Strawhat Dynasty - "Beast Coast" Ft. D'Chaser (Music Video)

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


After weeks of working on this music video I'm proud to share it with the world! Shot on a Red Scarlet-MX with vintage M42 Lenses(My favorite lenses outside of the LOMO OCT-18 series) and edited in Davinci Resolve. Oh boy, this video has been a true test of all my filmmaking skill sets. For one, this was the first project I shot on a Red camera! I'm used to shooting on my GH4 dslr but I felt the need to step up my game and try out this beast of a camera. Though the Red Scarlet-MX is a couple of years old, it still stands as a great cinema camera. Two, my lens options on this camera were limited dramatically. I'm used to using about 6 different prime lenses, for this shoot I only had access to 3 lenses. The reason being most of my lenses are adapted for my little GH4 dslr which has a micro four thirds lens mount, and not a big cinematic camera like the Red which has either a PL or EF mount. Third, since we were shooting in a public space I had zero usage of my lighting kit, relying 100% on natural sunlight and the overhead lights at the location. And last and most stressful of all, the microphones on the camera didn't work! So syncing this project was an utter nightmare that I put off for days, slowly syncing each vocal performance shot with the track. Syncing this project was probably the hardest part of all to make this video a reality. And I had to sync a spanish verse and bridge for the first time, which was not easy as an ignorant single language user.

But lo and behold it got done! And I'm really happy with the end result. This was a beast of a project and I'm glad I got the opportunity to produce and direct this wonderful video.

So without further ado I present to you Strawhat Dynasty Featuring D'Chaser "Beast Coast"

For more from Strawhat Dynasty:
Instagram.com/StrawhatDynasty
https://distrokid.com/hyperfollow/strawhatdynasty/mami-feat-dchaser

#helpiecake #diytube #ocd #ocdb


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

woah dude this turned out great! Really like the jittery camera and fast motion sections, the dancers are awesome, super colorful graf background, great song- this has it all! AWESOME!

@tipu curate

Thank you @carlgnash! This was welcome fun and challenge! And I finally got a crack at shooting a full on music video, with full creative control. Felt nice. Glad you like it. And thank you so much for support throughout my short journey here on Steem!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

nice work man. nice, pacey and interesting.
i just started with Davinci i really like it for color correction/grading

Davinci is my favorite editing software of them all. Editing, color, effects its the best!

Dayummmm Bro looks like I'm not the only one making dope shit around here! Wicked good stuff dude!

Just checked out your page. Gave you a follow, I'm trying to get on your level with the dramatic photos! Thank you for the compliments!

Congratulations @jalentakesphotos! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65744.86
ETH 3466.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62