D-Tube Wednesday: wild Costa Rican sloth crawling around jungle

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

Welcome to my D-Tube Wednesday series where I share my videos taken at interesting places that I have visited during my travels.

Today, I will take you to the beautiful Costa Rican jungle just outside of the town of Puerto Viejo on the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica where I experienced what can be only described as one of the most amazing and memorable wildlife encounters of my life.

So who did I meet (and film) here? The brown-throated sloth, one of the symbols of Costa Rica. The sloth usually only comes down from a tree once a week to defecate, so yeah, this guy was probably just about to do his business when I was taking the video (I am sorry about that buddy).

Now if you wonder what the black-orange patch on his back is, let me tell you what I was told by the guides in local national parks. It is a color marking that forms in adult males of this sloth species but the exact purpose of it remains unknown.

Here is a few more fun facts about sloths I learnt in Costa Rica:

  • Sloths are very slow and clumsy on land but they are excellent swimmers.
  • They spend most of the day sleeping.
  • They can turn their head almost 360 degrees.
  • They are related to anteaters and armadillos.
  • They may remain hanging from tree even after death.

As you can see, the slowness of the sloth´s movement is remarkable and while it might add to the overall cuteness of this extraordinary creature, it is also what makes it so vulnerable, especially on the ground where the sloth has literally no chance to avoid an approaching car.

Therefore, it is always the driver who decides whether these defenseless furry guys make it safely to the other side of the road or not. So please drive responsibly and watch out for them (and for other animals too of course) when driving in Costa Rica ;)

Hopefully, your learnt something new about sloths in the post and fell in love with these awkward smiling furry bundles :)

I also hope you enjoyed the video. If you did, stay tuned for the next episode of my D-Tube Wednesday series. Thank you @dtube for allowing us to share our videos with the Steem community.

Note: I uploaded this video on D-Live during my early months on Steem but since this d-app left our blockchain and the videos uploaded there cannot be viewed anymore and since I really want to have this video on my blog, I uploaded it on D-Tube today.



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Nejkrásnejší💙

Náš Lenísek ;)

Cool video . I first thought that he had a wound. Very nice and at the same time sorry for them that anyone can hurt them.

Yeah, I was also confused about the orange mark. I actually thought someone sprayed on him... Yes, when they are on the ground, they are very easy target :(

Wow! Sloths are such interesting and fascinating animals ;-)

Exactly :)

Animales adorables :)

Interesting to also learn some few stuff abput sloth

My pleasure!

Congratulations @phortun! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5750 replies. Your next target is to reach 6000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

wow thi sone is HUGE!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94