Road Cycling - My Close Call in Roseau, MN

in #dtube6 years ago


Here is my closest encounter yet with vehicular traffic while riding my road bike. Thank God I made it through unscathed! Not only did this truck driver neglect the fact that I am a fellow human, but he also obviously violated Minnesota's 3ft minimum passing law. Road was new and shoulder was extremely soft. I was also clipping along at 20MPH so hitting the shoulder would have been painful. I was also in a "is this really happening to me right now" state of mind. I somehow arrived at the last minute calculation that I would make out best continuing on the extreme right of the paved shoulder. Reported the incident, license plate number, and video to the MN State Patrol.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  
Cycling Comunity on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support you!

Keep those weels rolling and enjoy the ride!!

If you want to know more about our mission click here.
If you want to join us, click here.
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone

Glad you are okay! We have a friend who broke his neck through a similar sort of accident. Please take care when cycling out there!

Hope your friend is doing okay! I feel sympathy pains. It would only take one accident to end or really mess up a life. I wear hi-viz and ride with lights to do my best at making myself visible to drivers, and most drivers around here are generally pretty responsible and respectful. With more distracted drivers out there though, all bets are off. As much as it scares me as a motorist, the cyclist in me looks forward to autonomous cars replacing these terrible drivers.

Bro I can't login to D.Tube that to do?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24