Hey Steemians, would you mind if I destroyed a Keurig?

in #dtube7 years ago


This is funny...a viewer sent us a Keurig saying we can do whatever we want with it. My producer Pat loves Keurig, I think it's terrible, but after the Sean Hannity Keurig destruction/boycott scandal, there's a possible extra layer of funny.

One caller said absolutely DO NOT destroy the Keurig. Your thoughts?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Destroying perfectly good products doesn't seem particularly environmentally friendly.

one of the main complaints, for sure

My offer is donate the item and make a virtual video where you trash an ostensibly new unit in effigy....

The irony is, it is more environmentally unfriendly to use it. Because the pods that will be thrown away during its lifetime of use will create more waste than destroying the Keurig...

Recycle them. What are they plastic? Compost any other materials etc.

Or you could just use a regular coffee maker that uses paper filters and not disposable one time use plastic packets ;)

Yep you sure can. My view is since all those resources were made to build the machine, donate it to someone who can use it somehow and then do the murder of the machine virtually.

I agree the concept is bad. Right.

You get better results that way and can compost the filter and grounds.

I don't know anything about current events with this gross machine, but it holds mold in the water chamber and makes people sick. Please feel free to destroy it and if you keep it - do not ever drink coffee out of it. See YT for disgusting videos of people looking at the mold in there. YUCK!

yeah I am anti-keurig, use a Breville espresso machine myself.

Watch David in action!
His coffee line is pretty good as well. I need to get some more myself!
https://davidpakman.com/gear/

haha that was a funny video

I stopped drinking coffee in my 20's because of this type of thing. So far out of my league. I'll just use the instant powder a few times and month hide my head. I know nothing of wine either lol.

I use a drip coffee machine so I'm not in David's league, but it gets the job done.

I'm glad to hear that. Hopefully no mold issues with that one :)

Like the Eggman I'm generally against mindless destruction of things. Even if Keurig is wasteful, it seems somehow more wasteful to dump it. Then again if it only works with the pods then maybe that's a reason.

i tend to agree with this, and increasingly so does my audience

I'm vegan, I care about the environment and I am against waste, but in this very specific case I would love to see some masterfully filmed satirical rage against the coffee machine!

"PC Load letter? WTF does that mean?"

One of many, many videos - they should be recalled and are not fit for human consumption.

Dave you need to hold a baseball bat for all of your interviews. Haha
Good idea I don't like keurig coffee makers. They cost too much initially, k cups are too expensive, wasteful, and break rather frequently. I like the good old drip brewers

Send it to the Hydraulic Press Channel and let them crush it.

Excellent idea! haha

@davidpakman worship the keurig, build an altar for the keurig, sacrifice coffee beans in its holy name and persecute all that follow false tassimos.

Hello @davidpakman could you please give me an upvote to my #introduceyourself post??

Why not donate the keurig with some pods? Perhaps to a seniors home - it's Christmas after all. :)

It's kind of like cursing them with overly expensive coffee though.

Fair enough. That said, pods are pretty easy to get donated though - and Costco sells the huge boxes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58972.92
ETH 2315.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50