rant about them.

Oh well, what do I know :) Anyways, thanks for sharing, I think this video could start firey discussions here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59661.11
ETH 2670.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50