Incredible You! - Cryptogee 30 Day Challenge: Wim Hof Method - Day 1

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

cryptogee_in_the_bath.png

Yesterday I decided to try and submerge myself in a freezing cold bath of water, and then put the results on dtube. (Video link at bottom of page)

No I'm not insane, and I'm not a masochist, I'm doing it because I want to experience and measure the benefits of the Wim Hof Method.

Quite simply, I will practice the Wim Hoff method for 30 days, and report back on any physiological changes I experience.

The scientific validity of the method has been tested independently, however I enjoy experiments that I can do myself and I also enjoy a good challenge.

I will first of all do Wim's free mini lessons, while doing that I will save up the €179 for his 10 week video course.

However I reckon for now, all the free stuff he's got on his website and on Youtube should be enough to be getting along with.

So here goes nothing!

Preparation Preparation Preparation

Nothing can really prepare you for getting into a cold bath. I am not a fan of the cold and am a complete wuss when it comes to swimming in cold water.

Give me a heated pool over the freezing cold sea any day!

Am I a glutton for pain?

No, in fact you could say avoiding pain is a hobby of mine.

The Plunge

I stepped into the breach of my cold bath, extra ice cubes added at the behest of my 6 year old daughter.

As ever feet first . .

foreboding signals of cold tingling in my toes, warning of the pain to come.

Easing down into the cold clear depths

daughter and wife giggling, insensitive to my plight

further down with all my might, brain shouting and singing.

no

no

NO!

Hmmaaaahhhhh, I manage to sit down, however I don't manage to get my upper body under.

I tried to get up and go back in, thinking it might feel warmer second time around . .

It didn't . .

splashed cold water on my face, rubbed it on my shoulders and,

OUT!

All in all, I managed 3 minutes and 8 seconds, before I had to get out.

The Method Begins

So now I am off to try the techniques, I will do a day of breathing today, and tomorrow morning will do it again, and see if it has upped my tolerance . .

Wim Hof strongly advises not to do this before getting into water, as there is a possibility of fainting.

So I will take my daughter/wife dive safety team with me.

Until then, stay warm.

The Incredible You! Series:

Wim Hof Challenge

Incredible You! - Wim Hof Legend Of The Iceman

Incredible You! - Tales From The Bath And The Redundancy Of Pain

Flowstate

Incredible You! - Feeling The Flow With The Power Of Touch
Incredible You! - Connect To The Moment And Enhance Your Power With Sound
Incredible You! - Move Like An Animal With Ido Portal
Incredible You! - Finding Your Flow State Superpower

Cryptogee

Watch Incredible You! - Cryptogee 30 Day Challenge: Wim Hof Method - Day 1 video on DTube


Yesterday I decided to try and submerge myself in a freezing cold bath of water.

Sort:  

Once hypothermia kicks in you won't feel a thing, success!

Love the wimm hoff, ive been doing it very inconsistently but always have a good result when i do. Have you seen this explanation animation ?

this video says everything in few minutes, nice

Don't get a cold man! ha ha!

What an interesting man Wim is, I've tried his breathing method and I got to say its the thing. I want to try the ice bath once I grow some courage to do it lol.
would love to hear about your results.

what a beast!! awesome!

hahahaha this photo is hilarious!
Thanks for sharing it with us!
Its obvious you are not adapted to this yet though I foresee that by day 30 you will have SIGNIFICANT upgrades!
Keep ON!
Bless~*~

The meanest toughest guys will shed tears sliding in those ice bath as athletes... trust me I've cried once or twice lol

Smart method !!! Good luck as you wish

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94