You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mary Just got Her First Ticket for the DUMBEST Reason

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)

One of the big things that I've noticed that is different between Aussies and Americans is the intensity and passion around the freedom to choose.. like seat-belts and bicycle helmets. I realise a lot of it stems from a total mistrust of government, and I totally get that, the US government really is a different beast than other governments.

The thing is, I personally think people are generally too selfish to make decisions for the greater population, and there's where I disagree about giving people the right to choose the more dangerous path. If someone is flung through the windscreen or gets brain damage from falling off a bike, there is a huge cost for the rest of us in terms of medical expenses, insurances, taxes, etc etc. If I have a heart attack, but can't get a hospital bed or an ambulance because they're too busy tending to very-easily preventable injuries, then other people's decisions affect me. If medical expenses or insurance premiums go up because people are getting seriously hurt in fender benders, then I'm affected... and if I lose a loved one to an accident they didn't need to die in, then my whole life is wreaked. In short, we need laws because not everyone makes good decisions all the time.

Obvious revenue-raising by police is so frustrating. Melbourne has one of the highest numbers of speed and red-light cameras, and it is so stressful driving there. You get a ticket for 3-4kms over the limit, and everyone I know has paid hundreds in tickets.

In other news, the new model Teslas will have upgraded AI that is apparently 1000 times safer than a human driver, so maybe it'll be a non-issue soon anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59364.81
ETH 2658.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49