Discussing Steemit With Managing Director Elizabeth Powell

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


In this video, I sit down with Elizabeth Powell aka @elipowell who is the Managing Director at Steemit to discuss what they have been working on and where they are headed next.

It's a bit choppy in the first minute, but it's fine after that.

The questions we cover are listed below:
● Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?
● When did you first get into blockchain technology and cryptocurrency?
● Can you briefly explain Steemit to someone who’s never heard used it before?
● Can you give us a current update on Steemit, Inc.?
● Where does Steemit fit in with other decentralized or dapps on Steem and how does it differ? Also, how does Steemit compare to legacy platforms?
● Where do you see Steemit going in the next 6 months to a year?
● What is the current userbase size and how well is the platform growing?
● Where are we going to see Steemit at upcoming crypto or blockchain related events?
● Can you share with everyone where they can go to learn more about Steemit and the latest updates?

Let us know what you think and leave any questions you have about Steem or Steemit in the comments below!


Check out all my social platforms and relevant links


Feel free to donate to me to help keep me going:

  • ETH: 0xE0d930a0aa8e57e037D749a868ade5682a34e88e
  • BTC: 3MWhAo2pbrKLmhkRGj8WuTo2VzLVeuimTs
  • LTC: MJMYVTL5iL9GvyQJcn7w7uiyUFMuSFDHke

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hi @scottcbusiness,

awesome Interview! We would love to see your content on 3Speak.Online. We are in Beta right now and our platform is only available to a few creators. However we added you to the whitelist of Steem users that can actually upload videos to 3Speak. Would be cool to have a chat with you on our Discord: Discord.Me/3Speak.

Hope to see you on 3Speak soon.

The 3Speak Team

(7:56) "Advertising on Steemit.com really does bring the value."

No. The content. It's the content. Can't have ads without content.

She means fiscal value to support the Steemit staff, not the value proposition of the content I presume

I know what she probably meant but I'm going to throw in the true value of the content here any chance I get, since content producers like myself have been handed the shitty end of the stick around here lately, and for quite awhile. It needs to be said, and some folks around here need to be reminded. So she can read it, you can read it, anyone else can read it.

That's fair as a content creator myself I feel for you. Do you mean based on something Steemit has done or because of the coin value?

Steemit allows members to exploit content ranking. A plagiarist can reach the top slots on the trending page or hot section on their first day as a "content producer" here, while someone who's been here for nearly three years and gets things like this at least once a week...
Screenshot (578).png

...organically, sits way down underneath the plagiarist's post, out of sight, and earns far less than what those who promoted the plagiarism to the front page so everyone can see it, earn.

Now that Steemit earns ad revenue, having content producers with the ability to create something that draws eyes in is far more important than ever before, and they should not be placed under the garbage.

Allow a plagiarist to earn here, all they do is cash out. Cater to those types and it's no wonder the value of the token decreases. I held what I earned and if I'm forced out, that shady behavior again forces another 26000 SP out the door. That's what's been happening. Solid content producers who held got forced out by shady content producers who sell. Think about it.

It went on like that for years and Steemit did nothing.

Is this something Steemit can fix? Is this not more of a problem with Steem? What power does Steemit have to police plagiarism any different from Busy.org or D.Tube? Let me do say though, I absolutely do not support plagiarism nor am I okay with it. Considering the more users that join, the more they spend on servers, and they had to lay off 70% off their staff before, I think it's fair to presume the ad revenue is what would fund their company quite humbly in my opinion. Use Brave browser if you want to avoid ads and earn BAT ;)

Since they have BY FAR the most stake, they could downvote the worst offenders. A 1% downvote from the @steemit account would have the weight of a little over $7. They could hire an intern to sweep away the garbage from trending once a day.

Currently not only is there no danger from abusing the system in this way, it's PROFITABLE in most cases.

They could also just completely dump their current trending page and instead use posts voted on from curation guilds. This would be a band-aid and not a solution, but it would be better than the current situation. It's what Steempeak.com does, but it would be a lot more powerful and beneficial to the blockchain and their bottom line to do it here since this is where all the traffic is. This would also make bidbots as a form of promoting posts less attractive and help with that situation.

They could fix their built in post promotion feature, by having promoted posts show up on trending(assuming they didn't do the last idea) This of course wouldn't be able to compete with Bidbots, but again they could just ban bidbots, by using their stake to flag posts that reach the top of trending through those means. They don't need to track down every single plagiarist, just make sure it's not on the front page.

Absolutely some really awesome suggestions here, maybe I can get an interview with someone in engineering and theoritically go through implementing user suggested changes and why they could or couldn't do it.

You tell me! I don't have time for an interview right now. I've written plenty about what I see as current problems, offered potential solutions as well.

With the coming hardfork, if it goes through, I can see some of these issues going away. With any change though, comes a new set of problems. When I start picking up on them, you can be sure I'll be talking about them.

At this point, it's like yelling at the clouds.

So, Scott. Where in Canada are you from?

Good old Ontario and you? I can agree on that I would like to see Steem improve. Are you a witness?/you should run as a witness.

As the largest stakeholder they should care about abuse, and the community... I mean what is the value of a token with no use case and a shrinking community.

Add to that a broke centralized company. Seems like watching over the value of the token would be a good use of their time.

Never did anyone suggest or imply they shouldn't care about abuse and especially not community otherwise they wouldn't have even bothered to do this interview. They absolutely should and I'm sure they do, but again they had to lay off 70% of their staff, so naturally I'm sure that's not their first priority

Posted using Partiko Android


Here's your DRAMA. Don't spend it all in one place!

To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

The proposed EIP aims to turn this type of behavior around. That is it's primary goal, to make the behavior that most would like to see on Steem be the more profitable route for people to take.

Along with that would it not make sense for Steemit to use its considerable stake to combat the biggest abusers that only it's capable of combating?

The EIP, if all goes well, will help, but actually joining the fight would not only push the changes you want to see faster, but also boost morale for a community that feels like Steemit is arming us with swords to go and fight the monsters while sitting on a stockpile of tomahawk missiles.

What is the logic behind Steemit not using it's stake?

I would assume it's something like people are already accusing them of being centralized so getting involved in the squabbles might cause more problems and make it feel more centralized but I of course would want to see it cleaned up more too

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I can see, on the surface and in theory, the benefits. I also know, from experience, since we won't see these benefits overnight, many will be in a panic, before things have a chance to progress. Be prepared for that.

I believe in Steem :) We've got to get on a call to talk Steemit soon!

And why didn't anyone address questions about this two years ago when linearity was being touted as the next great thing to bring in the masses and make Steem and its tokens more valuable?

Bring the value to what? Steemit.com is awful. And the ads don't bring any value to the chain because the revenue only goes to STINC. And I'm sure it doesn't bring any value to the advertisers, since most of the activity here is probably bots anyway.

So...Adsense "brings value" to websites that have decent web traffic and use Adsense. That's not really a bold or even meaningful statement. She probably could have just said, "Internet advertising can be valuable to website owners." It would have had the same impact on viewers.

She was impressed with the clicks though, even with the problems placed on the front page, for all to see, and look away.

Some of that money could eventually get placed into the hands of the content producer. I'd even be so bold as to suggest an airdrop. Small increments, over time, of that steemit stake, into our wallets, for not being robots. Since they claim to not be selling as many tokens now, what are they going to do them all? What good are they to this economy, sitting idle. And I say small increments, over time, so they don't get dumped on the market instantly.

Some of that ad revenue could go to content producers as well, eventually. Unfortunately, they will make the same mistakes as youtube, and start demonitizing after awhile, for reasons, plus history is hard to remember, and they once again will push people away. I only say that though, because I lost so much confidence over the past two years, watching people drop like flies, as they allowed this place to turn into something like you said, "Steemit.com is awful."

Why not try this?

https://steemit.com/hf21/@ats-david/pto3dw

Since they claim to not be selling as many tokens now, what are they going to do them all?

Well, based on previous STINC history...they'll probably power them down and use another scheme like @misterdelegation to further dilute the influence of every other user on the platform. You know...use that "ninja-mine" for voting, which they said they wouldn't do.

But we all know how honest they've been over the years. I'm sure the dumping will continue anyway.

I truly hope they can begin to find ways to redeem themselves.

I approve of what you said in that link. I tried talking over there but just got the you're a dumb nobody content producer treatment, which I had a feeling was coming the moment I opened my mouth. Too many good ideas are crushed due to the arrogance of a few and I hope they can shape up, eventually. Anyway, I'm just rambling. Been a long day.

"And the ads don't bring any value to the chain because the revenue only goes to STINC" Lol this is so dumb.

You do realize that steemit inc have to sell 800k steem a month to sustain themselves right ? So any dollar that steemit earned is a dollar that they won't have to sell steem for. So it's helping the price or they can use that money to increase staff to build more improvements on the chain. Which, breaking news, brings value to the chain too.

Or...and this shouldn’t be breaking news...they’ll most likely continue dumping STEEM and squander money like they have been for three years.

Talk about dumb. And you really believe that STINC has “added value” to Steem?

You’re delusional.

Nothing wrong with Content Related Ads If it helps pay the bills man. I am very happy to be earning $100 per month of old fashioned fiat on My youtube Channel... fiat that I can convert to crypto and buy Bitcoin or Steem. Every little bit helps.

I'm not against them.

Nobody would come here just to view ads though. I'm saying, you need content. Right?

Absolutely you need Content. Steem has the best Content there is. Best Photography, best Travel Blogs, Best Digital Artwork, Best Traditional Artwork, Best Musicians, Best Film makers, Best discussion on Crypto, best opportunity to make a living as an Artist, Only way to blog, earn crypto and buy Bitcoin with that Crypto. Steemit has it all... the Best of Everything.

No sorry, the beginning is a little choppy, but the connection picks up after that

I want to see a road-map of Steemit and steem blockchain in general.

Yes that would be really helpful

Great interview, I know is hard for Steemit but now they need to focus on SMT...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, yeah SMTs are becoming a bigger focus it would seem

Thanks a lot for this interview!

Thanks for checking it out

Posted using Partiko Android

285 votes and 81 views on video :(

What else to say. What to do with the platform where you can get 81 view if exposed on the trending page for 5 days.

Most people watch it on DTube not on YouTube, so that's hardly representational. The video is there as a backup. That makes sense since people want to utilize Steem and DTube here not YouTube

If you say so... I would understand that it's fine if it's a coin developed for an average highschool.

Yeah let's judge Steem by how well it supports YouTube.

Posted using Partiko Android

No... Steemit is the most special snowflake among the special snowflakes that can't be compared to anything. And because it's so special, there are no objective criteria, to see if it's heading towards something meaningful or it's sliding to oblivion.

Lol... Or check some reality, like this numbers, you know, facts:

Lol, I'm so ignorant, but I'll zoom

Only -27% per month, 4 months in a row, I mean, lol, what do I know, with my numbers

Tell us, what is your profession, so we should trust your lols?

Well I can bet that it will go up when BTC halves in May.

You wrote about yourself:

I'm an entrepreneur and social media marketer with expertise on growth hacking, link

But you have no clue that presence on YouTube has anything to do with growth? Interesting... But you are an expert

When I ask Google:

You are on the Page 7

You have almost 50 Followers, you are growth-hacking beast

Your YouTube channel is even more impressive, with almost 350 subscribers. You really walk the walk... 350 subscribers is such a growth. Thank god you are The Expert in growth.

If growth hacking is your profession...
And your expertise is such, and this post is Steemit's representative - great, I'm taking all my liquid Steem to Bittrex.

There is no hope

I'm not a representative, I'm just a content creator :)

Well I can bet that it will go up when BTC halves in May

Today is almost July, and your prediction is for May?
May 2020?

Ok... You are right, ratio will jump from 1 Satoshi for 1 Steem to 2 Satoshis

Every time BTC halves, the price skyrockets, it's not something I care to illustrate as it doesn't affect me if you sell and you're oddly hostile as if I control the value of Steem. Cheers.

@scottcbusiness did you just, under your full name/real identity, give prediction for the price of not one, but two cryptocurrencies, for May 2020???

Seriously dude, you either have some really big pack of balls, or you absolutely have no idea what you're talking about :)

I don't usually engage in discussions of this kind, but seeing such a confident statement about something you or any other regular mortal cannot possibly know, without providing any fact-supported arguments, just proves the points @alexs1320 made.

Just to give you a benefit of the doubt, I will ask you a very simple question:

If STEEM is losing its value relative to BTC for the last year and a half for about 15% per month, and about 20% per month during the last 4 months, how much do you think it will be actually worth in May 2020, if/when BTC halves?

I'm not claiming they will 100% be a specific value but I know BTC halves then and I myself will go off that. I see it going up in my own personal opinion and I am hedging my bets against that.

Hi, @scottcbusiness!

You just got a 12.1% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22