Ditch the plastic sponge for a DIY reusable one!

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Dear all,

As you all know, we need to do our part in order to preserve our planet, no matter how small our actions are. Every little bit counts. There is no planet B, remember? And who wants to move to Mars....

Did you know that those yellow kitchen sponges are made of plastic, and will never break down and degrade? So what are you waiting for? Ditch those filthy plastic sponges, and create your own eco-friendly reusable sponge.

I made these in only 15 minutes, it was super quick and easy. Trust me, I can barely sew on a button, so if I can do this, you can too! If you have skills, maybe make a heart shaped one for your partner for Valentine's day (hint, hint LOL).

I'm clearly no fashion designer and they may not look that great, but they work! When they're dirty, just toss them in the washing machine and reuse them.

I'm a huge believer in reducing plastic waste whenever possible, so I'm proud of my little product.

What are you doing to help your planet?

music credit: Cheb Rayan Dima - Dana Dana


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Shiiit I still have to do the toothpaste...and now this...but how did you manage to make them sooo small and from those big fabric pieces...I mean, those cutouts were like 2 times bigger that the final product...its a pity you didn't put that part in it, cuz I have literally nooo idea how to make that final product haha :D will have to google :D oh, and we all hate facebook :D and still use it :D

I ended up cutting more, because the pieces were gigantic lol. I also left about 1-2 cm around the line where I sewed it and then when you flip it inside out it gets much smaller =). I leave a hole to stuff it with fabric and at the end i close it with a few more stiches, et voila =)

Yepp I've watched the whole vid haha, you've said it :D I was just puzzled by the final size :D But true, if you don't sew on the edges and flip it, it'll be smaller...hm, so let's see if I'll get myself to do it...I don't have any tools for it tho..

it's the same how I sewed the pillows for kids in the "cinema" 2 weeks ago in the refugee camp :D I had 3 hours of not doing anything sooo I asked some refugee women who were in the sewing room (we hasd 6 machines and they could use them during some days) and they taught me how to work those machines...and I've made 6 pillows from leftover fabric :))

So you've basically made tiny pillows haha :D
IMG_20190109_115958.jpg

ahahhaha exactly I made little tiny pillows =) cool photo! My mom gave me a sewing machine a while back and I forgot how to use it. I managed to make pillows once a while back but that's it =)

I can teach you haha :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Co to je? :DDD

That's a good idea, thanks for sharing. The last thing I did to reduce my impact is get some stainless steel and ceramic to go mugs. Ceramic for my car, and the stainless for my luggage. I travel a lot for work, and drink lots of coffee! So...I am now saving so many paper cups! Simple yet effective!

That’s such a great idea ! I will implement that on my next trip too 😜 thanks for the tip !

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have another idea, you could make a video about how much paper/trees people could save using such cups! Me: 2-3 cups a day, x 365 days = around 1000 cups yr (disgusting!!).I would do a vid myself, but I have a theme I am sticking too.

I did a little research, and it seems paper cups are made debris leftover from wood milling. So, the positive affect may just be less trash. However, perhaps that pulp could be used for better things. https://www.quora.com/How-many-trees-do-you-need-to-cut-for-10000-paper-cups

that's a huge number indeed! Good idea =) I will post more ecology related videos soon, and will keep this idea in min ! Thank you =)

Great idea, I might give it a try! I use the plastic ones but I usually use them for months until they literally fall apart so I think my sponges do degrade :D

A Hahahaha although careful they are full of germs after a few weeks and it’s best to change them 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

I kill them with boiling water ;) And those that survive only boost my immune system. Or at least that´s what I want to make myself believe :D

ahahaha well, not a bad idea (the boiling) =)

@evecab Love the video and I've never though of use a reusable sponge! Great idea :)

Love the music btw, it reminds me of ''Dreckspeiter'' from the boarder to Belgium (close to Bastogne) ;) He makes the best chips on Earth!!

ah thanks Melissa! I totally forgot to include the music credit so I will do that right now =)

This is a great idea , rather than to buy and buy a new it also save our money . I must try it .

awesome!!!Let me know how it goes!

Yeah ! I'll let you know . And more videos to upload for us to learn more for DIY reusable ones . 😊

A good way to sterilize sponges or your handmade version if to wet them slightly and put them in the microwave. This zaps the bacteria and stuff to prolong their live even more. Given your lifestyle, you may not have a microwave, but boiling water may be an alternative. I'm not sure if the washing machine kills the bacteria as well, or evens mixes it up with the other items in your wash.

Didn't realize we have these interest in common. Will start following along.

heyyy awesome! You're right, I don't have a microwave, but I do have a dryer, so that would probably kill the bacteria too. Yes, I'm a big fan of not wasting stuff, reusing, up-cycling etc. Especially if it's good for the environment =)

Congratulations @evecab! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 3000

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68