How to Add Custom Backgrounds to Your Thumbnails

in #dtube6 years ago


Previous Tutorials

How to Make a Thumbnail That Doesn't Suck - Adding Text

Layer Masks

This aim of this tutorial is to teach you how to use Layer Masks in GIMP. This is an incredible feature that lets you determine what parts of your image you want to have opaque and transparent. This will allow you to add custom backgrounds to your thumbnails to enhance their appearance and provide more information.

Download GIMP: https://gimp.org

Follow this tutorial using these pictures:

Thumbnail #1
Is Chinese Hard-f000693.png

timg.jpeg


Thumbnaili #2
Homesickness in China-f006662.png

Flag_of_China.png

800px-Flag_of_Canada_(Pantone).svg.png


Please consider resteeming this tutorial if you found it valuable.

Big shoutout to @raj808 for applying the previous tutorial to his thumbnail. Looks good man!
Thank you @shaidon @hauptmann and @old-guy-photos for leaving great comments on the last tutorial.
Thank you @vincy and @kenmelendez for encouraging me to start this tutorial series.

Thanks for reading & watching


Recent Posts


Do You Feel Homesick Easily?
How to Make a Thumbnail That Doesn't Suck - Adding Text
Never Invest in Vaginas
There Are Too Many Old Farts On Here
Is Content Creation Past Its Prime?
[YouTube Exclusive] Celebrating My Birthday at the Shangri-La!
Pimp Out Your Blogs With The Steem Graphics Pack! - Pay with STEEM - 30 SBD Giveaway - Affiliate Program
The Imperial Palace of China's Last Emperor


Kenan.png


Social Media


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I really need to be patient and sit down to go through these tutorials. The output is so much worth it. Thanks

By the way I came across a channel on YT to learn Cantonese this week, It's by an America lady, her cantonese is very good and she goes through words and grammar as well. I t hink it's great. Hope you find it useful

Do it. It is definitely worth it and not that hard. Sure, these programs look intimidating at first, but follow my first tutorial and this one and you'll already have a pretty good grasp of the software.

You did? What is the YT account name??

Thanks silly

Awesome stuff! Yeah I love layer masks, their so easy to use and handy! Saying that I usually revert to the quick selection tool a lot also.

It’s surprising how much this is like photoshop but free!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah. It is more than enough for people wanting to make really high quality thumbnails. GIMP and Photoshop looked so intimidating in the past, but when I started doing tutorials, I realized how much sense they made. It is very intuitive and I am starting to understand a lot. You don't need to know how everything works!

Yeah it’s the same I’m finding with all of the adobe suite, once you know the techniques for one it can be applied to most of them. You’re right it does look intimidating at first, once you use it for a while it becomes much less.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Brilliant tutorial dude.
When you started making the thumbnail I was like oh my god,so many editing tools in GIMP.But your contagiousness is so good man that it felt easy somehow.
I am gonna try it in one of my next posts for sure.
Could you make some video editing tutorials too?Like how to isolate the sound from one video and use it in another clip.That would be cool.
By the way,which program do you use for editing your videos?

Thanks buddy.
You're right. GIMP and Photoshop look very intimidating when you start. I am very happy you saw this tutorial and I really hope a lot of people can learn from these so that the thumbnails on DTube improve in quality. I'll definitely check out your future posts and see what you have created!

Sure man. That's actually a good idea. I should put more focus on improving the quality of people's videos on DTube. It is fun and satisfying for me.

Stay tuned for future videos. I'll cover as much as I can. I use a free open-source program called Kdenlive. The site is: https://kdenlive.org. It can be a little buggy, but is surprisingly powerful. It can do a whole lot!

I am using the old but gold Sony Vegas 13.
But the process should be almost the same regarding any editing software.
Keep them tutorials coming man,I have a lot more to learn so I can improve my vlogs quality.
Damn I forgot to resteem.Done.
Have a nice weekend man.

Thank you for resteeming. I really want everyone to see these videos. Quality has to be improved and we should start by at least making titles and thumbnails attractive to viewers. As of now, most people have shit titles and thumbnails that repel people away! lol. Yours are good because you are a genuine person and not many other people have skate videos here. You're doing great.

Thanks bro means a lot.
You are right.I don't think I would personally click to watch a video if the thumbnail was not attractive or if the title was like an essay.
My plan is to bring a lot of skaters in here through @Steemskate.
A lot of skate shit is uploaded daily in insta and I want to bring all these people in Dtube starting from Greece.
But we definatelly need a mobile Dtube app.I hope it's on their plans too.

Development seems a little slow on DTube these days. I'm going to check out their github. You are right, we need a nice, sleek mobile app for DTube similar to Partiko.

Good luck to you man.

Good luck in your plans too bro.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great tutorial. It's starting to get a bit more advanced. I am going to mess around with these techniques on my next dtube video thumbnail and see where my creativity can take me 🙂

Thanks for sharing your knowledge @kenanqhd

Posted using Partiko Android

I am going to mess around with these techniques on my next dtube video thumbnail and see where my creativity can take me

Happy happy happy happy!

My pleasure. More tutorials are on the way.

Great job on these tutorials. 'Pretty cool eh?" - you can take the man out of Canada but can't take Canada out of the man. 🙂

Couldn't have said it better myself. Thanks brotha!

Nice ! Never heard about gimp before! Thanks dude !

Posted using Partiko iOS

My pleasure man. It will greatly help you with your thumbnails. Consider this a divine intervention!

Thank you fellow comrade!

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations @kenanqhd! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1750 replies. Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68288.30
ETH 2649.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69