Down Under Build day 6 : the finished blade reveal

in #dtube4 years ago (edited)


This is it, the moment we have all been waiting for. Today I am doing the big reveal of the finished Down Under Build. I am really happy with the way that it turned out, and I can't wait to see how @galenkp likes it.

I went to the post office today to do some research on the price to ship and everything that might need to go along with shipping to another country, and it doesn't seem that bad at all.

So anyway, today I am doing some small detail things. I am taking the blade cover and tape off to see what is happening underneath. I know that the tape will leave a little bit of glue on the blade, but it will come off real easy with alittle sand paper. I am also going to run it across a sharpening stone and then put my makers mark on it. I didn't catch some of these things on camera though.

The coolest part about this build, in my opinion, is the finish of the steel. When I tempered the blade it turned a nice straw color, like a burnt yellow goldish. I sanded the body of the blade, but I left the bevel the straw color and I think it added a nice contrast for sure.

There is a sweet ruggedness about this blade. I know that the toughness is there and that it was very share when I was all done. I think, from what I gathered, that it is going to be well used so this should do the trick.

Thank you all for joining me on this amazing build. I loved being able to work with the buyer to really try to get the scope of what he wanted, and create something with his input.

I am currently between projects, so if you would be interested in a custom piece I am ready!!! I accept paypal and crypto!

Be well
~The Yeti

Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/zyqFjJ3

https://steemit.com/@freedompoint


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

Hello my friend! :D

The blade looks great, I'm sure he's going to love it. :D

Do you do switchblade-type knives as well? :D

God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Hey! Thank you. No, I just do fixed blade. I don't do folders or anything mechanical.

Hey back! :D You're welcome. :D Cool, just wondered and didn't remember seeing anyone else ask the question, or missed it if they did, so thought I'd ask. :D

I like the look of your knives, the ones I've seen so far, and can't wait to see your future blades. :D

God bless you and yours. :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hey mate, what a great video to end the build with!

I'm really excited to get the knife down to Australia and know I'll have many envious mates wishing it was theirs once they see it. (I'll have to make sure none of them stab me with it and run off with my knife - Actually let's hope that doesn't happen at all, but if it does, well, it was nice knowing you.)

Seriously though, it looks amazing and as you say will get used, not hammered, but it'll cut, slice, stab and just plain old look good for many years to come.

I just sent you a message on discord so take a look and soon you'll be off to the post office!

Also, I was going to ask you to thrown in that kick-ass beanie but what sort of human would deprive a man of his beanie?...Besides, I have my own awesome mother in-law made beanie already. What I don't have is any of those awesome tennis racquets that are on the wall behind you in the video so throw them in.

Actually don't...It will up the shipping too much.

P.s. I know they are not tennis racquets in reality...They're oars right? Lol.

P.p.s. And to think a person with my intellect has knives...Scary thought.

OK, enough nutbaggery...Awesome last build-video for the down under build.

haha those things behind me are antique snow shoes. I did enjoy this video and the whole process. It is going in the mail today!

are antique snow shoes

Yes, was just being an idiot, having a laugh. Aussies can be a sarcastic bunch.

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational video!


This post got curated by our fellow curator @tibfox and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Feel free to check out our channel @diytube to:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60046.04
ETH 2997.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71