DTube has Alzheimer's disease? -> IPFS Links not working and Blockchain errors

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

Hmm ... how do I start..

After a while @ DTube I noticed some disturbing side effects.

First of all: There seems no way to take a video of your own DTube channel. Why is that so?

Now to the bigger issues:
I uploaded quite some videos, however I noticed that 99% of them did not play anymore after around 9 days. This is not a browser error or bad connection! The videos simply can't be found anymore in the IPFS network.

If you have similar problems try this:

  • open a non working video of on you channel
  • click on "Edit"
  • click on "Advanced"
  • copy the string in "IPFS 480p Video Hash"
  • open a new tab and type in: https://ipfs.io/ipfs/hash
    e.g.: https://ipfs.io/ipfs/ QmQg45UTvEK7duCjnaoaxsRETtd4QLZE1BqnPL3WDsQhdd (this is one of my non working videos - remove the space infront of the "Qm" - it would have auto-linked it)

You will see that nothing happens. If you try this with one of your working videos, it will start playing right away.

My theory:
This means the node the video was uploaded to is gone and there is no other node in IPFS holding the video.
There is a simple solution: Make my own note with "ipfs-go". There I can add my own videos and watch them at dTube. As long this (my) node is running the video will be available. If I have e.g. a root-server I can move the videos there using "ipfs get …". Actually I did this and it works like a charm.

And now there is the next issue. Even if I add the video again to the IPFS network and host them on my own node it's not possible to change the video-id's for the broken videos on dTube. I can try but will always get a "Blockchain Error". Why? Because in the FAQ is written, that I can change it only 7 days after uploading? Again: Why? Since I can't remove videos from my dTube channel, I get more and more "zombie-/ghost-" videos :/ This really sucks...

Thee next issue:
I add a video in 480p and 1080p to my IPFS node. File format is the usual *.mp4 H.264/MPEG-4, so it will play on any PC, even Apple (err sorry for the joke). So I set up the Blockchain entry and add the Block via dTube to get the video visible. To check a click on the video and - nothing?! I click "edit", "advanced", copy the 480p hash and open it via https://ipfs.io/ipfs/... and the video plays right away! Funny fact: It starts also to play in the same moment at dTube?! It looks somehow that it needs a bit kick start by opening it on ipfs.io? I guess it’s a very annoying bug, because I get comments, that my videos don't play. I check with my PC and mobile phone and they play. Sometime right away, sometimes I have to request the hash via ipfs.io.

Please comment – It’s impossible that I’m the only one here struggling with those issues.

sincerely yours,
Martin

PS: sorry for the humble english - it's not my native language

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56589.13
ETH 3005.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16