I'm bored with DTube content; let's do something about it! Contest closed!

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

Here is my idea for a contest. I want to see videos that I think have greater value than mere entertainment. What do I mean by that? When I go to DTube I see many people that turned the Camera on themselves giving an opinion on something, explaining what is great about Steem/DTube, which crypto currencies to look out for, unboxing a new gizmo etc.

I want to see something else! How about a video documenting how to install a new engine in a 2001 Toyota Camry, ..oh wait, they don't break much... How about a video detailing the install of a free crypto wallet in a pc, ..that runs on Linux Mint. Maybe you are restoring a 70's Moped, ..building a Boat, ok, ..house maybe?

So here is the deal. Submit a link to your, and it has to be yours, recent DTube video in the comments. You can appear in the video, but it can't be about you, it can't be about Steem/DTube/crypto/etc. It has to be about a process you are good at so others can learn from it. The only exceptions for turning the camera on yourself, and keeping it there, is when you are an actor in a movie/play or when you give a detailed explanation about what you are doing and the footage isn't enough to fully explain what is going on.

Max Headroom is so 80's

I will transfer 4 SBD direct to your account if you submit the video I like best.

Entertain me please. I will close the contest if there are more submissions than I have time for and the winner is at my sole discretion.

Good luck everyone.

4 SBD will be transferred to @shaidon

Sort:  

Interesting idea. I will sleep on it.

I like your vlogs so I hope to see you submit a DTube video that's different. Thanks for dropping in!

Indeed it is good to push creators to do something that usually you won't see on a regular DTube day.

Will come back to this post to see what is up!

Thumbs up - camera on!

Artakush tries to fix a bike - breaks it in five first minutes...

No submissions yet, keeping my fingers crossed. I'd love to see a bike repair video, even if you break it first, lol. Thanks for checking in!

Good idea! I'll spread it around.

Thank you Lynds'! If this doesn't work I have some more ideas to bring some interesting stuff to DTube. The more folks spend time on DTube, the better it will rank. It also looks like I can increase the payout on the contest!

I like this because it's actions instead of just talk.

Keep up the great work.

Thank you so much for bringing this up. And I appreciate your initiative and I really wanted to entertain you!

One step at a time..

DtubeSnap is bringing new people here to Dtube and I’m distributing my power to bring new energy. Some people are waking up.

DtubeSnap is my first baby and as it grows a little and next Dtube baby will be ready to born.

Be prepared for some meaningful and impactful entertainment

Thank you! I realize resources for content creation are limited for the vast majority, but on the other hand, in a place where resources are limited, creative problem solving ranks high. I want to see some of that since the Camera can easily be turned around and knowledge shared in an entertaining way.

For non English speakers, maybe some of us can help translate the Steemit post that goes with the video.

Hello @shaidon, I have yet to see your video. So far I have not managed to get it working in either FireFox, Chromium or from source. Since I only had 2 entries I'm considering keeping the contest open for another week.

I'll try again tomorrow. Greetings!

Not sure why that would be. It's only 5 days old.

I just tested it and it works for me.

This is what I'm getting right now :(

FireFox:

Chromium:

It won't load from source either. Like I said, I'll try again tomorrow. I don't know where you are located, but I often get this with videos from Japan.

I only had 2 entries. One entry wouldn't load, the other made a video about Steem, essentially disqualifying his entry as per 2nd sentence of 3rd paragraph.

I'm hoping your video will be back working tomorrow.

I'm in Australia. I think it might just be a matter of refreshing. I get it too sometimes with DTube. It's annoying.

I do sometimes talk about Steem, but it's more about Steemit and the platform itself and what value I can bring to it. There's a lot about this platform that is lacks self awareness. "How I made Steem on Steemit, talking about how I made Steem on Steemit".

But as you can see from the videos on my DTube channel, very few people are interested in real life experiences outside of the internet.

Thanks for the 4SBD donation. I will make more videos shortly.

I also get the same error with DTube occasionally. I am not sure what causes it but it's annoying.

Hello @alexabsolute, I have watched your video. In the second sentence of the 3rd paragraph it states that the video can't be about you, Steem, DTube, crypto etc. The entire first 1:30 was about Steem and crypto currency and the remainder was about what you can buy with it.

Since there were only 2 entries, and one of the videos wouldn't load, I'm keeping this contest open for another week, giving both entrants another chance.

Totally agree with you hope it draws out some interesting content 💯🐒

There is a lot of talent on this platform, I hope to see some of it. Thanks for taking the time to check this out.

Well said 💯🐒

I love your idea so much, that I quickly created a new account and a introducing post for @diytube :
https://steemit.com/diy/@diytube/new-curation-service-for-diy-content-on-tube

Unfortunately I forgot to mention your post there and because of low RC Incan not edit the post.

If you would like to join the team or support that project please share some thoughts in the comments!

Hallo, wie geht's. Problem fixed I hope. Delegated 40 SP to diytube and hope it's enough for basic operation. LMK.

That does kill my VP for today, lol!

Edit: and yes I'll back this project with all available experience in machining, boat building, general construction and mechanics. Just can't take on any projects myself for health reasons.

Really good initiative man ! I really really appreciate this and the message you delivered here.

I make sometimes DIY stuff and post it on dtube but I feel that it is not recognized as valuable by the majority of viewers and I think there we can find the main problem:

Most of the people want this type of easywatching-content and creators try to fulfill these wishes.
They want to get new followers and by making niche videos you just get these niche followers.

But: If someone is self-confident enough he/she will do videos about stuff he/she is interested and put out that on dtube.
And to get niche followers is a really good thing because we have interested people watching and commenting the content. Just my experience.

I hope I'll remember and find this post here when published my next project :)

Thanks for investing in the exciting projects and mentioning this !

Peace!

#engagetogrow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48